Posts

Showing posts from January, 2014

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee: A Book Review

Image
Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy Author: Karen Foxlee Genre: Children, Fantasy Publisher: Knopf Books Release Date: January 28th, 2014 Pages: 240 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: A modern-day fairy tale set in a mysterious museum that is perfect for readers of Roald Dahl and Blue Balliett.      Unlikely heroine Ophelia Jane Worthington-Whittard doesn't believe in anything that can't be proven by science. She and her sister Alice are still grieving for their dead mother when their father takes a job in a strange museum in a city where it always snows. On her very first day in the museum Ophelia discovers a boy locked away in a long forgotten room. He is a prisoner of Her Majesty the Snow Queen. And he has been waiting for Ophelia's help.      As Ophelia embarks on an incredible journey to rescue the boy everything that she believes will be tested. Along the way she learns more and more about the boy's own remarkable journey

Medea (Book 1 of the Delphic Women Series) by Kerry Greenwood: A Book Review

Image
Medea (Book 1 of the Delphic Women Series) Author: Kerry Greenwood Genre: Historical fiction, Fantasy Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press Release Date: 2013 Pages: 431 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: We know Medea killed her children . . . or do we?      In Medea , the first novel in her Delphic Woman series, Kerry Greenwood breathes fresh life into the age of heroes and rescues a woman wronged by ancient playwrights and history.      Princess Medea’s destiny is bound up with passion, quests, power, murder, voyages, prophecies, and broken oaths. As priestess of Hekate--the Dark Mother, Queen of the Lost, Lady of Changes--Medea protects the sacred grove holding the Golden Fleece and bones of an old king. Jason arrives determined to acquire both and rule the land.      The King sets up challenges which Jason must conquer to earn the throne. But Jason’s gentian blue eyes and hair bright as gold thread obsess Medea--”here is love, here is joy”--compelling her to help him

Winner of Real Beast: Abused Giveaway!

Image
The winner of the Real Beast: Abused Giveaway is Sue Holland ! Congratulations, Sue! Thanks for entering the giveaway!

Sacred Hearts: A Novel by Sarah Dunant: A Book Review

Image
Sacred Hearts: A Novel Author: Sarah Dunant Genre: Historical fiction Publisher: Random House Release Date: 2009 Pages: 448 Source: Personal Collection Synopsis: The year is 1570, and a new novice has just been forced into the Italian convent of Santa Caterina. Ripped by her family from the man she loves, sixteen-year-old Serafina is sharp and defiant. Her first night inside the walls is spent in an incandescent rage so violent that the dispensary mistress, Suora Zuana, is dispatched to the girl’s cell to sedate her. Thus begins a complex relationship of trust and betrayal. As Serafina rails against her incarceration, disorder and rebellion mount inside the convent, while beyond its walls, the dictates of the Counter-Reformation begin to impose a regime of oppression that threatens what little freedom the nuns have enjoyed. Acclaimed author Sarah Dunant brings the intricate Renaissance world compellingly to life in this rich, engrossing, multifaceted love story encompassing the

Interview with Melanie Dickerson

Image
     Today, I have the honor to host Melanie Dickerson, who is not only the author of The Healer’s Apprentice , but also of her latest novel, The Captive Maiden . She is a young adult author that spins classic fairy tales into a historical and Christian perspective. I have all of her books. I am still in the process of finishing her series, but the books that I have read, I love them. I even went to her book signing to get her to sign my copy of The Healer’s Apprentice . This interview gives readers a good insight to her writing and style of her novels. I would like to thank Mrs. Dickerson for her time and cooperation with the interview and generosity to give my readers a book giveaway. 1. Can we learn from fairytales, and why do they appeal to you? Fairy tales have amazing themes, and I think we can learn from them. Most of  them have some sort of moral or takeaway, a lesson we can learn. I like  them, but it's hard to say what it is about them that appeals to me. I  sup

The Healer's Apprentice (Hagenheim Series #1) by Melanie Dickerson: A Book Review

Image
The Healer’s Apprentice (Hagenheim Series #1) Author: Melanie Dickerson Genre: YA, Historical fiction, Christian Publisher: Zondervan Release Date: 2010 Pages: 272 Source: Personal Collection Synopsis: Two Hearts. One Hope.         Rose has been appointed as a healer's apprentice at Hagenheim Castle, a rare opportunity for a woodcutter's daughter like her. While she often feels uneasy at the sight of blood, Rose is determined to prove herself capable. Failure will mean returning home to marry the aging bachelor her mother has chosen for her---a bloated, disgusting merchant who makes Rose feel ill.       When Lord Hamlin, the future duke, is injured, it is Rose who must tend to him. As she works to heal his wound, she begins to understand emotions she's never felt before and wonders if he feels the same. But falling in love is forbidden, as Lord Hamlin is betrothed to a mysterious young woman in hiding. As Rose's life spins toward confusion, she must take the f

Daughter of the Forest (Book #1 of the Sevenwaters Series) by Juliet Marillier: A Book Review

Image
Daughter of Forest (Book #1 of the Sevenwaters Series) Author: Juliet Mariller Genre: Historical fiction, Fantasy Publisher: Tor Books Release Date: 2002 Pages: 560 Source: Personal Collection Synopsis: Lovely Sorcha is the seventh child and only daughter of Lord Colum of Sevenwaters. Bereft of a mother, she is comforted by her six brothers who love and protect her. Sorcha is the light in their lives, they are determined that she know only contentment.      But Sorcha's joy is shattered when her father is bewitched by his new wife, an evil enchantress who binds her brothers with a terrible spell, a spell which only Sorcha can lift-by staying silent. If she speaks before she completes the quest set to her by the Fair Folk and their queen, the Lady of the Forest, she will lose her brothers forever.       When Sorcha is kidnapped by the enemies of Sevenwaters and taken to a foreign land, she is torn between the desire to save her beloved brothers, and a love that comes only