Posts

Showing posts from June, 2021

Devayani by Manjula Tekal: A Book Review

Image
Devayani Author: Manjula Tekal Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: Garuda Prakashan Release Date: March 21, 2021 Pages: 249 Source: Personal Collection Synopsis : Long before the Ramayana and Mahabharata wars were fought, Yayati, a scion of the lunar dynasty, was the emperor of Aryavarta, the land of the virtuous. He was an ancestor of the Kaurava princes. A tale of love, friendship, betrayal, and passion in the backdrop of a war between the Devas and the Asuras, Devayani, is a modern retelling of an ancient tale from the Mahabharata . Devayani, the self- willed daughter of Sukracharya, the Asura preceptor, became wife of emperor Yayati through a failed love affair with Kacha. How did the princess Sarmishtha, her friend, become her servant and then her rival? Why did Yayati have to ask his children to make the ultimate sacrifice—to give up their youth for him? Devayani takes you on a journey through infatuation, lust, jealousy, rage, betrayal, love and wisdom.Yayati's s

Blog Tour: Daughter of Sparta by Claire M. Andrews

Image
        I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the DAUGHTER OF SPARTA by Claire M. Andrews Blog Tour hosted by  Rockstar Book Tours . Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!   About the Book: DAUGHTER OF SPARTA (Daughter of Sparta #1) Author:  Claire M. Andrews Pub. Date:  June 8, 2021 Publisher:  Jimmy Patterson Books Formats:  Hardcover, eBook, audiobook Pages:  400 Find it:   Goodreads ,  Amazon ,  Kindle , Audible ,  B&N , iBooks , Kobo , TBD , Bookshop.org      Sparta forged her into a deadly weapon. Now the Gods need her to save the world!       Seventeen-year-old Daphne has spent her entire life honing her body and mind into that of a warrior, hoping to be accepted by the unyielding people of ancient Sparta. But an unexpected encounter with the goddess Artemis—who holds Daphne's brother's fate in her hands—upends the life she's worked so hard to build. Nine mysterious items have been stolen from Mount Olympus and if Daphne cann

Blog Tour: The Poison Keeper by Deborah Swift

Image
  The Poison Keeper by Deborah Swift Publication Date: May 18, 2021 Quire Books Paperback & eBook; 406 pages Genre: Historical Fiction     Naples 1633     Aqua Tofana – One drop to heal. Three drops to kill. Giulia Tofana longs for more responsibility in her mother’s apothecary business, but Mamma has always been secretive and refuses to tell Giulia the hidden keys to her success. When Mamma is arrested for the poisoning of the powerful Duke de Verdi, Giulia is shocked to uncover the darker side of her trade.      Giulia must run for her life, and escapes to Naples, under the shadow of Mount Vesuvius, to the home of her Aunt Isabetta, a famous courtesan. But when Giulia hears that her mother has been executed, and the cruel manner of her death, she swears she will wreak revenge on the Duke de Verdi.      The trouble is, Naples is in the grip of Domenico, the Duke’s brother, who controls the city with the ‘Camorra’, the mafia. Worse, her Aunt Isabetta, under Domenico’s t

Anna of Kleve, The Princess in the Portrait (Six Tudor Queens #4) by Alison Weir: A Book Review

Image
Anna of Kleve, The Princess in the Portrait (Six Tudor Queens #4) Author: Alison Weir Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: 2019 Pages: 527 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review Synopsis: T he surprising and dramatic life of the least known of King Henry VIII’s wives is illuminated in the fourth volume in the Six Tudor Queens series—for fans of Philippa Gregory, Hilary Mantel, and The Crown .      Newly widowed and the father of an infant son, Henry VIII realizes he must marry again to ensure the royal succession. Forty-six, overweight, and suffering from gout, Henry is soundly rejected by some of Europe's most eligible princesses. Anna of Kleve, from a small German duchy, is twenty-four, and has a secret she is desperate to keep hidden. Henry commissions her portrait from his court painter, who depicts her from the most flattering perspective. Entranced by the lovely image, Henry is bitterly surprised when Anna arrives in Engla