Posts

Blog Tour: Book Blast of The Bachelor's Bride by Holly Bush

Image
The Bachelor’s Bride by Holly Bush Publication Date: November 17, 2020 Holly Bush Books eBook; 244 pages Genre: Romance/America/Victorian Series: The Thompsons of Locust Street, Book One Synopsis: Meet the Thompsons of Locust Street, an unconventional family taking Philadelphia high society by storm…      1868 Elspeth Thompson is the middle daughter in a family with tightly held secrets. While she loves her family, she longs to break out from their overprotective hold, to find herself, to be noticed for who she is rather than as chaperone to her beautiful younger sister, Kirsty, or underling to her elder sister, Muireall. A chance meeting under scandalous circumstances offers her the opportunity to be seen for herself, but the repercussions could lead to the downfall of her family.      Confirmed bachelor Alexander Pendergast enjoys his position as the right-hand man of one of the most influential and powerful politicians in Philadelphia. Heir to the largest textile mill on the

Blog Tour: Cover Reveal of Rhapsody by Mitchell James Kaplan

Image
Rhapsody by Mitchell James Kaplan Publication Date: March 2, 2021 Gallery Books: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook; 352 pages Genre: Biographical/Literary/Historical Synopsis: One evening in 1924, Katharine “Kay” Swift—the restless but loyal society wife of wealthy banker James Warburg and a serious pianist who longs for recognition—attends a concert. The piece: Rhapsody in Blue. The composer: a brilliant, elusive young musical genius named George Gershwin.      Kay is transfixed, helpless to resist the magnetic pull of George’s talent, charm, and swagger. Their ten-year love affair, complicated by her conflicted loyalty to her husband and the twists and turns of her own musical career, ends only with George’s death from a brain tumor at the age of thirty-eight.      Set in Jazz Age New York City, this stunning work of fiction, for fans of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank, explores the timeless bond between two brilliant, strong-willed artists. George Gershwin left behind not just a bod

Blog Tour: The Waltz of Devil's Creek by Justine Carver

Image
     This is my stop during the book blitz for The Waltz of Devil's Creek by Justine Carver. The Waltz of Devil's Creek is a new standalone historical fiction book set in 1947.      This book blitz is organized by Lola's Blog Tours. The book blitz runs from 26 October till 8 November. See the tour schedule here .  The Waltz of Devil's Creek By Justine Carver Genre: Historical Fiction Age category: Adult Release Date: 20 October, 2020 Blurb:      Judith Campbell is dying, and she cannot take the painful truth about where her son came from to the grave with her. While on her deathbed in Atlanta, Georgia in 1994, Judith tells him the tragic story of his conception, and which of two men his birth father could be: the young man who professed his love to her, or the pastor who assaulted her.      Set in the Deep South in 1947, The Waltz of Devil's Creek digs into the dark crevices of racism and women's rights during a heated political climate in an era of

Blog Tour: The Brief and True Report of Temperance Flowerdew by Denise Heinze

Image
The Brief and True Report of Temperance Flowerdew by Denise Heinze Publication Date: September 29, 2020 Blackstone Publishing Hardcover, eBook, AudioBook; 176 pages Genre: Historical Fiction Synopsis: Determined to set the historical record straight, and clear her conscience, Temperance Flowerdew — the wife of Virginia’s first two governors — puts quill to paper, recounting the hardships that nearly brought the Jamestown colony to its knees, and the extraordinary sacrifice of her servant girl, Lily.      When she steps aboard the Falcon in 1609, Temperance Flowerdew was not only setting sail from England to the distant shores of America, she was embarking upon a future of opportunity. She didn’t yet know how she would make her mark, but in this new place she could do or be whatever she wanted.       Willing as she is to brave this new world, Temperance is utterly ill-equipped to survive the wilderness; all she knows is how to live inside the pages of adventure an

Blog Tour: A Trace of Deceit by Karen Odden

Image
A Trace of Deceit by Karen Odden Publication Date: December 17, 2019 William Morrow Paperback & eBook; 416 pages Genre: Historical Mystery/Victorian Synopsis: From the author of A Dangerous Duet comes the next book in her Victorian mystery series, this time following a daring female painter and the Scotland Yard detective who is investigating her brother’s suspicious death.      A young painter digs beneath the veneer of Victorian London’s art world to learn the truth behind her brother’s murder…      Edwin is dead. That’s what Inspector Matthew Hallam of Scotland Yard tells Annabel Rowe when she discovers him searching her brother’s flat for clues. While the news is shocking, Annabel can’t say it’s wholly unexpected, given Edwin’s past as a dissolute risk-taker and art forger, although he swore he’d reformed. After years spent blaming his reckless behavior for their parents’ deaths, Annabel is now faced with the question of who murdered him—because Edwin’s

Blog Tour: Alina: A Song For The Telling by Malve von Hassel: A Book Review

Image
Alina: A Song For the Telling by Malve von Hassell August 27, 2020 BHC Press Hardcover, Paperback, & eBook Genre: Young Adult/Historical/Medieval Synopsis:  You should be grateful, my girl. You have no dowry, and I am doing everything I can to get you settled. You are hardly any man's dream."     Alina's brother, Milos, pulled his face into a perfect copy of Aunt Marci's sour expression, primly pursing his mouth. He had got her querulous tone just right.     I pinched my lips together, trying not to laugh. But it was true; Aunt Marci had already introduced me to several suitors. So far I had managed to decline their suits politely.     Maybe Alina's aunt was right. How could she possibly hope to become a musician, a trobairitz, as impoverished as she was and without the status of a good marriage?       But fourteen-year-old Alina refuses to accept the oppressing life her strict aunt wants to impose upon her. When the p

Blog Tour: Guest Post by Shelley Stratton: Trolley Cars, the Metro, and Bringing Historical Settings to Life

Image
      Shelly Stratton is the author of She Wears the Mask .  This interesting guest post discusses how she incorporates realistic details and facts about streetcars from the early 20th century, which were common long before her birth. Mrs. Stratton describes her love of these older modes of public transportation as well as how she felt a joy and kinship with those who patronized these iconic symbols of urban transportation throughout the industrial age. Thank you, Mrs. Stratton! Trolley Cars, the Metro, and Bringing Historical Settings to Life By Shelly Stratton      Decades ago, whenever I visited my great grandmother and great aunt in NW Washington, D.C., they would always ask me, “Did you drive in or take the trolley car here?” As I removed my coat or stowed away my umbrella, I would politely correct them with “I took the metro.”  But after correcting them so many times and both of them persistently referring to the metropolitan transit train system as the “trolley car,” I ga