Posts

Cartier's Hope by M.J. Rose: A Book Review

Image
Cartier’s Hope Author: M. J. Rose Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense, Romance Publisher: Atria Books Release Date: 2020 Pages: 336 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: From M.J. Rose, New York Times bestselling author of Tiffany Blues , “a lush, romantic historical mystery” (Kristin Hannah, The Nightingale ), comes a gorgeously wrought novel of ambition and betrayal set in the Gilded Age. New York, 1910: A city of extravagant balls in Fifth Avenue mansions and poor immigrants crammed into crumbling Lower East Side tenements. A city where the suffrage movement is growing stronger every day, but most women reporters are still delegated to the fashion and lifestyle pages. But Vera Garland is set on making her mark in a man’s world of serious journalism. Shortly after the world-famous Hope Diamond is acquired for a record sum, Vera begins investigating rumors about schemes by its new owner, jeweler Pierre Cartier, to manipulate

The Secret Wife of Aaron Burr: A Riveting Untold Story of the American Revolution by Susan Holloway Scott: A Book Review

Image
The Secret Wife of Aaron Burr: A Riveting Untold Story of the American Revolution Author: Susan Holloway Scott Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Kensington Release Date: 2019 Pages: 512 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Inspired by a woman and events forgotten by history, bestselling author Susan Holloway Scott weaves together carefully researched fact and fiction to tell the story of Mary Emmons, and the place she held in the life—and the heart—of the notorious Aaron Burr.        He was a hero of the Revolution, a brilliant politician, lawyer, and very nearly president; a skillful survivor in a raw new country filled with constantly shifting loyalties. Today Aaron Burr is remembered more for the fatal duel that killed rival Alexander Hamilton. But long before that single shot destroyed Burr’s political career, there were other dark whispers about him: that he was untrustworthy, a libertine, a man unafraid of claiming whatever he believed shoul

Blog Tour: The Heartless Prince by Leigh Dragoon and Angela De Vito (Illustrator)

Image
      I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the HEARTLESS PRINCE by Leigh Dragoon & Angela De Vito Blog Tour hosted by  Rockstar Book Tours . Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!   About The Book: Title:  HEARTLESS PRINCE Author:  Leigh Dragoon & Angela De Vito (Illustrator) Pub. Date:   November 2, 2021 Publisher:  Disney-Hyperion Formats:  Hardcover, Paperback, eBook Pages:  160 Find it:   Goodreads ,  Amazon , B&N , TBD ,  Bookshop.org Synopsis:  A fierce warrior must save the heart of her beloved prince before it's too late in the first book of a new YA fantasy-adventure graphic novel trilogy, perfect for fans of Noelle Stevenson's Nimona and Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet      Evony is an orphaned princess from a kingdom destroyed by a power-hungry witch. Prince Ammon has recently been drawn to her, or at least he’s drawn to her uncanny ability to sense when familiars—servants to the witches—are approaching his kingdom’s bor

The Empress in the Pepper Chamber: Zhao Feiyan in History and Fiction by Olivia Milburn: A Book Review

Image
The Empress in the Pepper Chamber: Zhao Feiyan in History and Fiction Author: Olivia Milburn Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: University of Washington Press Release Date: May 24, 2021 Pages: 233 Source: Personal Collection Synopsis: Zhao Feiyan (45–1 BCE), the second empress appointed by Emperor Cheng of the Han dynasty (207 BCE–220 CE), was born in slavery and trained in the performing arts, a background that made her appointment as empress highly controversial. Subsequent persecution by her political enemies eventually led to her being forced to commit suicide. After her death, her reputation was marred by accusations of vicious scheming, murder of other consorts and their offspring, and relentless promiscuity, punctuated by bouts of extravagant shopping.      This first book-length study of Zhao Feiyan and her literary legacy includes a complete translation of The Scandalous Tale of Zhao Feiyan (Zhao Feiyan waizhuan) , a Tang dynasty (618–907 CE) erotic novella that

Blog Tour: Daughter of the Deep by Rick Riordan

Image
I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the DAUGHTER OF THE DEEP by Rick Riordan Blog Tour hosted by  Rockstar Book Tours . Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!   About The Book: Title:  DAUGHTER OF THE DEEP Author:  Rick Riordan Pub. Date:   October 5, 2021 Publisher:  Disney-Hyperion Formats:  Hardcover, eBook Pages:  416 Find it:   Goodreads ,  Amazon , Kindle , B&N Exclusive Edition , iBooks , Kobo , TBD ,  Bookshop.org New York Times  #1 best-selling author Rick Riordan pays homage to Jules Verne in his exciting modern take on  20,000 Leagues Under the  Sea. Ana Dakkar is a freshman at Harding-Pencroft Academy, a five-year high school that graduates the best marine scientists, naval warriors, navigators, and underwater explorers in the world. Ana's parents died while on a scientific expedition two years ago, and the only family's she's got left is her older brother, Dev, also a student at HP. Ana's freshman year culminates