Posts

My Most Anticipated Books of 2018!

Image
The year 2018 seems like such a great year for lovers of historical fiction. There are many good books that will be released within the year. Clear your calendars, because there will need to be several days and nights of good reading! Here is a list of some of my most anticipated books of 2018:


To be honest, I don't really know much about Alexander Pushkin or his wife Natalya. However, I read The Secret Daughter of the Last Tsar, and I enjoyed it immensely.

Release Date: Jan. 2nd

This book has just been released. I saw this at my local library the other day, and it looks really good. It has everything that I want in a gothic novel; secrets, murder, and mystery. I have heard many people raving about this author.  It seems like a perfect read on a cold winter's day, so I will definitely check it out soon!

Release Date: Jan. 9th


As a fan of historical mysteries, this looks like a fun read. I also like that it has a unique setting, which is set in India.
Release Date: Jan 9th


As a…

Blog Tour: Deborah Rising by Avraham Azrieli: A Book Review

Image
Deborah Rising
Author: Avraham Azrieli
Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian, Biblical Fiction
Publisher: HarperLegend
Release Date: 2016
Pages: 330
Source: This book was given to me by TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: In the tradition of The Red Tent, The Fifth Mountain, and The Mists of Avalon comes this absorbing historical novel that reimagines the life of one of the Bible's most revered women, the prophetess Deborah, and her epic journey to fulfill her destiny.

     Deborah's father dreamed that his daughter would one day become a prophet of the God of the Israelites. But the social and religious mores of her time dictated that a woman must marry--even against her will--and obey her husband. When Deborah is forced into an engagement with the violent son of her local judge, the young Hebrew woman rebels, determined to forge a new path.

     Captivated by the notion of transforming herself into a man to escape the arranged marriage and fulfill her father'…

The Woman in the Camphor Trunk (Anna Blanc Mystery #2) by Jennifer Kincheloe: A Book Review

Image
The Woman in the Camphor Trunk (Anna Blanc Mystery #2)
Author: Jennifer Kincheloe
Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance, Mystery
Publisher: Seventh Street Books
Release Date: 2017
Pages: 304
Source: This book was given to me by the publisher and the audiobook was given to me by Audiobookworm Promotions blog tour in exchange for an honest review
Synopsis: In early-1900s Los Angeles-- an era of courting, ragtime, suffragettes, and widespread corruption-- a socialite turned police matron tracks down the murderer of a white woman in Chinatown, while trying to prevent the outbreak of a bloody tong war.

     Los Angeles, 1908. In Chinatown, the most dangerous beat in Los Angeles, police matron Anna Blanc and her former sweetheart, Detective Joe Singer, discover the body of a white missionary woman, stuffed in a trunk in the apartment of her Chinese lover. If news about the murder gets out, there will be a violent backlash against the Chinese. Joe and Anna work to solve the crime quietly and keep the d…

Guest Post by Ralph Webster: Female or Male Perspective?

Image
Today's guest writer is Ralph Webster. He is the author of A Smile in One Eye. His latest novel, One More Moon will be released on February 28th. The novel tells the story of his grandmother’s desperate journey from her life at the Pensione Alexandra in Naples to America. Mr. Webster explains the approach he took in writing from a female perspective in One More Moon.

Female or Male Perspective?
     Whose voice?  A woman’s or a man’s?

     This past week I was asked “how was writing One More Moon different from what I’d experienced writing the last book?”  It’s a curious question - one that I find myself reflecting upon now and certainly something that I was not overly conscious of when I was writing.  Had I considered the difference, would it have changed the way I wrote One More Moon?

     Old habits are hard to break.  I can’t say the way I approached the writing changed much - the way I researched, my daily routine, the thought process.  I always take my craft seriously.  Eve…

Blog Tour: The Woman in The Camphor Trunk (Anna Black Mystery #2) by Jennifer Kincheloe

Image
Author: Jennifer KincheloeNarrator: Moira QuirkLength: 10 hours 50 minutesSeries: Anna Blanc Mysteries, Book 2Publisher: Jennifer KincheloeReleased: Nov. 14, 2017Genre: Historical Fiction Mystery
     Los Angeles, 1908. In Chinatown, the most dangerous beat in Los Angeles, police matron Anna Blanc and her former sweetheart, Detective Joe Singer, discover the body of a white missionary woman, stuffed in a trunk in the apartment of her Chinese lover. If news about the murder gets out, there will be a violent backlash against the Chinese. Joe and Anna work to solve the crime quietly and keep the death a secret, reluctantly helped by the good-looking Mr. Jones, a prominent local leader.
     Meanwhile, the kidnapping of two slave girls fuels existing tensions, leaving Chinatown poised on the verge of a bloody tong war. Joe orders Anna to stay away, but Anna is determined to solve the crime before news of the murder is leaked and Chinatown explodes.









     Jennifer has been a block layer, a nur…

Book Blast: The Secret Life of Mrs. London by Rebecca Rosenberg

Image
The Secret Life of Mrs. London by Rebecca RosenbergPublication Date: January 30, 2018 Lake Union Publishing eBook & Paperback; 348 Pages Genre: Historical Fiction

Synopsis: San Francisco, 1915. As America teeters on the brink of world war, Charmian and her husband, famed novelist Jack London, wrestle with genius and desire, politics and marital competitiveness. Charmian longs to be viewed as an equal partner who put her own career on hold to support her husband, but Jack doesn’t see it that way…until Charmian is pulled from the audience during a magic show by escape artist Harry Houdini, a man enmeshed in his own complicated marriage. Suddenly, charmed by the attention Houdini pays her and entranced by his sexual magnetism, Charmian’s eyes open to a world of possibilities that could be her escape.

     As Charmian grapples with her urge to explore the forbidden, Jack’s increasingly reckless behavior threatens her dedication. Now torn between two of history’s most mysterious and charis…

The Secret Life of Anna Blanc by Jennifer Kincheloe: A Book Review

Image
The Secret Life of Anna Blanc
Author: Jennifer Kincheloe
Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance, Mystery
Publisher: Seventh Street Books
Release Date: 2015
Pages: 370
Source: This book was given to me by the publisher and the audiobook was given to me by Audiobookworm Promotions blog tour in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: It's 1907 Los Angeles. Mischievous socialite Anna Blanc is the kind of young woman who devours purloined crime novels--but must disguise them behind covers of more domestically-appropriate reading. She could match wits with Sherlock Holmes, but in her world women are not allowed to hunt criminals. 

     Determined to break free of the era's rigid social roles, Anna buys off the chaperone assigned by her domineering father and, using an alias, takes a job as a police matron with the Los Angeles Police Department. There she discovers a string of brothel murders, which the cops are unwilling to investigate. Seizing her one chance to solve a crime, she takes on the…