Posts

Showing posts from 2019

The Orphan's Tale by Pam Jenoff: A Book Review

Image
The Orphan’s Tale
Author: Pam Jenoff
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher:  MIRA
Release Date: 2017
Pages: 369
Source: Publisher/Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan’s Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival. 

     Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. 

     Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the l…

Margaret Tudor: The Life of Henry VIII's Sister by Melanie Clegg: A Book Review

Image
Margaret Tudor: The Life of Henry VIII's Sister 
Author: Melanie Clegg
Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography
Publisher: Pen and Sword History
Release Date: 2018
Pages: 224
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: When the thirteen year old Margaret Tudor, eldest daughter of Henry VII and his wife Elizabeth of York, married King James IV of Scotland in a magnificent proxy ceremony held at Richmond Palace in January 1503, no one could have guessed that this pretty, redheaded princess would go on to have a marital career as dramatic and chequered as that of her younger brother Henry VIII.Left widowed at the age of just twenty three after her husband was killed by her brother’s army at the battle of Flodden, Margaret was made Regent for her young son and was temporarily the most powerful woman in Scotland - until she fell in love with the wrong man, lost everything and was forced to flee the country. In a life that foreshadowed that of her tragic, fascinating g…

The Lost Girl of Astor Street by Stephanie Morrill: A Book Review

Image
The Lost Girl of Astor Street
Author: Stephanie Morrill
Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Mystery
Publisher: Blink
Release Date: 2017
Pages: 352
Source: Edelweiss/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia’s disappearance. Given that Piper’s tendency has always been to butt heads with high-society’s expectations of her, it’s no surprise that she doesn’t give a second thought to searching for answers to Lydia’s abduction from their privileged neighborhood.

      As Piper discovers that those answers might stem from the corruption strangling 1924 Chicago—and quite possibly lead back to the doors of her affluent neighborhood—she must decide how deep she’s willing to dig, how much she should reveal, and if she’s willing to risk her life of privilege for the sake of the truth.

     Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Go…

Blog Tour: Cover Reveal of The Hollow Queen (Stolen Empire #5) by Sherry D. Ficklin

Image
The Hollow Queen 
by Sherry D. Ficklin 
(Stolen Empire, #5) 
Published by: Clean Teen Publishing
Publication date: September 23rd 2019
Genres: Historical, Young Adult
Synopsis:As a princess of the Romanov Empire, Elizabeth has enjoyed a life of luxury and privilege. But the sudden deaths of her parents leaves her unprotected – awash in the dangerous tide of her family’s political rivals. When the supreme council crowns her half-nephew Peter II in her place, Elizabeth is left with no title, no power—and no allies. Now little more than a bastard in the eyes of the world, she is sent to serve in the palatial home of Prince Menshikov—the real power behind the boy king. 

    But Elizabeth won’t fade quietly into the background. 

     Determined to uncover the truth behind her mother’s murder and expose the men who mean to rule Russia in secret, she grows closer to the handsome young king, and swears to protect him and his rule at any cost. But the forces that oppose them are as dark as they are fa…

Guest Post: The Ladies-in-Waiting: Lady Isabel Baynton by Alexandra Walsh

Image
Today's guest writer is Alexandra Walsh. She is the author of The Catherine Howard Conspiracy, which is a historical thriller surrounding the infamous Tudor queen. In this guest post, Mrs. Walsh discusses the life of Catherine's lady-in-waiting, Isabel Baynton. This post will be sure to fascinate fans of Tudor era. If you enjoy her post, please pick up a copy of The Catherine Howard Conspiracy! Thank you, Mrs. Walsh!



The Ladies-in-Waiting – Lady Isabel Baynton by Alexandra Walsh
    One of the most enjoyable things about writing an historical novel is discovering the tiny details that make the period real on the page. While I was researching The Catherine Howard Conspiracy, I spent a great deal of time hunting out the life stories of the women who surrounded the young queen in order to create a group of realistic friends and confidants. 

     There are some well-known names linked with Catherine and her downfall: Lady Jane Boleyn, Thomas Culpeper, Katherine Tilney, Joan Bulmer …

Blog Tour: A Murderous Malady by Christine Trent

Image
A Murderous Malady by Christine TrentPublication Date: May 7, 2019 Crooked Lane Books Hardcover & eBook; 336 Pages Genre: Historical Mystery

Synopsis: For fans of Charles Todd and Deanna Raybourn comes Christine Trent’s second Florence Nightingale mystery.

    Cholera has broken out in London, but Florence Nightingale has bigger problems when people begin dying of a far more intentional cause—murder.

    The London summer of 1854 is drawing to a close when a deadly outbreak of cholera grips the city. Florence Nightingale is back on the scene marshaling her nurses to help treat countless suffering patients at Middlesex Hospital as the disease tears through the Soho slums. But beyond the dangers of the disease, something even more evil is seeping through the ailing streets of London.

    It begins with an attack on the carriage of Florence’s friend, Elizabeth Herbert, wife to Secretary at War Sidney Herbert. Florence survives, but her coachman does not. Within hours, Sidney’s valet stumbl…

Blog Tour: Song of Songs by Marc Graham: A Book Review

Image
Song of Songs: A Novel of the Queen of Sheba by Marc Graham Publication Date: April 16, 2019 Blank Slate Press Paperback; 400 Pages Genre: Historical Fiction

Synopsis: Lift the veil of legend for the untold story of Makeda, the Queen of Sheba, and Bathsheba, wife and mother of Israel’s first kings.

   When Makeda, the slave-born daughter of the chieftain of Saba, comes of age, she wins her freedom and inherits her father’s titles along with a crumbling earthwork dam that threatens her people’s survival. When she learns of a great stone temple being built in a land far to the north, Makeda leads a caravan to the capital of Yisrael to learn how to build a permanent dam and secure her people’s prosperity.

    On her arrival, Makeda discovers that her half-sister Bilkis (also known as Bathsheba) who was thought to have died in a long-ago flash flood, not only survived, but has become Queen of Yisrael. Not content with her own wealth, Bilkis intends to claim the riches of Saba for herself by forci…

Blog Tour: The Time Collector by Gwendolyn Womack: A Book Review

Image
The Time Collector by Gwendolyn WomackPublication Date: April 16, 2019 Picador USA eBook & Paperback; 368 Pages Genre: Historical/Romantic Suspense
Synopsis:Travel through time with the touch of a hand.

   Roan West was born with an extraordinary gift: he can perceive the past of any object he touches. A highly skilled pyschometrist, he uses his talents to find and sell valuable antiques, but his quiet life in New Orleans is about to change. Stuart, a fellow pyschometrist and Roan’s close friend, has used his own abilities to unearth several out-of-place-artifacts or “ooparts”—like a ring that once belonged to the seventeenth-century mathematician and philosopher RenĂ© Descartes, but was found buried in prehistoric bedrock.

   The relics challenge recorded history, but soon after the discovery, Stuart disappears, making him one of several psychometrists who have recently died or vanished without a trace. When Roan comes across a viral video of a young woman who has discovered a priceles…