Skip to main content

Daughter of the Gods by Stephanie Thornton: A Book Review

Daughter of the Gods: A Novel of Ancient Egypt
Author: Stephanie Thornton
Genre:  Historical Fiction
Publisher: Berkley
Release Date: 2014
Pages: 450
Source: My Personal Collection
Synopsis: Egypt, 1400s BC. The pharaoh’s pampered second daughter, lively, intelligent Hatshepsut, delights in racing her chariot through the marketplace and testing her archery skills in the Nile’s marshlands. But the death of her elder sister, Neferubity, in a gruesome accident arising from Hatshepsut’s games forces her to confront her guilt...and sets her on a profoundly changed course.

     Hatshepsut enters a loveless marriage with her half brother, Thut, to secure his claim to the Isis Throne and produce a male heir. But it is another of Thut’s wives, the commoner Aset, who bears him a son, while Hatshepsut develops a searing attraction for his brilliant adviser Senenmut. And when Thut suddenly dies, Hatshepsut becomes de facto ruler, as regent to her two-year-old nephew.


     Once, Hatshepsut anticipated being free to live and love as she chose. Now she must put Egypt first. Ever daring, she will lead a vast army and build great temples, but always she will be torn between the demands of leadership and the desires of her heart. And even as she makes her boldest move of all, her enemies will plot her downfall....


     Once again, Stephanie Thornton brings to life a remarkable woman from the distant past whose willingness to defy tradition changed the course of history.


     My Review: Hatshepsut was never meant to be queen. After the death of her sister, Neferubity, Hatshepsut suddenly finds herself in line to become the next Great Royal Wife. It does not take her long to realize that she wants more than being a pharaoh's consort. She gradually grows a desire to take the throne of Egypt for herself. Daughter of the Gods tells the triumphs and tragedies of Egypt’s most successful female pharaoh.

    This novel shows a unique side to Hatshepsut. At first, she is reluctant and unwilling to be queen. She is unprepared for the role that was suddenly thrust upon her. She is able to gain the confidence of her abilities through the help of her advisor, Sennemut. The novel does not display how Hatshepsut ruled as pharaoh. Many of her accomplishments are glossed over. Instead, it focuses on her family, loves, and sorrows.  I really like this personal aspect because it shows how her reign may have been an unhappy time for her.


     Overall, this novel details the sacrifices a woman made for power. Hatshesput may have gotten the throne, but not without many costs. I thought the author did a superb job in reimaging Hatshepsut’s story. The novel was very meticulously researched and it had the aura of transporting me to ancient Egypt. However, there were a few flaws to this novel. The writing was stilted and choppy at times. There were some ludicrous scenes, like Sennemut’s death, that seemed very off-putting. Despite the novel’s weaknesses, it was a very emotional tale. I recommend this novel for fans of C. W. Gortner, Michelle Moran, and Kate Quinn.


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a