Skip to main content

Brides of the Storm (Book 2 of the Galveston Hurricane Mystery Series) by Amanda Still: A Book Review

Brides of the Storm (Book 2 of the Galveston Hurricane Mystery Series)
Author: Amanda Still
Genre: Mystery & Suspense, Paranormal, Historical Fiction
Publisher: Gone Feral Publishing
Release Date: May 6th, 2013
Pages: 360
Source: This book was given to my by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: One Too Many Brides One bride died a year before the wedding, drowned in the waters of the Great Galveston Hurricane of 1900. One fell in love and expects a quiet wedding and a peaceful life. They are both surprised when the confused groom is suspected of a brutal murder. The gruesome death of a local prostitute occurred just after the "dead" wife returned to town. Are the two events connected? Dash, a female attorney, must find out the truth to bring peace to her own home as her adopted daughters are now torn between their love for her and suspicion that their original mother did not die in the storm, but might return. As Dash hunts a killer, she finds the dead are more help than the living in this dangerous pursuit. BRIDES OF THE STORM is the second book in the ECHOES OF THE STORM, Galveston Hurricane Mystery Series.

      My Review: This book is part of the series, Galveston Hurricane Mystery Series, but it is also a stand-alone mystery novel. The novel takes place after the hurricane disaster in 1900. The series is narrated by Dash, a female attorney, who helps solve murder crimes with a Scottish private-detective, Barker. The novel starts off with Dash's friend, Winnie, who is getting ready to marry Abelard, a wealthy anatomy professor. However, Abelard's wife that was believed to be dead from the hurricane suddenly comes back to reclaim Abelard as her husband. Meanwhile, Dash and Barker have discovered the gruesome murder of a prostitute. Could these two events somehow be connected?


     I found the setting of Galveston to be an interesting idea for a mystery series. The Galveston hurricane was the deadliest hurricane in American history that caused a lot of deaths and destruction in the city. Because of the chaos, it is a great feast for the setup of these murder mysteries. The author, Still, does a great job in portraying how the devastation of the hurricane impacted her characters and the setting. Dash is emotionally-damaged from the storm because it killed her husband and her neighbors. In the novel, other characters have also lost someone precious to them, and each of them tries their best to rebuild their lives again, but the ghost of the storm still haunts their everyday lives.

     Dash is a likable heroine. She is compassionate, loyal, selfless, and spirited. She is a moralist, and sometimes can be judgmental, outspoken, and stubborn, when something contradicts with her morals. She is very loving and motherly to her adopted daughters and tries her best to be accepted by her girls, who still long for their real mother. Dash is also highly intelligent, which is why she and Barker make a great team. Both are them highly observant, intelligent, and evenly-matched. They help each other and make observances that sometimes the other does not see. They both need each other to help solve the crime.

     Overall, this novel was a fun fast-paced thriller. There are thrills at every turn, and the reader will find it hard to put this novel down. The novel is filled with suspense, romance, paranormal, and humor. The dialogue is witty, and the setting and characters are well-developed. In fact, this novel left me waiting for more. I liked this book so much that immediately after I finished it, I bought the kindle version of the first novel, Echoes of the Storm (Book 1 of the Galveston Hurricane Mystery Series). I am looking forward to reading it and the other forthcoming novels in this series. Brides of the storm will appeal to fans of Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie, Monk, and anyone who loves mystery.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

   

Comments

  1. I have read these books and you did a wonderful job with your review...I lived in Galveston for awhile and it is a beautiful place to be...thanks for sharing as I just found this author this year and loved her work.

    Paula O(kyflo130@yahoo.com)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther