Skip to main content

Brides of the Storm (Book 2 of the Galveston Hurricane Mystery Series) by Amanda Still: A Book Review

Brides of the Storm (Book 2 of the Galveston Hurricane Mystery Series)
Author: Amanda Still
Genre: Mystery & Suspense, Paranormal, Historical Fiction
Publisher: Gone Feral Publishing
Release Date: May 6th, 2013
Pages: 360
Source: This book was given to my by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: One Too Many Brides One bride died a year before the wedding, drowned in the waters of the Great Galveston Hurricane of 1900. One fell in love and expects a quiet wedding and a peaceful life. They are both surprised when the confused groom is suspected of a brutal murder. The gruesome death of a local prostitute occurred just after the "dead" wife returned to town. Are the two events connected? Dash, a female attorney, must find out the truth to bring peace to her own home as her adopted daughters are now torn between their love for her and suspicion that their original mother did not die in the storm, but might return. As Dash hunts a killer, she finds the dead are more help than the living in this dangerous pursuit. BRIDES OF THE STORM is the second book in the ECHOES OF THE STORM, Galveston Hurricane Mystery Series.

      My Review: This book is part of the series, Galveston Hurricane Mystery Series, but it is also a stand-alone mystery novel. The novel takes place after the hurricane disaster in 1900. The series is narrated by Dash, a female attorney, who helps solve murder crimes with a Scottish private-detective, Barker. The novel starts off with Dash's friend, Winnie, who is getting ready to marry Abelard, a wealthy anatomy professor. However, Abelard's wife that was believed to be dead from the hurricane suddenly comes back to reclaim Abelard as her husband. Meanwhile, Dash and Barker have discovered the gruesome murder of a prostitute. Could these two events somehow be connected?


     I found the setting of Galveston to be an interesting idea for a mystery series. The Galveston hurricane was the deadliest hurricane in American history that caused a lot of deaths and destruction in the city. Because of the chaos, it is a great feast for the setup of these murder mysteries. The author, Still, does a great job in portraying how the devastation of the hurricane impacted her characters and the setting. Dash is emotionally-damaged from the storm because it killed her husband and her neighbors. In the novel, other characters have also lost someone precious to them, and each of them tries their best to rebuild their lives again, but the ghost of the storm still haunts their everyday lives.

     Dash is a likable heroine. She is compassionate, loyal, selfless, and spirited. She is a moralist, and sometimes can be judgmental, outspoken, and stubborn, when something contradicts with her morals. She is very loving and motherly to her adopted daughters and tries her best to be accepted by her girls, who still long for their real mother. Dash is also highly intelligent, which is why she and Barker make a great team. Both are them highly observant, intelligent, and evenly-matched. They help each other and make observances that sometimes the other does not see. They both need each other to help solve the crime.

     Overall, this novel was a fun fast-paced thriller. There are thrills at every turn, and the reader will find it hard to put this novel down. The novel is filled with suspense, romance, paranormal, and humor. The dialogue is witty, and the setting and characters are well-developed. In fact, this novel left me waiting for more. I liked this book so much that immediately after I finished it, I bought the kindle version of the first novel, Echoes of the Storm (Book 1 of the Galveston Hurricane Mystery Series). I am looking forward to reading it and the other forthcoming novels in this series. Brides of the storm will appeal to fans of Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie, Monk, and anyone who loves mystery.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

   

Comments

  1. I have read these books and you did a wonderful job with your review...I lived in Galveston for awhile and it is a beautiful place to be...thanks for sharing as I just found this author this year and loved her work.

    Paula O(kyflo130@yahoo.com)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a