Skip to main content

The Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine: A Book Review

The Shadow Queen 
Author: C.J. Redwine
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Release Date:  February 16, 2016
Pages: 405
Source: Edelweiss/Publisher in exchange for an honest review
Synopsis: A dark epic fantasy inspired by the tale of Snow White, from C. J. Redwine, the author of the Defiance series. Perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Cinder.

     Lorelai Diederich, crown princess and fugitive at large, has one mission: kill the wicked queen who took both the Ravenspire throne and the life of her father. To do that, Lorelai needs to use the one weapon she and Queen Irina have in common—magic. She'll have to be stronger, faster, and more powerful than Irina, the most dangerous sorceress Ravenspire has ever seen.

     In the neighboring kingdom of Eldr, when Prince Kol's father and older brother are killed by an invading army of magic-wielding ogres, the second-born prince is suddenly given the responsibility of saving his kingdom. To do that, Kol needs magic of his own—and the only way to get it is to make a deal with the queen of Ravenspire, promise to become her personal huntsman—and bring her Lorelai's heart.

     But Lorelai is nothing like Kol expected—beautiful, fierce, and unstoppable—and despite dark magic, Lorelai is drawn in by the passionate and troubled king. Fighting to stay one step ahead of the dragon huntsman—who she likes far more than she should—Lorelai does everything in her power to ruin the wicked queen. But Irina isn't going down without a fight, and her final move may cost the princess the one thing she still has left to lose.


     My Review: The Shadow Queen is a retelling of Snow White. Lorelai is the the exiled crown princess of Ravenspire with magical powers. She intends to use her powers to kill her stepmother, the evil queen, and to take back her kingdom. What she does not know is that her stepmother has made a deal with the dragon shapeshifter, King Kol of Eldr, to kill Lorelai and to bring back her heart. Lorelai must stay one step above the huntsman, and to battle the queen. Who will win the epic showdown, Lorelai or the evil queen? 

     Lorelai is really a tough heroine. I really liked her. She was easy to sympathize with, and I rooted for her to win all the way. She is a woman who has lost so much, and she is trying to heal from her losses. She is also very insecure. Yet, slowly she grows into a strong and confident young woman who believes in herself. She is also very selfless and always sees good in others. Her kindness is her strength and because of her mercy, people are willing to fight for her to be queen. She is also very smart and a strategist. She always has a plan. These qualities show that Lorelai is the worthy queen of Ravenspire.

     Overall, this book is about love, loss, friendship, and choices. The message of this book is to believe in yourself. While this book has a strong protagonist, I also liked how we have a powerful female villain. This villain  was very intriguing, and I loved some chapters being told from her perspective. She has a tragic past, and she will do whatever it takes to make her dreams come true. I love how this villain seemed so strong and almost invincible, but she makes Lorelai stronger. In a way, it is Irina who has prepared Lorelai to be the queen that Ravenspire needs to be. The characters are very fun and likable. I loved the storyline, it is full of action, and it was like watching a game of chess where we see both Lorelai and Queen Irina making their move to see who will win the throne of Ravenspire. I recommend this book to anyone interested in the re-telling of fairy tales, exciting fantasy war intrigue, and anyone looking for a novel with a strong female lead.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Dreamland by Nancy Bilyeau

Dreamland Author: Nancy Bilyeau Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense Publisher: Lume Books Release Date: 2020 Pages: 291 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The year is 1911 when twenty-year-old heiress Peggy Batternberg is invited to spend the summer in America’s Playground.       The invitation to Coney Island is unwelcome. Despite hailing from one of America’s richest families, Peggy would much rather spend the summer working at the Moonrise Bookstore than keeping up appearances with New York City socialites and her snobbish, controlling family.      But soon it transpires that the hedonism of Coney Island affords Peggy the freedom she has been yearning for, and it’s not long before she finds herself in love with a troubled pier-side artist of humble means, whom the Batternberg patriarchs would surely disapprove of. Disapprove they may, but hidden behind their pomposity lurks a web of deceit, betrayal, and deadly secrets. And as bodie