Skip to main content

Queen of the Darkest Hour by Kim Rendfeld: A Book Review

Queen of the Darkest Hour
Author: Kim Rendfeld
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Kim Rendfeld
Release Date: August 7, 2018
Pages: 327
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Francia, 783: As wars loom, Queen Fastrada faces a peril within the castle walls: King Charles’s eldest son, Pepin. Blaming his father for the curse that twisted his spine, Pepin rejects a prize archbishopric and plots to seize the throne. Can Fastrada stop the conspiracy before it destroys the realm?

     Based on historic events during Charlemagne’s reign, Queen of the Darkest Hour is a story of family strife endangering an entire country—and the price to save it.

     My Review: Queen Fastrada is a young girl who marries the Emperor Charlemagne. However, her happiness is soon shattered when she is beset by many problems. She has to endure the enmity and wrath of Pepin, Charlemagne’s eldest son. Pepin is a hunch-backed and is often neglected by his father. However, Pepin plans to steal his father’s throne. Can Fastrada stop Pepin from succeeding in his plans and save the throne?

     Fastrada has usually been depicted as a disliked figure in history. She is known to be cruel and cunning. However, Queen of the Darkest Hour has made Fastrada to be a very sympathetic character. In the beginning of the novel Fastrada is a young and naive woman. She hopes to be a good wife, queen, and mother. She believes that she will bring peace to her family. However, she struggles to be accepted within her husband’s new family. There were moments when she is disrespected by her step-son. Fastrada is insecure, but gradually she becomes more assertive in her role. She later becomes confident of her position as queen. She becomes astute and cunning. She is undaunted and outspoken. Therefore, she is a very strong queen, and I could not stop admiring her audacity.

    Overall, Queen of the Darkest Hour is about a young woman that is determined to protect her family. There were times that the novel became a slow-read for me. The novel moved at a snail’s pace. The villain was very cartoonish and was not given much depth. There were many repetitive scenes that I thought were unnecessary in the novel. However, the novel is very meticulously researched and is well-written. I highly recommend this for those who are interested in Charlemagne’s era and strong queens! This novel is perfect for fans of Four Sisters, All Queens, Queen Defiant, and Twilight Empress.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther