Skip to main content

Queen of the Darkest Hour by Kim Rendfeld: A Book Review

Queen of the Darkest Hour
Author: Kim Rendfeld
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Kim Rendfeld
Release Date: August 7, 2018
Pages: 327
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Francia, 783: As wars loom, Queen Fastrada faces a peril within the castle walls: King Charles’s eldest son, Pepin. Blaming his father for the curse that twisted his spine, Pepin rejects a prize archbishopric and plots to seize the throne. Can Fastrada stop the conspiracy before it destroys the realm?

     Based on historic events during Charlemagne’s reign, Queen of the Darkest Hour is a story of family strife endangering an entire country—and the price to save it.

     My Review: Queen Fastrada is a young girl who marries the Emperor Charlemagne. However, her happiness is soon shattered when she is beset by many problems. She has to endure the enmity and wrath of Pepin, Charlemagne’s eldest son. Pepin is a hunch-backed and is often neglected by his father. However, Pepin plans to steal his father’s throne. Can Fastrada stop Pepin from succeeding in his plans and save the throne?

     Fastrada has usually been depicted as a disliked figure in history. She is known to be cruel and cunning. However, Queen of the Darkest Hour has made Fastrada to be a very sympathetic character. In the beginning of the novel Fastrada is a young and naive woman. She hopes to be a good wife, queen, and mother. She believes that she will bring peace to her family. However, she struggles to be accepted within her husband’s new family. There were moments when she is disrespected by her step-son. Fastrada is insecure, but gradually she becomes more assertive in her role. She later becomes confident of her position as queen. She becomes astute and cunning. She is undaunted and outspoken. Therefore, she is a very strong queen, and I could not stop admiring her audacity.

    Overall, Queen of the Darkest Hour is about a young woman that is determined to protect her family. There were times that the novel became a slow-read for me. The novel moved at a snail’s pace. The villain was very cartoonish and was not given much depth. There were many repetitive scenes that I thought were unnecessary in the novel. However, the novel is very meticulously researched and is well-written. I highly recommend this for those who are interested in Charlemagne’s era and strong queens! This novel is perfect for fans of Four Sisters, All Queens, Queen Defiant, and Twilight Empress.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a