Skip to main content

Viviana Valentine Gets Her Man (Girl Friday Mystery #1) by Emily J. Edwards: A Book Review

Viviana Valentine Gets Her Man (Girl Friday Mystery #1)
Author: Emily J. Edwards
Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Release Date: November 8, 2022
Pages: 280
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Life as a secretary in New York just got tougher when Viviana Valentine’s boss goes M.I.A in this debut historical mystery, perfect for fans of Susan Elia MacNeal and Frances Brody.

     New York City, 1950. Viviana Valentine is Girl Friday to the city’s top private investigator, Tommy Fortuna. The clients can be frustrating, and none more maddening than fabulously wealthy Tallmadge Blackstone, who demands Tommy tail his daughter, Tallulah, and find out why she won’t marry his business partner, a man forty years her senior. Sounds like an open-and-shut case for a P.I. known for busting up organized crime—but the next day, Viviana opens the office to find Tommy missing and a lifeless body on the floor.

 

     The cops swoop in and Detective Jake Lawson issues a warrant for Tommy’s arrest. Desperate to clear Tommy’s name, Viviana takes on the Blackstone case herself. When she goes out for a night on the town with the heiress, she begins to learn the secrets behind Tallulah’s headline-grabbing life. Meanwhile, Lawson is itching to solve his murder case, and continues harassing Viviana for answers—until she’s the victim of a series of violent attacks.

 

     But Tommy’s still missing, and Viviana is scared. As she digs into the dirty history of the Blackstone empire, she suddenly realizes the true danger at hand. Now, it’s up to her to find her missing boss and make sure he doesn’t turn up D.O.A.


     My Review: Viviana Valentine is the Secretary to a private investigator named Tommy Fortuna. One of his wealthy clients hires him to find out why his daughter will not marry her fiancé. During his investigation, Viviana finds a body in Tommy’s office. When Tommy goes missing, it is assumed that he is the murderer. Viviana sets out to clear her boss’s name. Along the way, she finds that both cases may be connected.


I found Viviana to be a very frustrating protagonist. Mrs. Edwards tries to depict her as a sassy heroine who tries to solve crimes. However, Viviana comes off as crude and crass. She is very judgmental to everyone around her and believes that she is better than everyone around her. Because of her selfishness, I found her very off-putting. I hoped that throughout the novel, she would undergo massive character development. However, she stayed the same throughout the novel. Thus, Viviana was not a very endearing character.


Overall, this novel is about friendship, feminism, and high society. The supporting characters were bland and forgettable. The story was slow and predictable. It was filled with all the typical cliches of a mystery novel. Therefore, there were really no twists and turns in this story and the case can be solved pretty easily. Mrs. Edwards’s writing style did not appeal to me and was very off-putting. I did not find her novel to be very funny at all. Viviana Valentine Gets Her Man is a cozy historical novel that will appeal to fans of light mysteries. However, this novel simply did not work for me. I hope that in the next book in the series, Viviana will be more developed and will have stronger writing. I recommend this novel for fans of The Secret Life of Anna Blanc, The Darkness Knows, and Death on a Deadline!


Rating: 2 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

That Summer in Berlin by Lecia Cornwall: A Book Review

That Summer in Berlin Author: Lecia Cornwall Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Berkley Release Date: 2022 Pages: 464 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: In the summer of 1936, while the Nazis make secret plans for World War II, a courageous and daring young woman struggles to expose the lies behind the dazzling spectacle of the Berlin Olympics.       German power is rising again, threatening a war that will be even worse than the last one. The English aristocracy turns to an age-old institution to stave off war and strengthen political bonds—marriage. Debutantes flock to Germany, including Viviane Alden. On holiday with her sister during the 1936 Berlin Olympics, Viviane’s true purpose is more clandestine. While many in England want to appease Hitler, others seek to prove Germany is rearming. But they need evidence, photographs to tell the tale, and Viviane is a genius with her trusty Leica. And who would suspect a pretty, young tourist taking hol