Skip to main content

Song of the Nile by Hannah Fielding: A Book Review

Song of the Nile
Author: Hannah Fielding
Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance
Publisher: London Wall Publishing 
Release Date: 2021
Pages: 638
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Luxor, 1946. When young nurse Aida El Masri returns from war-torn London to her family’s estate in Egypt she steels herself against the challenges ahead.

     Eight years have passed since her father, Ayoub, was framed for a crime he did not commit, and died as a tragic result. Yet Aida has not forgotten, and now she wants revenge against the man she believes betrayed her father – his best friend, Kamel Pharaony.


     Then Aida is reunited with Kamel’s son, the captivating surgeon Phares, who offers her marriage. In spite of herself, the secret passion Aida harboured for him as a young girl reignites. Still, how can she marry the son of the man who destroyed her father and brought shame on her family? Will coming home bring her love, or only danger and heartache?


     Set in the exotic and bygone world of Upper Egypt, Song of the Nile follows Aida’s journey of rediscovery – of the homeland she loves, with its white-sailed feluccas on the Nile, old-world charms of Cairo and the ancient secrets of its burning desert sands – and of the man she has never forgotten.


     YA compelling story of passion and intrigue – a novel that lays open the beating heart of Egypt.


     My Review: In 1946, Aida El Masri returned to Egypt after working as a nurse in WWII. After her arrival, she assumed the responsibilities of running her father’s estate. Shortly after Aida’s arrival, she met her neighbor, Kamel Pharaony, whom she believed murdered her father eight years ago. Aida also found herself falling in love with Kamel’s son named Phares. Will Aida ever allow herself to eventually marry Phares?


      I did not like the protagonist, Aida. I really had a hard time connecting with her. She comes across as very whimsy and childish. I thought that she would become a mature woman because of the hardships she faced during the war. Instead, Aida doesn’t listen to good counsel because she wants to be independent. I believe that a woman can yearn for independence but also must remain practical. Aida is not very practical and makes rash decisions. Therefore, I didn't really understand her and was not as invested in her story.


     Overall, this novel is about loss, family, and tradition vs modernity. I like the supporting characters, especially Phares. He was very honest, caring, and truly loved Aida! I also love the Egyptian setting! It was very exotic! I love the author’s writing style. It has gorgeous prose and is very lyrical. Therefore, Song of the Nile is a meticulously researched novel! Even though Song of the Nile is a very long novel, it is very fast-paced! I There is glitz and glamor, suspense, and romance! There were some flaws in this novel. I did not like some of the graphic scenes. It made me uncomfortable. I also found some parts of the novel to be very repetitive! Nevertheless, this novel is a must-read for those that like to read about Egyptian history and culture! I recommend this for fans of The Collector’s Daughter, The Oud Player of Cairo, and A Woman in Cairo!


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


      Here is the official book trailer for Song of the Nile:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Iceberg by Jennifer A. Nielsen: A Book Review

  Iceberg Author: Jennifer A. Nielsen Genre: Children, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Adventure Publisher: Scholastic Release Date: March 7, 2023 Pages: 317 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis : As disaster looms on the horizon, a young stowaway onboard the Titanic will need all her courage and wits to stay alive. A thrilling tale from New York Times bestselling author Jennifer A. Nielsen!     Hazel Rothbury is traveling all alone from her home in England aboard the celebrated ship Titanic . Following the untimely death of her father, Hazel’s mother is sending her to the US to work in a factory, so that she might send money back home to help her family make ends meet.     But Hazel harbors a secret dream: She wants to be a journalist, and she just knows that if she can write and sell a story about the Titanic ’s maiden voyage, she could earn enough money to support her family and not have to go to a sweatshop. When Hazel discovers that mother didn’t send her with enough money for

The War Queens by Rebecca Hazell: A Book Review

The War Queens Author: Rebecca Hazell Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Tellwell Talent Release Date: 2023 Pages: 496 Source: This book was given to me by the publicist in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: By the sixth century, the Roman Empire is already lost to tribal invasions, brutal Merovingian Franks have seized Gaul from the civilized Romanized Visigoths, and a dark age has descended across Europe. Now a deadly rivalry arises between two Merovingian queens. Brunhilda and Fredegunda are equals in beauty and intelligence, but opposite in vision and temperament. When the Franks demand a royal bride, Visigoth Brunhilda marries into a world that despises women. Suddenly thrust into power and repeatedly facing loss and grief, she seeks to revive a new Rome based on justice and prosperity. Her implacable foe, Fredegunda, is a former slave concubine who lives only for personal power. Insanely jealous of high-born Brunhilda, she uses seduction, assassination, war, and even witc