Skip to main content

Song of the Nile by Hannah Fielding: A Book Review

Song of the Nile
Author: Hannah Fielding
Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance
Publisher: London Wall Publishing 
Release Date: 2021
Pages: 638
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Luxor, 1946. When young nurse Aida El Masri returns from war-torn London to her family’s estate in Egypt she steels herself against the challenges ahead.

     Eight years have passed since her father, Ayoub, was framed for a crime he did not commit, and died as a tragic result. Yet Aida has not forgotten, and now she wants revenge against the man she believes betrayed her father – his best friend, Kamel Pharaony.


     Then Aida is reunited with Kamel’s son, the captivating surgeon Phares, who offers her marriage. In spite of herself, the secret passion Aida harboured for him as a young girl reignites. Still, how can she marry the son of the man who destroyed her father and brought shame on her family? Will coming home bring her love, or only danger and heartache?


     Set in the exotic and bygone world of Upper Egypt, Song of the Nile follows Aida’s journey of rediscovery – of the homeland she loves, with its white-sailed feluccas on the Nile, old-world charms of Cairo and the ancient secrets of its burning desert sands – and of the man she has never forgotten.


     YA compelling story of passion and intrigue – a novel that lays open the beating heart of Egypt.


     My Review: In 1946, Aida El Masri returned to Egypt after working as a nurse in WWII. After her arrival, she assumed the responsibilities of running her father’s estate. Shortly after Aida’s arrival, she met her neighbor, Kamel Pharaony, whom she believed murdered her father eight years ago. Aida also found herself falling in love with Kamel’s son named Phares. Will Aida ever allow herself to eventually marry Phares?


      I did not like the protagonist, Aida. I really had a hard time connecting with her. She comes across as very whimsy and childish. I thought that she would become a mature woman because of the hardships she faced during the war. Instead, Aida doesn’t listen to good counsel because she wants to be independent. I believe that a woman can yearn for independence but also must remain practical. Aida is not very practical and makes rash decisions. Therefore, I didn't really understand her and was not as invested in her story.


     Overall, this novel is about loss, family, and tradition vs modernity. I like the supporting characters, especially Phares. He was very honest, caring, and truly loved Aida! I also love the Egyptian setting! It was very exotic! I love the author’s writing style. It has gorgeous prose and is very lyrical. Therefore, Song of the Nile is a meticulously researched novel! Even though Song of the Nile is a very long novel, it is very fast-paced! I There is glitz and glamor, suspense, and romance! There were some flaws in this novel. I did not like some of the graphic scenes. It made me uncomfortable. I also found some parts of the novel to be very repetitive! Nevertheless, this novel is a must-read for those that like to read about Egyptian history and culture! I recommend this for fans of The Collector’s Daughter, The Oud Player of Cairo, and A Woman in Cairo!


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


      Here is the official book trailer for Song of the Nile:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

Blog Tour: Kathy Fischer-Brown and A Book Review of Lord Esterleigh's Daughter ( Book 1 of the Serpent Tooth Trilogy)

Please join Kathy Fischer-Brown as she tours virtually for her Serpent's Tooth trilogy - Lord Esterleigh's Daughter, Courting the Devil, & The Partisan’s Wife - and her novel Winter Fire. Blog tour includes a chance to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card. See below to enter. Lord Esterleigh’s Daughter: Book 1, The Serpent’s Tooth trilogy Publication Date: June 13, 2012 Publisher: Books We Love Ltd. Formats: eBook, Paperback Pages: 346 Source: This book was given to me as part of the Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tour   Synposis:  As a child, Anne Fairfield dreams of the father she never knew, the hero who died fighting the French and their Indian allies in a land across the sea. Her mother’s stories, and fantasies of her own devising, sustain and nurture her through a poor and lonely existence. Until one winter night, a strange man comes to call, and the life she has known comes crashing down like shattered glass. Forced to confront sordid truths, secrets and lies, t