The Copper Witch (Book One of the Broken Line Series) by Jessica Dall: A Book Review

The Copper Witch
Author: Jessica Dall
Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance
Publisher: 5 Prince Publishing and Books, LLC
Release Date: March 13th, 2014
Pages: 374
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Adela Tilden has always been more ambitious than her station in life might allow. A minor nobleman’s daughter on a failing barony, Adela’s prospects seem dire outside of marrying well-off. When Adela catches the eye of the crown prince, Edward, however, well-off doesn’t seem to be a problem. Thrown into a world of politics and intrigue, Adela might have found all the excitement she ever wanted—if she can manage to leave her past behind.

     My Review: Jessica Dall’s debut novel tells the story of the impoverished daughter of a baron who manages to catch the crown prince’s eye. She then rises from her humble beginnings to become the most powerful woman in the country. This is a tale of ambition, romance, and betrayal that will be sure to delight fans of soap operas. But overall, there is an intelligent woman, who will do anything to achieve her goals.

     Adela at first seems to be a carefree, independent, bold woman, who loves to speak her mind. However, as the novel progresses, she soon shows her true colors. She is vain. She cares a lot about her own beauty, and she judges and makes fun of others who are not as beautiful as her. She is also cold, calculating, power-hungry and ruthless. She does not care about the harm she causes in others, and leaves them on the roadside if they are of no use to her, for she is focused on her own goal. Adela is the person spinning the web and all the other characters become entangled in the web she spins. 

     I found that it is because of these reasons that I did not like Adela, the protagonist. Adela is a hard woman to like, and she is hard to trust. The story also focuses on Antony, who is Adela’s former art tutor and an admirer of Adela. Sometimes, reading from his perspective feels like a very nice reprieve because it takes the focus off of Adela for a little bit.

     Overall, it is a very well-written story. The setting is beautifully well--developed that helps us understand the plot and Adela’s motives. Although the main character is not likeable, the author makes up for it by having a fast-paced and interesting plot. She keeps the reader eager to read what happens next. Adela reminds me of other literary ambitious gold diggers like Holly Golightly, Scarlett O’Hara, and Becky Sharp. This book will appeal to readers who love historical fiction, royal romances, and a female gold digger as the protagonist. The book is also recommended for fans of Vanity Fair, Gone With The Wind, and Breakfast At Tiffany’s.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Lilli de Jong by Janet Benton: A Book Review

Blog Tour: Anne of the Island by L. M. Montgomery

Blog Tour: Sparks of Light by Janet B. Taylor