Skip to main content

The Copper Witch (Book One of the Broken Line Series) by Jessica Dall: A Book Review

The Copper Witch
Author: Jessica Dall
Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance
Publisher: 5 Prince Publishing and Books, LLC
Release Date: March 13th, 2014
Pages: 374
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Adela Tilden has always been more ambitious than her station in life might allow. A minor nobleman’s daughter on a failing barony, Adela’s prospects seem dire outside of marrying well-off. When Adela catches the eye of the crown prince, Edward, however, well-off doesn’t seem to be a problem. Thrown into a world of politics and intrigue, Adela might have found all the excitement she ever wanted—if she can manage to leave her past behind.

     My Review: Jessica Dall’s debut novel tells the story of the impoverished daughter of a baron who manages to catch the crown prince’s eye. She then rises from her humble beginnings to become the most powerful woman in the country. This is a tale of ambition, romance, and betrayal that will be sure to delight fans of soap operas. But overall, there is an intelligent woman, who will do anything to achieve her goals.

     Adela at first seems to be a carefree, independent, bold woman, who loves to speak her mind. However, as the novel progresses, she soon shows her true colors. She is vain. She cares a lot about her own beauty, and she judges and makes fun of others who are not as beautiful as her. She is also cold, calculating, power-hungry and ruthless. She does not care about the harm she causes in others, and leaves them on the roadside if they are of no use to her, for she is focused on her own goal. Adela is the person spinning the web and all the other characters become entangled in the web she spins. 

     I found that it is because of these reasons that I did not like Adela, the protagonist. Adela is a hard woman to like, and she is hard to trust. The story also focuses on Antony, who is Adela’s former art tutor and an admirer of Adela. Sometimes, reading from his perspective feels like a very nice reprieve because it takes the focus off of Adela for a little bit.

     Overall, it is a very well-written story. The setting is beautifully well--developed that helps us understand the plot and Adela’s motives. Although the main character is not likeable, the author makes up for it by having a fast-paced and interesting plot. She keeps the reader eager to read what happens next. Adela reminds me of other literary ambitious gold diggers like Holly Golightly, Scarlett O’Hara, and Becky Sharp. This book will appeal to readers who love historical fiction, royal romances, and a female gold digger as the protagonist. The book is also recommended for fans of Vanity Fair, Gone With The Wind, and Breakfast At Tiffany’s.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas