Skip to main content

The Copper Witch (Book One of the Broken Line Series) by Jessica Dall: A Book Review

The Copper Witch
Author: Jessica Dall
Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance
Publisher: 5 Prince Publishing and Books, LLC
Release Date: March 13th, 2014
Pages: 374
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Adela Tilden has always been more ambitious than her station in life might allow. A minor nobleman’s daughter on a failing barony, Adela’s prospects seem dire outside of marrying well-off. When Adela catches the eye of the crown prince, Edward, however, well-off doesn’t seem to be a problem. Thrown into a world of politics and intrigue, Adela might have found all the excitement she ever wanted—if she can manage to leave her past behind.

     My Review: Jessica Dall’s debut novel tells the story of the impoverished daughter of a baron who manages to catch the crown prince’s eye. She then rises from her humble beginnings to become the most powerful woman in the country. This is a tale of ambition, romance, and betrayal that will be sure to delight fans of soap operas. But overall, there is an intelligent woman, who will do anything to achieve her goals.

     Adela at first seems to be a carefree, independent, bold woman, who loves to speak her mind. However, as the novel progresses, she soon shows her true colors. She is vain. She cares a lot about her own beauty, and she judges and makes fun of others who are not as beautiful as her. She is also cold, calculating, power-hungry and ruthless. She does not care about the harm she causes in others, and leaves them on the roadside if they are of no use to her, for she is focused on her own goal. Adela is the person spinning the web and all the other characters become entangled in the web she spins. 

     I found that it is because of these reasons that I did not like Adela, the protagonist. Adela is a hard woman to like, and she is hard to trust. The story also focuses on Antony, who is Adela’s former art tutor and an admirer of Adela. Sometimes, reading from his perspective feels like a very nice reprieve because it takes the focus off of Adela for a little bit.

     Overall, it is a very well-written story. The setting is beautifully well--developed that helps us understand the plot and Adela’s motives. Although the main character is not likeable, the author makes up for it by having a fast-paced and interesting plot. She keeps the reader eager to read what happens next. Adela reminds me of other literary ambitious gold diggers like Holly Golightly, Scarlett O’Hara, and Becky Sharp. This book will appeal to readers who love historical fiction, royal romances, and a female gold digger as the protagonist. The book is also recommended for fans of Vanity Fair, Gone With The Wind, and Breakfast At Tiffany’s.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a