Blog Tour: The Winemakers: A Novel of Wine and Secrets by Jan Moran: A Book Review

The Winemakers: A Novel of Wine and Secrets by Jan Moran
Publication Date: April 5, 2016
St. Martin’s Griffin
Hardcover, Paperback, eBook; 368 Pages
ISBN: 9781250091185
Genre: Historical Fiction/Romance
Source: This book was given to me by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: 1956: When Caterina Rosetta inherits a cottage in the countryside of Italy from a grandmother she’s never known, she discovers a long-buried family secret — a secret so devastating, it threatens the future of everything her mother has worked for. Many years before, her mother’s hard-won dreams of staking her family’s claim in the vineyards of California came to fruition; but as an old murder comes to light, and Caterina uncovers a tragic secret that may destroy the man she loves, she realizes her happiness will depend on revealing the truth of her mother’s buried past.

     From author Jan Moran comes The Winemakers, a sweeping, romantic novel that will hold you in its grasp until the last delicious sip.

     My Review: Caterina is a single mother who wants to start a new life with her baby daughter. When she finds out that she has inherited a house in Italy, she is surprised and realizes that her mother, with whom she has a strained relationship, has been keeping secrets from her. However, she is intrigued by this prospect and finds this opportunity to be irresistible. When she leaves to go to Italy, she finds out that her mother has kept other secrets from her as well. As she begins to find the truth in her mother’s past, she learns the difficult circumstances her mother had faced and the love her mother has for her.

     I really liked both Caterina, and her mother, Ava.  Both of them were really strong women. They were both fierce, intelligent, and determined. They each faced hardships and had to make hard choices. At first, while Caterina is mad at her mother because her mother wants to make choices for Caterina rather than letting Caterina make them herself, she soon comes to understand her. While reading this novel, I found that both of them were alike. They were both stubborn, persistent, and never gave up hope of finding their own happiness. They had a fierce love for their daughters and their need to protect them. I found them to be very fascinating characters and easy to relate with. Ava did have secrets, but she had good reasons for keeping them from her daughter.

     Overall, this story is about family, love, secrets, misunderstandings, and choices. The story is a touching mother-daughter story. I did find the story to be a bit drawn-out and predictable. I also found some of the supporting characters to be one-dimensional. However, the characters of Ava and Caterina were enough to make me stay invested in the story. I did find the novel to be well-written with vivid descriptions. I also like the settings of the Napa Valley and Tuscany Italy. Not only is The Winemakers a great summer read, but it will also appeal to fans of Lisa Jewell, Beatriz Williams, and Kate Morton.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


Praise:



“Absolutely adored THE WINEMAKERS. Beautifully layered and utterly compelling. Intriguing from start to finish. A story not to be missed.” –Jane Porter, USA Today and NYT Bestselling author of It’s You and The Good Woman

“Wildly romantic and utterly compelling, THE WINEMAKERS is full of family secrets and gorgeous descriptions of the Italian countryside and the vineyards of the Napa Valley. I was completely swept away!”  – Anita Hughes, author of Rome In Love

“Told with exquisite elegance and style, THE WINEMAKERS is a dazzling tale rich with family secrets, fine wine, and romance that will leave you breathless.”  – Juliette Sobanet, author of Sleeping with Paris





About The Author

     
     JAN MORAN is the author of the novel Scent of Triumph, and Fabulous Fragrances I and II, which earned spots on the Rizzoli Bookstore bestseller list. A fragrance and beauty expert, she has been featured in numerous publications and on television and radio, including CNN, Instyle, and O Magazine, and has spoken before prestigious organizations, including The American Society of Perfumers. She earned her MBA from Harvard Business school and attended the University of California at Los Angeles Extension Writers’ Program.

     For more information visit Jan’s website. You can also find her on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Goodreads.


Giveaway


     To win a $25 Gift Card to Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or iTunes, please enter the giveaway via the GLEAM form below.
Rules
– Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on April 25th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
– Giveaway is open internationally.
– Only one entry per household.
– All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspect of fraud is decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion
– Winner has 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen.





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Little Mother of Russia: A Biography of Empress Marie Feodorovna (1847-1928) by Coryne Hall: A Book Review

Blog Tour: Interview with Alex Lidell

Blog Tour: Ballad of the Beanstalk by Amy McNulty