Blog Tour: Air and Ash (Tides #1) by Alex Lidell: A Book Review

AIR AND ASH (Tides #1)
Author: Alex Lidell
Pub. Date: May 2, 2017
Publisher: Danger Bearing Press
Pages: 284
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Find it: Amazon, B&N, Goodreads
Genre: YA Fantasy/Steampunk
Source: This book was given to me by Rockstar Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Master and Commander meets Tamora Pierce in a seafaring adventure of duty, love, magic, and a princess’s quest to protect her kingdom on her own terms.

     After a lifetime of training, seventeen-year-old Princess Nile Greysik, a lieutenant on the prestigious Ashing navy flagship, sails into battle with one vital mission—and fails.

     Barred from the sea and facing a political marriage, Nile masquerades as a common sailor on the first ship she can find. With a cowardly captain, incompetent crew, and a cruel, too-handsome first officer intent on making her life a living hell, Nile must hide her identity while trying to turn the sorry frigate battleworthy. Worse, a terrifying and forbidden magic now tingles in Nile’s blood. If anyone catches wind of who Nile is or what she can do, her life is over.

     But when disaster threatens the ship, Nile may have no choice but to unleash the truth that will curse her future.

     AIR AND ASH is the thrilling first installment of the TIDES series. Recommended for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Tamora Pierce, and Naomi Novik.

     My Review: Princess Nile is a lieutenant on the Ashing naval flagship. On a mission, the ship sails into battle and fails. Discharged from the Navy, Princess Nile finds herself facing a political marriage. She decides to run away by pretending to be a common sailor and works on the first ship she can find. However, her problems are far from over. She must deal with a greedy captain, a mean officer, and a hostile crew. The biggest problem that Nile faces is that she must hide her identity and her magic powers.

  Nile is a loveable character. She is very relatable. She is a compassionate woman who wants to save her brother. She is stubborn and majestic. While she is not strong physically, she is nevertheless a determined heroine. She never gives up. Thus, she is tough on the inside. At times, she can be disrespectful to her superiors. She believes that she knows what s best and this proves to be her worst flaw. She is also very judgmental and gullible at times. She acts before she thinks. Still, I love this hardworking princess, and I look forward to her next adventure!

   Overall, this book is about family love, love, and mistakes. The characters were engaging, and all of them are very likable. The world-building was complex, but very creative. There were some violent scenes in this book. Thus, I recommend it for mature teens sixteen and up. I was a bit disappointed in how the book ended. It was very abrupt and left in a cliffhanger. Still, I can’t wait for the sequel! Air and Ash is full of magic, adventure, romance, and is very action-packed! Readers will love this feisty heroine and will devour this book in one sitting! I recommend this novel for fans of Shadowfell, The Black Mage, and Daughter of the Pirate King.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


About Alex:



     Alex Lidell is an avid horseback rider, paramedic and ice cream addict. Born in Russia, Alex learned English in elementary school, where a thoughtful librarian placed a copy of Tamora Pierce’s ALANNA in Alex’s hands. In addition to becoming the first English book Alex read for fun, ALANNA started Alex’s lifelong love for YA fantasy books. Alex’s debut novel, THE CADET OF TILDOR, was an Amazon Breakthrough Novel Awards finalist. Her second book AIR AND ASH releases in May 2017.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram


Giveaway Details:


     1 winner will receive a finished copy of AIR AND ASH & a hardcover of A COURT OF WINGS AND RUIN by Sarah J. Maas, INTERNATIONAL.




Tour Schedule:


Week One:

5/1/2017- Wandering Bark Books- Excerpt
5/1/2017- Twinning for Books- Review
5/2/2017- Don't Judge, Read- Interview
5/3/2017- Fiction Fare- Review
5/3/2017- Book Princess Reviews- Review
5/4/2017- Two Chicks on Books- Interview
5/5/2017- Margie's Must Reads- Review
5/5/2017- Angelic Book Reviews- Review

Week Two:

5/8/2017- BookHounds YA- Guest Post
5/8/2017- Book Briefs- Review
5/9/2017- A Backwards Story- Interview
5/9/2017- Mundie Moms- Review
5/10/2017- Book Sniffers Anonymous- Excerpt
5/10/2017- J.R.'s Book Reviews- Review
5/11/2017- Bibliobibuli YA- Review
5/11/2017- Booklove- Review
5/12/2017- Reese's Reviews- Review
5/12/2017-A Dream Within A Dream- Review



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Rome's Christian Empress: Galla Placidia Rules at the Twilight of the Empire by Joyce E. Salisbury: A Book Review

Blog Tour: The Duchess Quest (Jordania #1) by C. K. Brooke

Blog Tour: The Other Alcott by Elise Hooper: A Book Review