Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Air and Ash (Tides #1) by Alex Lidell: A Book Review

AIR AND ASH (Tides #1)
Author: Alex Lidell
Pub. Date: May 2, 2017
Publisher: Danger Bearing Press
Pages: 284
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Find it: Amazon, B&N, Goodreads
Genre: YA Fantasy/Steampunk
Source: This book was given to me by Rockstar Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Master and Commander meets Tamora Pierce in a seafaring adventure of duty, love, magic, and a princess’s quest to protect her kingdom on her own terms.

     After a lifetime of training, seventeen-year-old Princess Nile Greysik, a lieutenant on the prestigious Ashing navy flagship, sails into battle with one vital mission—and fails.

     Barred from the sea and facing a political marriage, Nile masquerades as a common sailor on the first ship she can find. With a cowardly captain, incompetent crew, and a cruel, too-handsome first officer intent on making her life a living hell, Nile must hide her identity while trying to turn the sorry frigate battleworthy. Worse, a terrifying and forbidden magic now tingles in Nile’s blood. If anyone catches wind of who Nile is or what she can do, her life is over.

     But when disaster threatens the ship, Nile may have no choice but to unleash the truth that will curse her future.

     AIR AND ASH is the thrilling first installment of the TIDES series. Recommended for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Tamora Pierce, and Naomi Novik.

     My Review: Princess Nile is a lieutenant on the Ashing naval flagship. On a mission, the ship sails into battle and fails. Discharged from the Navy, Princess Nile finds herself facing a political marriage. She decides to run away by pretending to be a common sailor and works on the first ship she can find. However, her problems are far from over. She must deal with a greedy captain, a mean officer, and a hostile crew. The biggest problem that Nile faces is that she must hide her identity and her magic powers.

  Nile is a loveable character. She is very relatable. She is a compassionate woman who wants to save her brother. She is stubborn and majestic. While she is not strong physically, she is nevertheless a determined heroine. She never gives up. Thus, she is tough on the inside. At times, she can be disrespectful to her superiors. She believes that she knows what s best and this proves to be her worst flaw. She is also very judgmental and gullible at times. She acts before she thinks. Still, I love this hardworking princess, and I look forward to her next adventure!

   Overall, this book is about family love, love, and mistakes. The characters were engaging, and all of them are very likable. The world-building was complex, but very creative. There were some violent scenes in this book. Thus, I recommend it for mature teens sixteen and up. I was a bit disappointed in how the book ended. It was very abrupt and left in a cliffhanger. Still, I can’t wait for the sequel! Air and Ash is full of magic, adventure, romance, and is very action-packed! Readers will love this feisty heroine and will devour this book in one sitting! I recommend this novel for fans of Shadowfell, The Black Mage, and Daughter of the Pirate King.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


About Alex:



     Alex Lidell is an avid horseback rider, paramedic and ice cream addict. Born in Russia, Alex learned English in elementary school, where a thoughtful librarian placed a copy of Tamora Pierce’s ALANNA in Alex’s hands. In addition to becoming the first English book Alex read for fun, ALANNA started Alex’s lifelong love for YA fantasy books. Alex’s debut novel, THE CADET OF TILDOR, was an Amazon Breakthrough Novel Awards finalist. Her second book AIR AND ASH releases in May 2017.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram


Giveaway Details:


     1 winner will receive a finished copy of AIR AND ASH & a hardcover of A COURT OF WINGS AND RUIN by Sarah J. Maas, INTERNATIONAL.




Tour Schedule:


Week One:

5/1/2017- Wandering Bark Books- Excerpt
5/1/2017- Twinning for Books- Review
5/2/2017- Don't Judge, Read- Interview
5/3/2017- Fiction Fare- Review
5/3/2017- Book Princess Reviews- Review
5/4/2017- Two Chicks on Books- Interview
5/5/2017- Margie's Must Reads- Review
5/5/2017- Angelic Book Reviews- Review

Week Two:

5/8/2017- BookHounds YA- Guest Post
5/8/2017- Book Briefs- Review
5/9/2017- A Backwards Story- Interview
5/9/2017- Mundie Moms- Review
5/10/2017- Book Sniffers Anonymous- Excerpt
5/10/2017- J.R.'s Book Reviews- Review
5/11/2017- Bibliobibuli YA- Review
5/11/2017- Booklove- Review
5/12/2017- Reese's Reviews- Review
5/12/2017-A Dream Within A Dream- Review



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m