An Incomplete Revenge (Maisie Dobbs #5) by Jacqueline Winspear: A Book Review

An Incomplete Revenge (Maisie Dobbs #5)
Author: Jacqueline Winspear
Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Release Date: 2010
Pages: 319
Source: My State Public Library
Synopsis: In her fifth outing, Maisie Dobbs, the extraordinary Psychologist and Investigator, delves into a strange series of crimes in a small rural community.

     With the country in the grip of economic malaise, and worried about her business, Maisie Dobbs is relieved to accept an apparently straightforward assignment from an old friend to investigate certain matters concerning a potential land purchase. Her inquiries take her to a picturesque village in Kent during the hop-picking season, but beneath its pastoral surface she finds evidence that something is amiss. Mysterious fires erupt in the village with alarming regularity, and a series of petty crimes suggests a darker criminal element at work. As Maisie discovers, the villagers are bitterly prejudiced against outsiders who flock to Kent at harvest time—even more troubling, they seem possessed by the legacy of a wartime Zeppelin raid. Maisie grows increasingly suspicious of a peculiar secrecy that shrouds the village, and ultimately she must draw on all her finely honed skills of detection to solve one of her most intriguing cases.

     Rich with Jacqueline Winspear's trademark period detail, this installment of the bestselling series, An Incomplete Revenge, is gripping, atmospheric, and utterly enthralling.

     My Review: Maisie is hired by James Compton to investigate matters concerning a potential land purchase in a small town in Kent. However, when Maisie arrives, she finds no welcome from the villagers. She learns that there is a dark criminal at work because there have been  fires throughout the town. As Maisie tries to find the arson, she learns that there was once a murder that happened during a zeppelin attack.

   In this novel, we get to learn more of Maisie’s heritage. We learn that her mother was once a gypsy. Therefore, learning about Maisie’s heritage was intriguing. Maisie was very likable in this novel. She is compassionate and smart. She’s very determined to get to the bottom of the cases. Thus, I really liked seeing more of Maisie’s good side. I also liked that she didn’t have any relationships in this novel because we get to focus on Maisie personally rather than her drama.

   Overall, this book was about prejudice, secrets, and lies. The mystery was not as compelling as the other cases.  However, it was very sad. I also like Maisie’s interactions with the visitors. I thought that the setting of a small town was very realistic and is one of the novel’s best features. One thing I did not like about the book was that the ending left me with an empty feeling. I also thought that the supporting characters made very few appearances in An Incomplete Revenge. I would have liked more from her father and James. Still, I did like the gypsy aspects in this novel. Thus, this was a fun, light read! I cannot wait to read the next novel, Among the Mad! I recommend the Maisie Dobbs series for fans of Charles Todd, Susan Elia MacNeal, and Laurie R. King! This is definitely a series you don’t want to miss!

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Ballad of the Beanstalk by Amy McNulty

Blog Tour: Twilight Empress: A Novel of Imperial Rome (The Theodosian Women #1) by Faith L. Justice: A Book Review

Empress of the East: How a European Slave Girl Became Queen of the Ottoman Empire by Leslie Peirce: A Book Review