Skip to main content

An Incomplete Revenge (Maisie Dobbs #5) by Jacqueline Winspear: A Book Review

An Incomplete Revenge (Maisie Dobbs #5)
Author: Jacqueline Winspear
Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Release Date: 2010
Pages: 319
Source: My State Public Library
Synopsis: In her fifth outing, Maisie Dobbs, the extraordinary Psychologist and Investigator, delves into a strange series of crimes in a small rural community.

     With the country in the grip of economic malaise, and worried about her business, Maisie Dobbs is relieved to accept an apparently straightforward assignment from an old friend to investigate certain matters concerning a potential land purchase. Her inquiries take her to a picturesque village in Kent during the hop-picking season, but beneath its pastoral surface she finds evidence that something is amiss. Mysterious fires erupt in the village with alarming regularity, and a series of petty crimes suggests a darker criminal element at work. As Maisie discovers, the villagers are bitterly prejudiced against outsiders who flock to Kent at harvest time—even more troubling, they seem possessed by the legacy of a wartime Zeppelin raid. Maisie grows increasingly suspicious of a peculiar secrecy that shrouds the village, and ultimately she must draw on all her finely honed skills of detection to solve one of her most intriguing cases.

     Rich with Jacqueline Winspear's trademark period detail, this installment of the bestselling series, An Incomplete Revenge, is gripping, atmospheric, and utterly enthralling.

     My Review: Maisie is hired by James Compton to investigate matters concerning a potential land purchase in a small town in Kent. However, when Maisie arrives, she finds no welcome from the villagers. She learns that there is a dark criminal at work because there have been  fires throughout the town. As Maisie tries to find the arson, she learns that there was once a murder that happened during a zeppelin attack.

   In this novel, we get to learn more of Maisie’s heritage. We learn that her mother was once a gypsy. Therefore, learning about Maisie’s heritage was intriguing. Maisie was very likable in this novel. She is compassionate and smart. She’s very determined to get to the bottom of the cases. Thus, I really liked seeing more of Maisie’s good side. I also liked that she didn’t have any relationships in this novel because we get to focus on Maisie personally rather than her drama.

   Overall, this book was about prejudice, secrets, and lies. The mystery was not as compelling as the other cases.  However, it was very sad. I also like Maisie’s interactions with the visitors. I thought that the setting of a small town was very realistic and is one of the novel’s best features. One thing I did not like about the book was that the ending left me with an empty feeling. I also thought that the supporting characters made very few appearances in An Incomplete Revenge. I would have liked more from her father and James. Still, I did like the gypsy aspects in this novel. Thus, this was a fun, light read! I cannot wait to read the next novel, Among the Mad! I recommend the Maisie Dobbs series for fans of Charles Todd, Susan Elia MacNeal, and Laurie R. King! This is definitely a series you don’t want to miss!

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,