Skip to main content

The Secret Diary of a Princess: A Novel of Marie Antoinette by Melanie Clegg: A Book Review

The Secret Diary of a Princess: A Novel of Marie Antoinette
Author: Melanie Clegg
Genre: YA, Historical Fiction
Publisher: Madame Guillotine
Release Date: 2014
Pages: 250
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Synopsis: The dramatic and often tragic years of Marie Antoinette’s early life, told in her own words. This book for young adult readers follows her privileged childhood and adolescence in the beautiful palaces of Vienna as the youngest and least important of the daughters of the all powerful Empress Maria Theresa of Austria and invites the reader to share the long journey, both emotional and physical that ended with her marriage to the Dauphin Louis of France at Versailles.

     This is the unforgettable story of a charming, fun loving and frivolous young girl, destined for greatness, coming to age in one of the most magnificent and opulent courts that the world has ever seen.

     My Review: The Secret Diary of a Princess tells the story of the early years of Marie Antoinette in diary form. Maria Antonia is the youngest daughter of Maria Theresa. She has been neglected by her mother. However, Maria Antonia has a carefree life with her older sister Maria Carolina. When an opportunity for a marriage alliance between France and Austria arises, Maria Antonia is thrust into the political spotlight. Maria Antonia, unused to the attention being showered upon her, tries her best to adjust to the role of being the Dauphine of France.

    Maria Antonia is a carefree child. She is lazy when it comes to her academics. She would rather play rather than learn to write well. Maria Antonia is often described as a prankster. She likes to play jokes on her governess. Therefore, Maria Antonia was a very playful young girl. I really thought that Melanie Clegg did an excellent job in portraying Marie Antoinette in her early years. The reader can see how innocent and naive she was. The reader will also see how unprepared she was for the role of Queen of France. Marie Antoinette was never taught to behave like a mature young woman during her formative years, and it leads to her ultimate downfall.

    Overall, The Secret Diary of a Princess shows us that Marie Antoinette’s early years were just as tragic. She had been neglected by her mother. She had to deal with the deaths of her father and sister. She also had to adjust to her life after her favorite sister left for Naples and to prepare for her role of Dauphine. Marie Antoinette’s life was no fairy tale. I also thought that the novel did a great job in portraying Marie Antoinette’s other siblings. Maria Theresa’s family is so large that when reading about Marie Antoinette, it was hard to keep track of them. However, the author fleshed out their personalities so that I had no problem telling the siblings apart. The only thing I didn’t like about this book was that the drama of the Habsburg family was a bit too drawn out. Still, The Secret Diary of a Princess is a must-read for fans of Marie Antoinette! The novel is so very well-written that it left me anxious for more! Hopefully, the author will write a sequel! I recommend this book for fans of Becoming Marie Antoinette, The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette, and The Royal Diaries: Marie Antoinette.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to