Posts

Showing posts from June, 2018

Loving Luther by Allison Pittman: A Book Review

Image
Loving Luther
Author: Allison Pittman
Genre: Christian, Historical Fiction
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers
Release Date: 2017
Pages: 431 
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Germany, 1505

     In the dark of night, Katharina von Bora says the bravest good-bye a six-year-old can muster and walks away as the heavy convent gate closes behind her.

     Though the cold walls offer no comfort, Katharina soon finds herself calling the convent her home. God, her father. This, her life. She takes her vows—a choice more practical than pious—but in time, a seed of discontent is planted by the smuggled writings of a rebellious excommunicated priest named Martin Luther. Their message? That Katharina is subject to God, and no one else. Could the Lord truly desire more for her than this life of servitude?

     In her first true step of faith, Katharina leaves the only life she has ever known. But the freedom she has craved comes with a price, and she finds she has trade…

Catherine of Aragon: An Intimate Life of Henry VIII's True Wife by Amy License: A Book Review

Image
Catherine of Aragon: An Intimate Life of Henry VIII's True Wife
Author: Amy License
Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography
Publisher: Amberley Publishing
Release Date: 2017
Pages: 560 
Source: Personal Collection
Synopsis: Catherine of Aragon continues to fascinate readers 500 years after she became Henry VIII's first queen. Her life was one of passion and determination, of suffering and hope, but ultimately it is a tragic love story, as circumstances conspired against her. Having lost her first husband, Henry's elder brother Prince Arthur, she endured years of ill health and penury, to make a dazzling second match in Henry VIII. There is no doubt that she was Henry's true love, compatible with him in every respect and, for years, she presided over a majestic court as the personification of his ideal woman. However, Catherine’s body failed her in an age when fertility was a prerequisite of political stability. When it became clear that she could no longer bear children, the ki…

Enchantress of Numbers by Jennifer Chiaverini: A Book Review

Image
Enchantress of Numbers: A Novel of Ada Lovelace
Author: Jennifer Chiaverini
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Dutton
Release Date: 2017
Pages: 446
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Chiaverini illuminates the life of Ada Byron King, Countess of Lovelace—Lord Byron's daughter and the world's first computer progammer.

     The only legitimate child of Lord Byron, the most brilliant, revered, and scandalous of the Romantic poets, Ada was destined for fame long before her birth. But her mathematician mother, estranged from Ada's infamous and destructively passionate father, is determined to save her only child from her perilous Byron heritage. Banishing fairy tales and make-believe from the nursery, Ada’s mother provides her daughter with a rigorous education grounded in mathematics and science. Any troubling spark of imagination—or worse yet, passion or poetry—is promptly extinguished. Or so her mother…

Blog Tour: Secrets of the Island by Linda Hughes

Image
Secrets of the Island by Linda HughesPublication Date: May 15, 2018 Deeds Publishing Paperback and eBook; 268 Pages Genre: Historical Fiction


Synopsis: Do you think you know your heritage? Think again. Dark secrets lurk below the surface of every family tree, as the Sullivan clan discovers in this story about living in the aftermath of generations of deceit.

     When Red Cross nurse Harriet escapes the trauma of World War II and sequesters herself in her grandfather’s cottage on Mackinac Island, she has no inkling about her heritage. But as one shocking clue after another surface – disclosing lies, corruption, madness, and murder – she realizes her family isn’t what, or who, it seems. She’s not the first to hold unspeakable secrets in her soul.

     Can she conquer her trials and tribulations, like some of them did? Or will she be defeated by life, like others?

Secrets of the Island, the second book in the Secrets trilogy, is a tale of romantic suspense that begs the question: what secrets…

Stars in Their Eyes by Pema Donyo: A Book Review

Image
Stars in Their Eyes
Author: Pema Donyo
Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance
Publisher: Crimson Romance
Release Date: 2017
Pages: 120
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: This beautifully sweeping story of dueling ambitions and restless hearts in the roaring twenties will captivate fans who loved the romance of the Oscar-winning film La La Land and Paula McLain's bestselling novel The Paris Wife.

     The bohemian salons and wild cabarets of 1920s Paris are just the place for Owen Matthews to pursue his writing and make the right connections in the literary scene. But six years after leaving Los Angeles and the love of his life, he still strives for success. Penning a new screenplay for his friend’s film might just help keep the lights on a bit longer in the City of Lights.

     Iris Wong is used to sacrifice and rejection as an Asian-American actress. She’s determined to take full advantage of her new leading role in a Parisian silent film—and the director’…

Jane Seymour: The Haunted Queen (Six Tudor Queens #3) by Alison Weir: A Book Review

Image
Jane Seymour: The Haunted Queen (Six Tudor Queens #3)
Author: Alison Weir
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Ballantine
Release Date: May 15, 2018
Pages: 557
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Acclaimed author and historian Alison Weir continues her epic Six Tudor Queens series with this third captivating novel, which brings to life Jane Seymour, King Henry VIII’s most cherished bride and mother of his only legitimate male heir.

     Ever since she was a child, Jane has longed for a cloistered life as a nun. But her large noble family has other plans, and as an adult, Jane is invited to the King’s court to serve as lady-in-waiting to Queen Katherine of Aragon. The devout Katherine shows kindness to all her ladies, almost like a second mother, which makes rumors of Henry’s lustful pursuit of Anne Boleyn—also lady-in-waiting to the queen—all the more shocking.  For Jane, the betrayal triggers memories of a haunting incident that shaped her beliefs about ma…

The Orphan's Wish (Hagenheim #8) by Melanie Dickerson: A Book Review

Image
The Orphan's Wish (Hagenheim #8)
Author: Melanie Dickerson
Genre: Ya, Historical Fiction, Christian
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Release Date: June 26, 2018
Pages: 351
Source: This book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: From New York Times bestselling author Melanie Dickerson comes an inspired retelling of the beloved folk tale Aladdin.

     Orphaned and alone, Aladdin travels from the streets of his Arab homeland to a strange, faraway place. Growing up in an orphanage, he meets young Lady Kirstyn, whose father is the powerful Duke of Hagenheim. Despite the difference in their stations, Aladdin quickly becomes Kirstyn’s favorite companion, and their childhood friendship grows into a bond that time and opposition cannot break.

     Even as a child, Aladdin works hard, learning all he can from his teachers. Through his integrity, intelligence, and sheer tenacity, he earns a position serving as the duke’s steward. But that isn’t enough to erase the shame…

Guest Post by Mary Sharratt: Writing Women Back Into History

Image
Today's guest writer is Mary Sharratt. She is the author of many best-selling novels, including Illuminations, The Dark Lady's Mask, and Daughters of the Witching Hill. She has recently published Ecstasy, a novel about Gustav Mahler's wife, Alma. Mrs. Sharratt writes about her motivation behind her biographical novels, and celebrates the lives of often forgotten or overlooked women in history. I hope you enjoy this insightful article about rediscovering and writing about the lives of some fascinating women! Thank you, Mrs. Sharratt, for taking the time for writing this article!



Writing Women Back into Historyby Mary Sharratt
     I’m on a mission to write overlooked women back into history, because, to a large extent, women have been written out of history. Those who did stand out and seize their power are often the most maligned. As Laurel Thatcher Ulrich observed, well behaved women seldom make history.
     History was always my favorite subject in school. I can’t rem…

Blog Tour: Chasing the Wind by C. C. Humphreys: A Book Review

Image
Chasing the Wind by C.C. HumphreysPublication Date: June 5, 2018 Paperback & eBook; 320 Pages Genre: Historical/Women's Fiction/Mystery Source: This book was given to me by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.


 Synopsis: Smuggler. Smoker. Aviatrix. Thief. The dynamic Roxy Loewen is all these things and more, in this riveting and gorgeous historical fiction novel for readers of Paula McLain, Roberta Rich, Kate Morton and Jacqueline Winspear.

     You should never fall in love with a flyer. You should only fall in love with flight.

     That’s what Roxy Loewen always thought, until she falls for fellow pilot Jocco Zomack as they run guns into Ethiopia. Jocco may be a godless commie, but his father is a leading art dealer and he’s found the original of Bruegel’s famous painting, the Fall of Icarus. The trouble is, it’s in Spain, a country slipping fast into civil war. The money’s better than good–if Roxy can just get the painting to Berlin and back o…

Blog Tour: The Girl Who Knew Da Vinci by Belle Ami: A Book Review

Image
THE GIRL WHO KNEW DA VINCI Belle Ami Series: Out of Time Series Book 1
Genre: Paranormal Romance, Thriller
Publisher: Tema N Merback
Publication Date: May 31, 2018
Source: This book was given to me by Book Unleashed Blog Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: What she knows could kill her. In the spirit of The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown and Shadows of the Stone Benders by K. Patrick Donoghue The Girl Who Knew Da Vinci by Belle Ami unravels an unforgettable mystery.      Three destinies, one remarkable painting.      Will her visions lead her to the truth?      Art historian Angela Renatus is haunted by dreams of Leonardo da Vinci and a mysterious painting of Giuliano Medici and his mistress Fioretta Gorini. A painting that, as far as the world knows, doesn’t exist. Compelled by her visions, Angela is determined to find out the truth.      When Angela is contacted by art detective, Alex Caine, she’s shocked to learn that he too is seeking the same painting. Alex’s client, a wealthy Germ…