Skip to main content

Ecstasy by Mary Sharratt: A Book Review

Ecstasy
Author: Mary Sharratt
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Release Date: April 10, 2018
Pages: 405
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: In the glittering hotbed of turn-of-the-twentieth-century Vienna, one woman’s life would define and defy an era.

     Gustav Klimt gave Alma her first kiss. Gustav Mahler fell in love with her at first sight and proposed only a few weeks later. Bauhaus founder Walter Gropius abandoned all reason to pursue her. Poet and novelist Franz Werfel described her as “one of the very few magical women that exist.” But who was this woman who brought these most eminent of men to their knees? In Ecstasy, Mary Sharratt finally gives one of the most controversial and complex women of her time the center stage. 

     Coming of age in the midst of a creative and cultural whirlwind, young, beautiful Alma Schindler yearns to make her mark as a composer. A brand-new era of possibility for women is dawning and she is determined to make the most of it. But Alma loses her heart to the great composer Gustav Mahler, nearly twenty years her senior. He demands that she give up her music as a condition for their marriage. Torn by her love and in awe of his genius, how will she remain true to herself and her artistic passion?

     Part cautionary tale, part triumph of the feminist spirit, Ecstasy reveals the true Alma Mahler: composer, author, daughter, sister, mother, wife, lover, and muse.

      My Review: Ecstasy tells the story of Gustav Mahler’s wife, Alma. Even though Alma is slowly receiving her due as a composer, she is mostly known for her marriages and romances with famous men such as Gustav Klimt, Alexander Zemlinsky, Walter Gropius, Franz Werfel and Oskar Kokoschka. In this novel, Alma Mahler is a socialite who yearns to be a composer. She is courted by many men. Eventually, she falls in love with and marries Gustav Mahler. However, Gustav Mahler demands her to give up her dream of becoming a composer. Alma is torn between duty to her husband and her own ambition.

    Alma Mahler was a hard character to connect to. While the novel tried to state that Alma was passionate in her music, it seemed that music was not her priority as were the many romances that she experienced before she married Gustav Mahler. She was very flighty, immature, and selfish. She seemed interested more in jumping from one man to another so quickly before you could snap your fingers than she was about her career and dreams. Therefore, I did not buy the author’s statement about her being a dedicated artist.

   The novel did get more interesting, and I found Alma more relatable by the time she married Gustav Mahler. Gustav Mahler tells her that she can only marry her on the condition that she gives up pursuing her dreams as a musician and composer. This is because there could only be one composer in the family. Because Alma loves him, she agrees, contemplating a peaceful and happy life with Gustav. In this marriage, Alma really tries to become her own woman. She tries to be a loving and devoted wife to Gustav while having the desire to fulfill her own dreams. The marriage between Gustav and Alma was very toxic. Gustav did not seem to love Alma. He was very controlling, narcissistic, and cold. I could understand and empathize with Alma why she cheated on him during her marriage. Thus, Alma was a very vulnerable character who strived to find personal happiness.

  Overall, this novel did not do justice to Alma as portraying her as a female composer in a man’s world. Rather, it pays more attention to Alma’s love life than her accomplishments. I thought that most of the characters were flat and lacking in depth. There were also many scenes that made for uncomfortable reading. Despite these flaws, the novel was very well-written and heavily researched. This novel is perfect for fans of Rodin’s Lover, Ophelia’s Muse, and Madame Picasso. Still, I’ll be on a lookout for a novel in which Alma truly shines and her talent is finally given her due.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas