Skip to main content

Blog Tour: The Girl Who Knew Da Vinci by Belle Ami: A Book Review



THE GIRL WHO KNEW DA VINCI
Belle Ami
Series: Out of Time Series Book 1
Genre: Paranormal Romance, Thriller
Publisher: Tema N Merback
Publication Date: May 31, 2018
Source: This book was given to me by Book Unleashed Blog Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

What she knows could kill her.
    In the spirit of The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown and Shadows of the Stone Benders by K. Patrick Donoghue The Girl Who Knew Da Vinci by Belle Ami unravels an unforgettable mystery.
     Three destinies, one remarkable painting.
     Will her visions lead her to the truth?
     Art historian Angela Renatus is haunted by dreams of Leonardo da Vinci and a mysterious painting of Giuliano Medici and his mistress Fioretta Gorini. A painting that, as far as the world knows, doesn’t exist. Compelled by her visions, Angela is determined to find out the truth.
     When Angela is contacted by art detective, Alex Caine, she’s shocked to learn that he too is seeking the same painting. Alex’s client, a wealthy German financier, is determined to clear the name of his late uncle, Gerard Jaeger, an art historian, who went missing in Florence, during World War II. In letters written before his disappearance, the historian describes his love affair with a beautiful young Italian woman named Sophia Caro, and the discovery of an extraordinary painting by the great master himself—a painting depicting Giuliano and Fioretta.
     Alex and Angela journey to Florence in search of the priceless treasure. Is it a lost da Vinci, potentially worth hundreds of millions of dollars, or a wild goose-chase that will only lead to a dead end? But someone else is searching for the illusive painting—Alberto Scordato is a powerful man in the art world and a sociopath who will stop at nothing to get what he wants, even murder. Scordato knows something about Angela that even she doesn’t know, something that could threaten both Angela and Alex’s lives, forcing them into the crosshairs of fate.

My Review:


     Angela is an art historian who specializes in the Renaissance. One day, she receives mysterious dreams of Leonardo da Vinci and the mysterious painting he created of Giuliano de Medici and his mistress, Fioretta. It is assumed that this painting does not exist. However, Angela sets out to discover the truth. She is joined by Alex, an art detective, who is also after the painting. As they begin their hunt, she learns that there are others who are also seeking the lost painting. In a race to get to the painting, can Angela and Alex get their hands on it first?

   Angela was a very flat and passive character. Throughout most of the novel, she is unconscious. She experiences her past lives as Fioretta in Renaissance Italy and Sophia in WWII. When she is awake, she spends most of her time making love to Alex rather than searching for the mysterious painting. Therefore, she did not do much in the novel. She did not have much of a personality and was a Mary Sue. She was mostly a damsel-in-distress.

  Sophia was also not given much to do in the novel except that she hid the painting during WWII. The character who I thought was the most interesting was Fioretta. She was feisty, sarcastic, and romantic. However, she did not have many chapters in the novel. I would have loved if the star-crossed love story between Giuliano and Fioretta was more developed and focused on because their romance started the course in the novel. Leonardo da Vinci is briefly featured in the novel, and I would have liked there to be more interactions with Leonardo because the title would have made more sense.

  Overall, this book is filled with romance, mystery, and ghosts. The main love interest was bland, and the villains were cartoonish and lacking in depth. The Girl Who Knew Da Vinci moved at a slow pace and did not feel much like a thriller. It does not pick up until the very end. Still, I was drawn to the reincarnation element in the story and thought that it was well done. I also liked the historical aspects, most notably Fioretta’s storyline, in the novel. I thought the author had done her homework. I recommend this novel for fans of The Memory Painter, Juliet, and I, Mona Lisa.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Purchase Links

Book Tour Schedule

Join the Book Tour from June 5 - 25, 2018.
Join us and visit each tour stop daily! Discover features, excerpts, reviews, interviews, fun facts and more. To check the latest tour schedule, visit the The Girl Who Knew Da Vinci Book Page at Book Unleashed.
The Girl Who Knew Da Vinci Tour Graphic

About Belle Ami




    Belle Ami writes intriguing romantic/suspense/thrillers with a teaspoon of sex. A self-confessed news junky she loves to create cutting-edge stories about politics, espionage, and redemptive love.
    She is a Kathryn McBride scholar of Bryn Mawr College in Pennsylvania. Writing, cooking, spinning, hiking, boxing, and skiing are her passions.
     She is the author of The Only One series, The One (#1), and The One & More (#2). Her third in the series titled One More Time is Not Enough, was published July 13th, 2016. She was honored to be included in the RWA LARA Christmas Anthology Holiday Ever After featuring her short story "The Christmas Encounter". Her next series entitled The Tip of the Spear begins with Escape, published January 10, 2017. The sequel to Escape, entitled Vengeance was published September 12, 2017.
    The Girl Who Knew da Vinci is her latest release. It’s an intriguing romance/paranormal/thriller. She is currently working on book three of The Tip of the Spear Series, titled Ransom.
     She lives in Southern California with her husband, two children, a horse named Cindy Crawford, and her brilliant Chihuahua, Giorgio Armani.
    Official website: http://www.belleamiauthor.com
    Social Media Links: Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Linked-In | Instagram

Giveaway

WIN $25 GIFT CARD AND MORE
The Girl Who Knew Da Vinci Giveaway Graphic
Prizes up for grabs:
$25 Amazon Gift Card
Three (3) The Girl Who Knew Da Vinci (Paperback - US/Canada Only)
Three (3) The Girl Who Knew Da Vinci (eBook - International)
Contest runs from May 31 - June 25, 2018.

In partnership with
Book Unleashed Logo

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther