Skip to main content

Confessions of Marie Antoinette: A Novel by Juliet Grey: A Book Review

Confessions of Marie Antoinette: A Novel
Author: Juliet Grey
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Release Date: September 24th, 2013
Pages: 464
Source: NetGalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: A novel for fans of Philippa Gregory and Michelle Moran, Confessions of Marie Antoinette blends rich historical detail with searing drama, bringing to life the first years of the French Revolution and the final days of the legendary French queen.

     Versailles, 1789. As the burgeoning rebellion reaches the palace gates, Marie Antoinette finds her privileged and peaceful life swiftly upended by violence. Once her loyal subjects, the people of France now seek to overthrow the crown, placing the heirs of the Bourbon dynasty in mortal peril.


     Displaced to the Tuileries Palace in Paris, the royal family is propelled into the heart of the Revolution. There, despite a few staunch allies, they are surrounded by cunning spies and vicious enemies. Yet despite the political and personal threats against her, Marie Antoinette remains, above all, a devoted wife and mother, standing steadfastly by her husband, Louis XVI, and protecting their young son and daughter. And though the queen secretly attempts to arrange her family’s rescue from the clutches of the rebels, she finds that they can neither outrun the dangers encircling them nor escape their shocking fate.

      My Review: This is the final novel in Juliet Grey’s Marie Antoinette trilogy. The novel chronicles the last years of Marie Antoinette, beginning with the market women's march and revolt in Versailles to her execution by Madame Guillotine. The story tells of how Marie Antoinette manages to keeps her dignity and courage as her enemies try to break her spirit by separating her from all she holds dear. Yet, the story not only tells a tragedy about the fate of Marie Antoinette, but by a nation  that is being torn and divided as the bloody Revolution begins to attack its own people.

     The story is mostly narrated by Marie Antoinette herself as she tells us her fears, her emotions, and dreams as she becomes imprisoned by her own people. The narration is also written in third person from Louis Chabry, a revolutionary. This character’s narration balances and is necessary to the story for the scenes that Marie Antoinette is not present in. We get to see what the French Revolution was like to an average woman living at that time.


     After the revolt at Versailles, Marie Antoinette and her husband are forced to go to Paris, where they are imprisoned at the Tuileries. They try to conform to being a constitutional monarchy until their French citizens threaten the royal family’s life. They decide that they must flee to the frontier for safety, but their plan fails. The people feel that their king has betrayed them. Eventually they lose their throne and are forced to live in a drastic prison so that no one can ever attempt a plot to save the royal family.


     During Marie Antoinette’s imprisonment, her physical appearance and her character change drastically. She has lost her beauty. And although she is in her thirties, her hair is white, and she looks like an old woman. She is no longer the carefree woman in the previous novels. Instead, she is serious and sad. In the previous novels, Marie Antoinette was not interested in politics, and she had no political influence in her husband’s reign. During her imprisonment, Marie Antoinette takes an interest in politics, and she becomes a strong interest in her husband’s affairs. She writes in crypt to other monarchs to ask for aid to save the royal family. Marie Antoinette becomes a strong, brave, and determined woman who fights for her family’s freedom. In this novel, Marie Antoinette is shown as a faithful wife and mother, who only wishes to be with her family. But the Revolutionaries want nothing than to see her suffer. They take away her friends, and kill her husband. But what really breaks her is that they take her son away from her, and there is nothing she can do as she is forced to listen to her son being tortured in the room directly below where she is imprisoned.


     Overall, this novel is about sacrifice, friendship, loyalty, and family. It is about one woman’s fight to protect her family when they are being attacked. Marie Antoinette is portrayed as a mother and a wife. This novel is an excellent conclusion to the Marie Antoinette trilogy. The story is powerful, and its message is thought-provoking. I would recommend it to people who are interested in historical fiction and Marie-Antoinette.


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Interview with Ezra Harker Shaw

     Today, I have the pleasure of interviewing Ezra Harker Shaw. Ezra Harker Shaw is the author of the upcoming novel, The Aziola's Cry , which will be released on May 7, 2024.   Ezra Harker Shaw gives us insights into the lives of two legendary figures, Percy and Mary Shelley. These two lovers lived a life of literature and love while being on the run from a world that has often misunderstood them! Thank you, Ezra Harker Shaw! What drew your interest in the love story of Mary and Percy Shelley? When I was about sixteen years old, I lived in Dublin. I'd dropped out of school and I was drifting without any real direction in my life. I used to wander down Nassau street in the mornings on my way to the internet cafe where I would write to my friends and work on stories. There was a lovely little bookshop I often used to pop into, and one day, quite on a whim, I bought a thin Dover Thrift edition of Percy Shelley's poems for 2€.  Over the years I kept dipping into it: I