Skip to main content

Before I Met You: A Novel By Lisa Jewell: A Book Review

Before I Met You: A Novel
Author: Lisa Jewell
Genre: Historical, Contemporary, Mystery 
Publisher: Atria Books
Release Date: October 15th, 2013
Pages: 464
Source: NetGalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Jazz Age London, a passionate and forbidden interracial romance, and the unbreakable bond between a bright young woman and her eccentric grandmother come together brilliantly in this gem of a novel, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, Twenties Girl, and The Chaperone.

     Fresh out of university, Betty is ready to begin a new chapter of her life in London—one she hopes brings new friends, a big career break, and perhaps even true love. Following her dreams in bustling, grungy nineties Soho, she’s ready for whatever life has to throw at her. Or so she thinks…

     In 1920s bohemian London, Arlette—Betty’s grandmother—is starting her new life in a time of post-war change. Beautiful and charismatic, Arlette is soon drawn into the hedonistic world of the Bright Young People. But two years after her arrival in London, tragedy strikes and she flees back to the country for the rest of her life.

     As Betty tries to manage the ups and downs of adulthood, she’s distracted by a mysterious letter she finds after Arlette’s death—a letter written to a man Betty has never heard of but who meant the world to her grandmother. Will the secrets of Arlette’s past help Betty navigate her own path to happiness?

     A heartwarming detective story and a captivating look at London then and now, Before I Met You is an unforgettable story about two very different women, separated by seventy years, but linked by a shared determination to make their dreams come true.

     My Review: This novel has two different storylines but are both woven together. It tells the story of Betty Dean, a young woman, who takes care of her old step-grandmother, Arlette, who has Alzheimer’s disease. After Arlette’s death, Arlette decides to give fifteen thousand pounds to a mysterious woman named Clara Pickle, who Betty and her family have never heard of. Because Betty did not want to cut this mysterious woman out of her inheritance, she decides to move to Soho to track her down. The only clue that Betty has is the mysterious letter that Arlette has written to Clara Pickle inside a Pollyanna book.

     The two protagonists are both Arlette and Betty. From Arlette’s point of view, we are taken to visit the glitz and glamour of London’s Jazz Age in post WWI. Arlette is affected by WWI, for she lost her father. From Betty’s point of view, we see London in modern day. The readers get to compare Soho in both the 1920s and the 1990s. Both Arlette and Betty’s storylines compliment each other. Both of them want to leave the Island of Guernsey and experience the bustling of city life. Both of them want to have a career and find romance. Yet, both of their life experiences are very different. Both Betty and Arlette are at first naive, idealistic, and determined to succeed in Soho life, so they would not have to go back to Guernsey. However, over the course of the novel their personalities are different. The author also makes references to how different the historical eras are in music that become important to the novel. In Soho 1920’s, the biggest music was jazz, whereas in the 1990s, it was pop music.

     Overall, this book is filled with romance, mystery, and suspense. It is about loyalty, friendship, and family. The story is a light read, but the beginning is a little slow-paced. However, the two storylines are both fascinating and the protagonists are well-developed and relatable. The chapters switch from Betty to Arlette, and readers will be so immersed in their stories that when it switches point of views, we are left wanting more to find out what will happen to the character. The mystery itself will also keep readers on their toes anticipating if it will be solved. I think this book fits more as a great beach read. I recommend it to readers who are looking for a light, fun, read with two strong protagonists at its center. I also recommend this to college graduates or anyone who is transitioning on making their way out into the workforce on their own for I believe that this book will speak to them.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to