Skip to main content

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee: A Book Review

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy
Author: Karen Foxlee
Genre: Children, Fantasy
Publisher: Knopf Books
Release Date: January 28th, 2014
Pages: 240
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: A modern-day fairy tale set in a mysterious museum that is perfect for readers of Roald Dahl and Blue Balliett.

     Unlikely heroine Ophelia Jane Worthington-Whittard doesn't believe in anything that can't be proven by science. She and her sister Alice are still grieving for their dead mother when their father takes a job in a strange museum in a city where it always snows. On her very first day in the museum Ophelia discovers a boy locked away in a long forgotten room. He is a prisoner of Her Majesty the Snow Queen. And he has been waiting for Ophelia's help.

     As Ophelia embarks on an incredible journey to rescue the boy everything that she believes will be tested. Along the way she learns more and more about the boy's own remarkable journey to reach her and save the world.

     A story within a story, this a modern day fairytale is about the power of friendship, courage and love, and never ever giving up.

     My Review: In "The Snow Queen", a young girl must venture on a long quest in order to save her next-door neighbor from the hands of the Snow Queen. In this retelling of "The Snow Queen", the young girl does not go on a long journey. Rather, she goes to a museum in London, where her father is in charge of an exhibiton. She discovers a mysterious boy who has no name and claims that he is a prisoner of the Snow Queen. The young girl realizes that the museum and the workers of the museum are not what they seem to be.

     The setting of the story takes place in a museum. Ophelia’s, the main character, father is a sword expert and is putting together an exhibition of swords around the world. She, at first, thinks that it is an ordinary museum; she explores artifacts and likes to look at dinosaurs. When she discovers the mysterious boy who is trapped inside the museum, she realizes that the museum is the Snow Queen’s world, and that she is planning on using the exhibition that Ophelia’s father is working on as the time to set the world into an eternal winter. Ophelia must rescue the mysterious boy from the hands of the Snow Queen and then save the world. She finds that the museum is a place of magic and she discovers ghosts, monsters, and villains.

     Ophelia is an emotionally-damaged character. Her mother has passed away three months prior to the story, and she is still coping with the loss. She has no self-confidence in herself, and thinks that she is not pretty. She has a broken relationship with her sister, who has ignored her since the death of their mother. Her father copes with the death of his wife by distancing himself from his children and immerses himself in his work. Ophelia is a lonely child, and she cheers herself up through her passion for science. She is reluctant to rescue the boy and to save the world. But what makes her courageous and a strong heroine is that she is curious and always asks questions and the thought of her mother and what she would say to Ophelia if her mother was still alive.

     Overall, even though it is a retelling of "The Snow Queen", it is actually about a girl who tries to cope with the death of her mother and to bring back the wholeness of a family who has been torn apart by a tragedy. Because it is set in a museum, there are references to history and science. The fantasy world of the museum is magical. The characters are realistic and well-developed. This book is appropriate for readers ages ten and up. I recommend this book to fans of fairy tales, fantasy, the Chronicles of Narnia series, Roald Dahl, and Polly Shulman’s The Grimm Legacy. I would also recommend this to anyone who has just lost the death of a loved one. This book will sure help you find comfort, joy, and encouragement.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Comments

  1. It sounds interesting, Lauralee. I feel that fairy stories are very important, and the same must be said even of modern fairy stories. They are the path, not only into our imagination but also into our soul. Thanks for the review.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for the kind words. I agree just as Mrs. Dickerson said that we can learn from them.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m