Skip to main content

The Heretic Queen by Michelle Moran: A Book Review

The Heretic Queen 
Author: Michelle Moran
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Crown Publishing Group
Release Date: 2008
Pages: 383
Source: Personal Collection
Synopsis: In ancient Egypt, a forgotten princess must overcome her family’s past and remake history.

     The winds of change are blowing through Thebes. A devastating palace fire has killed the Eighteenth Dynasty’s royal family—all with the exception of Nefertari, the niece of the reviled former queen, Nefertiti. The girl’s deceased family has been branded as heretical, and no one in Egypt will speak their names. A relic of a previous reign, Nefertari is pushed aside, an unimportant princess left to run wild in the palace. But this changes when she is taken under the wing of the Pharaoh’s aunt, then brought to the Temple of Hathor, where she is educated in a manner befitting a future queen.

     Soon Nefertari catches the eye of the Crown Prince, and despite her family’s history, they fall in love and wish to marry. Yet all of Egypt opposes this union between the rising star of a new dynasty and the fading star of an old, heretical one. While political adversity sets the country on edge, Nefertari becomes the wife of Ramesses the Great. Destined to be the most powerful Pharaoh in Egypt, he is also the man who must confront the most famous exodus in history.

     Sweeping in scope and meticulous in detail, The Heretic Queen is a novel of passion and power, heartbreak and redemption. 

     My review: Nefertari is the only surviving royal of the Eighteenth Dynasty. She is the daughter of Mutnodjmet and niece to Nefertiti. Nefertari lives with the stigma of her family’s heresy and faces the hatred of the Egyptian people. However, she is taken under the wing of the High Priestess of Hathor and is given an education fit for a queen. She soon catches the eye of Ramesses and against the opposition of the Egyptian people, they marry. Nefertari then competes not only for the position of queen and Ramesses's heart, but also the hearts of her people.

     I was captivated by the novel from the start. I felt sorry for Nefertari, not only that she has lost everyone in her family, but that everything she has heard about her family isn’t good. Nefertari works hard throughout the novel to find the truth about her family and to restore her family’s reputation. Nefertari is a strong heroine. She is not only wise, but she can also be manipulative. Her greatest feature is her smile, and she uses it to her advantage.

     I felt the plot was fast-paced, entertaining, and light-hearted. Nefertari competes with Iset for the crown and Ramesses's heart. With court drama and political intrigue, each of them tries to best the other. Yet, it is clear that Ramesses loves Nefertari, and there is a touching and sweet love story between them. There are very little references to the biblical story, and it is mostly in the background. However, these references shows Nefertari’s political acumen, and unlike Nefertiti, I saw how powerful she will be as a queen.

     Overall, this novel is about friendship and family. The Heretic Queen is a fast-paced read that is filled with court intrigue, danger, suspense, and romance. It is about one girl’s journey to self-discovery. While there are a few plot holes, my only complaint is that I wish this novel was longer. Even though the novel was 400 pages, I was reluctant to leave her world and wanted her to write more. The story is very well written with realistic characters. I found that this novel eclipsed Nefertiti and is its superior. While I recommend this novel to everyone, I feel that this novel caters to young adults. I read this novel when I was a teen, and I felt that it resonated with me more than it did as an adult. I still really enjoy this book and would always read it again. The Heretic Queen will appeal to fans of Philippa Gregory, C.W. Gortner, Margaret George and historical lovers alike. After reading this book, you will become fascinated with Ancient Egypt and want to learn more about it.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther