Skip to main content

Iceberg by Jennifer A. Nielsen: A Book Review

 

Iceberg

Author: Jennifer A. Nielsen

Genre: Children, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Adventure

Publisher: Scholastic

Release Date: March 7, 2023

Pages: 317

Source: My State Public Library

Synopsis: As disaster looms on the horizon, a young stowaway onboard the Titanic will need all her courage and wits to stay alive. A thrilling tale from New York Times bestselling author Jennifer A. Nielsen!


    Hazel Rothbury is traveling all alone from her home in England aboard the celebrated ship Titanic. Following the untimely death of her father, Hazel’s mother is sending her to the US to work in a factory, so that she might send money back home to help her family make ends meet.


    But Hazel harbors a secret dream: She wants to be a journalist, and she just knows that if she can write and sell a story about the Titanic’s maiden voyage, she could earn enough money to support her family and not have to go to a sweatshop. When Hazel discovers that mother didn’t send her with enough money for a ticket, she decides she must stow away onboard the storied ship.


    With the help of a porter named Charlie and a sweet first-class passenger named Sylvia, Hazel explores the opulent ship in secret, but a haunting mystery quickly finds her. The danger only intensifies when calamity strikes, and readers will be caught up in the terror and suspense alongside Hazel as she fights to save her friends and herself.


    Bestselling author Jennifer A. Nielsen weaves an extraordinary tapestry of survival and disaster in this magnificent thriller.


     My Review: Hazel Rothbury is a stopwatch on the Titanic. She also dreams of becoming a journalist when she reaches America and uses Titanic as her big story. While looking for stories to tell on the Titanic, Hazel uncovers details about a heist. Hazel seeks to solve the mystery of the heist. As soon as she solves it, the iceberg hits the Titanic. Could Hazel manage to survive the disaster?


    I wanted to like Hazel, but I found that I could not connect with her. She sounded like a modern-day woman who knew about the fate of the Titanic. This would have made sense if it was a time-travel story, but it wasn’t. I don’t think a child would have been aware of future events. Thus, Hazel seemed like an unconvincing character. She was also very reckless and made many poor decisions. I have to admit that I like her friends better. They seemed more likable. They were kind, clever, honest, and loyal. I wished that the story was told from their perspectives rather than Hazel. Therefore, Hazel made for a very frustrating character. 


    Overall, this novel is about friendship, choices, and survival. All of the characters were well-developed except for Hazel. I did like the setting of the Titanic and the details surrounding the disaster of the Titanic. However, it would have made more sense if Iceberg was  a time-travel story. This made the plot very unbelievable. The story was also very slow though it was very fast-paced towards the end. I also like how it ended. Thus, Iceberg had potential to be a powerful and emotional novel. However, it was not executed well because of the nonsensical plot. Nevertheless, I recommend this novel for fans of Luck of the Titanic, Dear America: Voyage on the Great Titanic: The Diary of Margaret Ann Brady, and Maiden Voyage!


Rating: 2 ½ out of 5 stars


Here is the official book trailer for Iceberg:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Interview with Ezra Harker Shaw

     Today, I have the pleasure of interviewing Ezra Harker Shaw. Ezra Harker Shaw is the author of the upcoming novel, The Aziola's Cry , which will be released on May 7, 2024.   Ezra Harker Shaw gives us insights into the lives of two legendary figures, Percy and Mary Shelley. These two lovers lived a life of literature and love while being on the run from a world that has often misunderstood them! Thank you, Ezra Harker Shaw! What drew your interest in the love story of Mary and Percy Shelley? When I was about sixteen years old, I lived in Dublin. I'd dropped out of school and I was drifting without any real direction in my life. I used to wander down Nassau street in the mornings on my way to the internet cafe where I would write to my friends and work on stories. There was a lovely little bookshop I often used to pop into, and one day, quite on a whim, I bought a thin Dover Thrift edition of Percy Shelley's poems for 2€.  Over the years I kept dipping into it: I