Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Throne of Lies (Amethysta Trilogy #1) by Sara Secora: A Book Review

Throne of Lies (Amethysta Trilogy #1)
Author: Sara Secora
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Release Date: August 2016
Source: This book was given to me by YA Bound Book tours in exchange for an honest review.
Summary from Goodreads: 

     As a seventeen-year-old ruler chafing under the obligations of her bloodline, Princess Amethysta Serelle finds the royal life anything but enchanting.

     Betrothed to a nefarious highborn, Amethysta’s heart mourns her lost chance at love—that is, until she becomes mesmerized by someone other than her suitor, and her heart begins to beat anew.


     Desperate to keep her daughter on the path toward duty and the throne, the queen keeps a deadly secret. But as Amethysta balances the burden of expectations and freedom, the glowing, blue truth will not stay hidden for much longer.


     Desire and duty battle on, further complicated by strange occurrences happening to Amethysta’s body. She struggles for control as her once unquestioned reality is obliterated.


     Will she discover the truth, in her heart and hands, before it’s too late?


     My Review: Princess Amethysta has always hated her life as a princess. She is forced to remain inside the castle walls. She is supposed to be a dutiful daughter and prepare for her role as queen. Still, she wishes for a normal life and to have the freedom to leave the palace grounds. She also feels that she is different aside from being a princess. She finds herself harboring magic. The only person who knows the truth of who she is is her mother. Yet, her mother remains silent, not telling her Amethysta’s identity. When her mother dies, Amethysta finds herself unprotected in a kingdom that will punish her for being different. Can Amethysta be able to conceal her identity and control her magic?

     Princess Amethysta is a hard character to like. There were some moments where I did like her. She can be very strong at times. She is a romantic and yearns for a happy ending. Yet, most of the times, I found her weak and reckless. She is mostly a damsel-in-distress in this book. I also did not like her actions. She made a lot of rash decisions. As the narrator, I found her voice to be very whiny. However, there were some moments in which she was a very engaging narrator. Amethysta is a young girl who is very persistent in finding her identity. 


     Overall, this book is about a woman’s quest of self-discovery. The message of this book is that there is always hope. The characters are very one-dimensional and needed more work on character development. I also found two-thirds of the book to be filler and most of it should have been left out because it did not help the plot overall. Because the book took a different direction, two-thirds of the book, it is hard to see the direction it is going until the very end. I thought that there should have been a smoother transition. Yet, it felt like there were two different storylines merged together. I also thought the ending did not have a good resolution and ended abruptly. Also, this novel did not answer the questions in this novel. We still do not know Amethysta’s identity by the end as we had in the beginning. Despite it’s flaws, it was an enjoyable and fluffy story that held my interest. The sequel sounds promising, and hopefully the reader will finally get some answers as to Amethysta’s identity. I recommend this book for fans of Princess Ben, Seraphina, and The Escape of Princess Madeleine.


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


Author Bio




     Sara Secora has a passion for all things gamer and nerdy, as evidenced on her YouTube channel, AviGaming. She is also a well-branded voice over artist.

     Secora has always been in love with writing, and in 2007 she turned her talents to the arduous endeavor of authoring an exciting fantasy trilogy. Her whimsical stories are full of enchantment, mystique, and insight—destined to intrigue readers of any age.


     Secora lives in Detroit, Michigan, where she continues to explore old and new avenues for her talent and hard work. You can visit her on her website, GoodreadsTwitter, Instagram, and Youtube.



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther