Skip to main content

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston: A Book Review

The Valiant
Author: Lesley Livingston
Genre: Young Adult, Historical Fantasy
Publisher: Razorbill
Release Date: February 14, 2017
Pages: 381
Source: Edelweiss/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Princess. Captive. Gladiator. Always a Warrior. 

     Fallon is the daughter of a proud Celtic king and the younger sister of the legendary fighter Sorcha. When Fallon was just a child, Sorcha was killed by the armies of Julius Caesar. 

     On the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is excited to follow in her sister's footsteps and earn her place in her father's war band. She never gets the chance.

     Fallon is captured and sold to an elite training school for female gladiators—owned by none other than Julius Caesar himself. In a cruel twist of fate, the man who destroyed Fallon’s family might be her only hope of survival. 

     Now, Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries, deadly fights in and out of the arena, and perhaps the most dangerous threat of all: her irresistible feelings for Cai, a young Roman soldier and her sworn enemy.   

     A richly imagined fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Cinda Williams Chima, The Valiant recounts Fallon’s gripping journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire.

      My Review: Fallon, a Celtic princess, is kidnapped from her home and taken to Rome. When she arrives, she is sold into slavery to a female gladiator training school. The owner of the school is Julius Caesar, who has destroyed her family. To win her freedom, Fallon must fight to be the best female gladiator. At the school, she learns the true nature of freedom and survival.

     Fallon is a fascinating and engaging character! I like how she can fight! Throughout the novel, we see Fallon’s struggle as she realises that to survive she must kill or be killed. Fallon has her faults. She can be judgemental, reckless, and bitter. but, her strength lies with her compassions for others, including her enemies. It is through her empathy that she eventually wins the hearts of those around her. Fallon also questions what her role is in the brutal world of Rome. When bad things happen to her, she doubts her faith in herself and in her goddess. but, her faith helps her to triumph. Thus, Fallon is a character will root for because she learns from her experiences.

     Overall, this book is about family, friendship, love, faith, and freedom. The message of this book is to believe in yourself. This book is full of action, mystery,  and romance. The story is quick-paced, and I read it in one sitting, as I was dying to find what would happen to Fallon. I would like to see more development of other characters. They can be lost in the background because much of the novel focuses on Fallon. However, I liked the setting of Ancient Rome, and I thought that the author had done her research. The Valiant has left me excited for the sequel, and I can’t wait to find out is next for Fallon! I recommend this novel for fans of Cleopatra’s Moon, Gladiator: Fight For Freedom, Getorix, and The Hunger Games.


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Before the Alamo by Florence Byham Weinberg: A Book Review

  Before the Alamo Author: Florence Byham Weinberg Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Maywood House Release Date: 2021 Pages: 299 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Emilia Altamirano, Tejana, half Native American, half Spanish, is the daughter of a Royalist officer who fought against Mexico's independence in the Battle of the Medina River. Growing up in Bexar de San Antonio, she becomes literate, is adopted as a ward of José Antonio Navarro, and acts as a page in the Ayuntamiento (City Council). She serves as a nurse in the Battle of the Alamo but survives to face an uncertain future.            My Review: Before the Alamo chronicles the events prior to the Battle of the Alamo from a tejana’s perspective, a Texan woman of Spanish descent. Emilia is the daughter of a wealthy Spaniard and a Native American slave. She becomes a ward to Jose Antonio Navarro, a Texas war hero. Jose teaches Emilia to read and write. Under his tutelage, she becomes

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot