Skip to main content

Lost Among the Living by Simone St. James: A Book Review

Lost Among the Living
Author: Simone St. James
Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery and Suspense, Romance
Publisher: Berkley
Release Date: 2016
Pages: 364
Source: My State Public Library
Synopsis: England, 1921. Three years after her husband, Alex, disappeared, shot down over Germany, Jo Manders still mourns his loss. Working as a paid companion to Alex's wealthy, condescending aunt, Dottie Forsyth, Jo travels to the family’s estate in the Sussex countryside. But there is much she never knew about her husband’s origins…and the revelation of a mysterious death in the Forsyths’ past is just the beginning…

     All is not well at Wych Elm House. Dottie's husband is distant, and her son was grievously injured in the war. Footsteps follow Jo down empty halls, and items in her bedroom are eerily rearranged. The locals say the family is cursed, and that a ghost in the woods has never rested. And when Jo discovers her husband’s darkest secrets, she wonders if she ever really knew him.  Isolated in a place of deception and grief, she must find the truth or lose herself forever.

     And then a familiar stranger arrives at Wych Elm House…

     My Review: Three years after her husband, Alex, was shot down in Germany, Jo believes that he is dead. She decides to be a paid companion to Alex’s wealthy and prudish aunt, Dottie. She travels with her throughout Europe and finally settles down in their country estate called Wych Elm House. It is not long wafter Jo settles into the house that all is not well. Dottie and her husband, Robert have a strained relationship. Their son, Martin, is not well. She also learns that Dottie had a daughter who committed suicide. When she sees the ghost of Dottie’s daughter, Frances, Jo learns that Frances may have been murdered. As she investigates the death, she finds that they are connected to Alex. Jo learns that Alex has been hiding dark secrets. Could Jo ever trust and love her husband again?

   Unlike Mrs. St. James’s other female characters, I really could not connect with Jo. Jo seemed very distant to me and was a mousy character. Because of this, I could not understand Jo or sympathise with her at all. Even though she is the main character in the story, Jo just seems to be there. She was mostly a background character in the novel.  There were other characters that I thought were more interesting than Jo, and I thought that Jo’s character was not necessary. Thus, Jo was an underdeveloped character, and it did not draw me into the story.

  Overall, this novel was about love, secrets, and betrayal. The plot was slow-moving and drawn out. I think the story would have worked better as a short story. Instead, it took me longer than I usually do when I read her novels because I was not invested in the plot. I kept putting it down and only sometime later did I pick it back up again. Just like the main character, there were also some unnecessary characters. One example is the dog ghost. The dog ghost was never fully explained, and I think it would have been better to have left it out.  Also, the novel was very predictable with no twists and turns. I did think that the novel was very atmospheric, and I loved the how the author alluded to her previous novels. I reccommend this novel for fans of Rebecca, Mistress of Mellyn, and Nine Coaches Waiting. However, for fans like me who has read everything Mrs. St. James has ever written, this novel is a huge disappointment. I can only wait for The Broken Girls to be released to be enthralled by her stories again.

Rating: 2½ out of 5 stars



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther