Skip to main content

Unraveling Darkness (Scout #2) by Alex Liddell: A Book Review

Unraveling Darkness (Scout #2)
Author: Alex Liddell
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Publisher: Danger Bearing Press
Release Date: May 18 2018
Pages: 218
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Synopsis: Kali’s kingdom is imprisoned—and she may hold the key. 

     In one breathless moment, royal scout Kali’s world has turned on its head. Bishop Bahir has deposed the king and seized the palace—with Kali’s sister trapped inside. Now on the run, Kali, Trace, and the future king of Dansil have only one place to go for help: Everett. An enemy kingdom of which Trace is the presumed-dead heir.

     As Trace reclaims his identity—one that may leave no room for a Dansil spy—Kali faces her own growing magic, which may be their only hope of stopping Bahir.

     With shattering secrets, daunting new powers, and uncertain allegiances, Kali must walk a deadly tightrope to protect her kingdom—and her heart.

     UNRAVELING DARKNESS, by Amazon bestselling author Alex Lidell, is the final novel in the Scout series. Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Leigh Bardugo, and Sarah J. Maas. 


     My Review: Kali, Trace, and the uncrowned king of Dansil is on the run. Bishop Bahir has seized the throne, and Kali’s sister is still imprisoned inside the palace. The only place for Kali and her gang to go is to Everett, their enemy kingdom. Once they arrive, Trace fights to keep his rightful inheritance, and Kali learns the truth about who she is. Can Kali save the kingdom of Dansil before it is too late?

     Because I was so engaged in Kali’s character, I read this sequel in one sitting to find out what happened to her. Kali still has her spunkiness, but she has grown more mature. She is left with the impossible choice of leaving her sister behind. She has to make plans to restore her kingdom. This takes a burden on her. I was a bit disappointed that she was no longer a fighting warrior. Instead, she realizes that she has magical powers, and has to learn how to use them. Thus, Kali has become more mellow and grown up. I also thought that Kali’s relationship with Trace had deepened. They faced many obstacles and challenges, but they managed to overcome them.

    Overall, Unraveling Darkness is a coming of age novel about self-discovery. The novel emphasizes friendship, family, and sacrifice. I still thought that the supporting characters were not well-developed. For instance, I did not understand why Princess Raza hates Kali. The explanation seemed flimsy. The story seemed rushed in most parts. Trace’s background is barely explored with depth. There were also some scenes that I found uncomfortable. Despite these flaws, it was still an enjoyable and worthy sequel! Mrs. Liddell is a talented author, and I look forward to reading more of her series! This series is perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Rachel Hartman, and Sara B. Larson.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m