Skip to main content

Unraveling Darkness (Scout #2) by Alex Liddell: A Book Review

Unraveling Darkness (Scout #2)
Author: Alex Liddell
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Publisher: Danger Bearing Press
Release Date: May 18 2018
Pages: 218
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Synopsis: Kali’s kingdom is imprisoned—and she may hold the key. 

     In one breathless moment, royal scout Kali’s world has turned on its head. Bishop Bahir has deposed the king and seized the palace—with Kali’s sister trapped inside. Now on the run, Kali, Trace, and the future king of Dansil have only one place to go for help: Everett. An enemy kingdom of which Trace is the presumed-dead heir.

     As Trace reclaims his identity—one that may leave no room for a Dansil spy—Kali faces her own growing magic, which may be their only hope of stopping Bahir.

     With shattering secrets, daunting new powers, and uncertain allegiances, Kali must walk a deadly tightrope to protect her kingdom—and her heart.

     UNRAVELING DARKNESS, by Amazon bestselling author Alex Lidell, is the final novel in the Scout series. Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Leigh Bardugo, and Sarah J. Maas. 


     My Review: Kali, Trace, and the uncrowned king of Dansil is on the run. Bishop Bahir has seized the throne, and Kali’s sister is still imprisoned inside the palace. The only place for Kali and her gang to go is to Everett, their enemy kingdom. Once they arrive, Trace fights to keep his rightful inheritance, and Kali learns the truth about who she is. Can Kali save the kingdom of Dansil before it is too late?

     Because I was so engaged in Kali’s character, I read this sequel in one sitting to find out what happened to her. Kali still has her spunkiness, but she has grown more mature. She is left with the impossible choice of leaving her sister behind. She has to make plans to restore her kingdom. This takes a burden on her. I was a bit disappointed that she was no longer a fighting warrior. Instead, she realizes that she has magical powers, and has to learn how to use them. Thus, Kali has become more mellow and grown up. I also thought that Kali’s relationship with Trace had deepened. They faced many obstacles and challenges, but they managed to overcome them.

    Overall, Unraveling Darkness is a coming of age novel about self-discovery. The novel emphasizes friendship, family, and sacrifice. I still thought that the supporting characters were not well-developed. For instance, I did not understand why Princess Raza hates Kali. The explanation seemed flimsy. The story seemed rushed in most parts. Trace’s background is barely explored with depth. There were also some scenes that I found uncomfortable. Despite these flaws, it was still an enjoyable and worthy sequel! Mrs. Liddell is a talented author, and I look forward to reading more of her series! This series is perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Rachel Hartman, and Sara B. Larson.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas