Skip to main content

Ruth by H. B. Moore: A Book Review

Ruth
Author: H. B. Moore
Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian, Biblical Fiction
Publisher: Covenant Communications
Release Date: 2017
Pages: 232
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Master storyteller and best-selling author H.B. Moore brings to life the biblical account of Ruth as never before in this vivid retelling of her courageous and faithful life.

     Following the death of Ruth’s husband, she finds herself at a crossroads. Rather than return to her family and hometown, the young widow makes a remarkable decision: she will remain with her mother-in-law, Naomi, as her caretaker and companion.

     Together, the two widows boldly leave behind the lives they knew in the land of Moab and make their way to Bethlehem, arriving downtrodden and destitute. Though Ruth works day and night to provide for Naomi, it is ultimately through the kindness and generosity of Boaz that the two women find respite from their trials. As Ruth comes to know Boaz, she finds that her broken heart is beginning to heal in ways she could never have imagined. But when a question of inheritance threatens any hope of a life with Boaz, Ruth may have to give up the last piece of her heart in order to secure her future.

     My Review: Ruth lives a happy life with her husband and her mother-in-law. Her happy life is shattered when a group of thieves tries to steal their sheep and her husband is injured. Her husband later dies from his injury. Ruth has to make a tough decision to go back home or stay with her mother-in-law, Naomi. She decides to go with Naomi to Bethlehem. There, she works the fields in order to make a living. She meets Boaz and falls in love with him. She wants nothing more than to be Boaz’s wife.

     Ruth is one of my favorite books in the bible. Her story is a test of faith, courage, and love. Mrs. Moore’s Ruth is not only a faithful retelling, but she also fills in the missing pieces. We learn more about the backstory of Ruth. The story shows Ruth’s happiness and hard times in her marriage. She believes that she cannot produce children because after eight years of marriage, she has miscarried twice. Ruth also knows how to shoot and defend herself. The author shows that Ruth’s family has fallen on hard times. Thus, Ruth was not immune to hard work when she worked in the fields.

     Boaz is also a full fleshed character. His wife, Hannah, has left for to serve a pagan god. Because of this, he feels insecure. He is not ready to take another wife. Ruth proves him wrong. Ruth’s virtues shows him that there are strong believers out there. It is through Ruth’s goodness, selflessness, and faith that he is able to be healed and feel love again. Both Ruth and Boaz have lost their beloved spouses, but through common faith they are able to help and love each other.

     Overall, Ruth is a novel about loyalty, humility, and perseverance. The message of the book is that God works in mysterious ways. I found all the characters to be very realistic. There are some original characters and fictional subplots that are not mentioned in the Bible. Still, I thought they were creative and helped flesh out Ruth and Boaz’s characters. The setting of ancient Israel is vividly detailed. Ruth is also a sweet and simple love story. Ruth is Christian fiction at its best! It proves why biblical fiction should be read. It reminds us that even though these people lived long ago, they still overcame challenges just as people do today. Ruth is perfect for fans of Angela Hunt, Jill Eileen Smith, and Joan Wolf.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther