Skip to main content

Ruth by H. B. Moore: A Book Review

Ruth
Author: H. B. Moore
Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian, Biblical Fiction
Publisher: Covenant Communications
Release Date: 2017
Pages: 232
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Master storyteller and best-selling author H.B. Moore brings to life the biblical account of Ruth as never before in this vivid retelling of her courageous and faithful life.

     Following the death of Ruth’s husband, she finds herself at a crossroads. Rather than return to her family and hometown, the young widow makes a remarkable decision: she will remain with her mother-in-law, Naomi, as her caretaker and companion.

     Together, the two widows boldly leave behind the lives they knew in the land of Moab and make their way to Bethlehem, arriving downtrodden and destitute. Though Ruth works day and night to provide for Naomi, it is ultimately through the kindness and generosity of Boaz that the two women find respite from their trials. As Ruth comes to know Boaz, she finds that her broken heart is beginning to heal in ways she could never have imagined. But when a question of inheritance threatens any hope of a life with Boaz, Ruth may have to give up the last piece of her heart in order to secure her future.

     My Review: Ruth lives a happy life with her husband and her mother-in-law. Her happy life is shattered when a group of thieves tries to steal their sheep and her husband is injured. Her husband later dies from his injury. Ruth has to make a tough decision to go back home or stay with her mother-in-law, Naomi. She decides to go with Naomi to Bethlehem. There, she works the fields in order to make a living. She meets Boaz and falls in love with him. She wants nothing more than to be Boaz’s wife.

     Ruth is one of my favorite books in the bible. Her story is a test of faith, courage, and love. Mrs. Moore’s Ruth is not only a faithful retelling, but she also fills in the missing pieces. We learn more about the backstory of Ruth. The story shows Ruth’s happiness and hard times in her marriage. She believes that she cannot produce children because after eight years of marriage, she has miscarried twice. Ruth also knows how to shoot and defend herself. The author shows that Ruth’s family has fallen on hard times. Thus, Ruth was not immune to hard work when she worked in the fields.

     Boaz is also a full fleshed character. His wife, Hannah, has left for to serve a pagan god. Because of this, he feels insecure. He is not ready to take another wife. Ruth proves him wrong. Ruth’s virtues shows him that there are strong believers out there. It is through Ruth’s goodness, selflessness, and faith that he is able to be healed and feel love again. Both Ruth and Boaz have lost their beloved spouses, but through common faith they are able to help and love each other.

     Overall, Ruth is a novel about loyalty, humility, and perseverance. The message of the book is that God works in mysterious ways. I found all the characters to be very realistic. There are some original characters and fictional subplots that are not mentioned in the Bible. Still, I thought they were creative and helped flesh out Ruth and Boaz’s characters. The setting of ancient Israel is vividly detailed. Ruth is also a sweet and simple love story. Ruth is Christian fiction at its best! It proves why biblical fiction should be read. It reminds us that even though these people lived long ago, they still overcame challenges just as people do today. Ruth is perfect for fans of Angela Hunt, Jill Eileen Smith, and Joan Wolf.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a