Skip to main content

Chills and Thrills! My Favorite Halloween Reads: Part 2

     This is the second installment of my favorite books to read during Halloween season! From creepy ghosts, to witches and Frankenstein's monster, these books will keep you awake at night! From turning the page is suspense or giving you the creeps, well...read for yourself and find out!


Heart's Blood is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast set in Celtic Ireland. While it is a fairy tale retelling, it has a gothic setting and a chilling atmosphere! A young woman arrives in a town that has been cursed. There are also ghosts in this novel. Just by reading the first page, it will give you goosebumps!



The Architect of Song is the first the Haunted Heart series, which is a paranormal trilogy set in the Victorian era. The heroine is deaf and is damaged by her past. I absolutely adored the love triangle between the heroine, the ghost, and the mysterious lord. The Architect of Song is an emotional coming of age tale. It is one of my favorite novels of all time! If you like this novel, be sure to check out the rest of the Haunted Hearts series, The Hummingbird Heart and The Glass Butterfly. While they are not as good as The Architect of Song, they are still fun, romantic ghost stories!


The Witch of Painted Sorrows is also one of my favorite novels of all time! The novel is about a young woman who gets possessed by a ghost!  I found the ghost to be one of the most intriguing characters in the novel! The Witch of Painted Sorrows has everything you want in a Halloween read! There are ghosts, witches, and a secret cult! If you loved The Witch of Painted Sorrows, be sure to check out the rest of the novels in M. J. Rose's paranormal series, The Secret Language of Stones and The Library of Light and Shadow! They were immensely satisfying reads that lived up to its predecessor!


The Dark Days Club is a young adult paranormal series. The novel is set in the Regency era and features a sassy heroine that hunts demons! This is a perfect mix for fans of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice and The Mortal Instrument series!


All of Simone St. James's novels are excellent Halloween reads because they feature creepy ghosts! However, this is my favorite novel by the author. The setting is eerie and the ghosts are the most terrifying! Reading this book will definitely make your hair stand on end!


The Silent Companions is a creepy Victorian ghost story! It is about a woman that discovers a wooden figure that looks like herself! This novel is a fun Halloween read because it not only has ghosts, but also creepy dolls! I highly recommend that you read this novel on a dark and stormy night to heighten the effect!


Set in ancient Wales, Eleanor and the Iron King is about a young woman who moves into her betrothed's castle. There she finds that the castle is haunted by her fiancé's late wife! Eleanor and the Iron King is a classic gothic novel that is reminiscent of Jane Eyre and Rebecca


The Spellbook of Katrina van Tassel is a feminist retelling of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow! It is narrated by Ichabod Crane's love interest. It not only features the Headless Horseman, but Katrina also tells other ghost stories that haunt Sleepy Hollow! Also, the author included witches in the Sleepy Hollow world!


This novel is about a family that moves into a haunted mansion. It not only features spooky ghosts but also witches! It serves up a full cauldron of chills!


You can't have a Halloween read without Frankenstein! This Frankestein retelling is told from the perspective of a young girl who was adopted by the Frankensteins and was a companion to their son, Victor! The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein is a creative but very faithful retelling of the original. I highly recommend this novel, and be sure to read it during a lightning storm!











Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas

Blog Tour: Girl With A Gun (Annie Oakley Mysteries #1) by Kari Bovee: A Book Review

  Join us for this tour from Jan 10 to Feb 4 ,  2022 ! Book Details: Book Title : Girl with a Gun (An Annie Oakley Mystery) by Kari Bovee Category :  Adult Fiction (18 + yrs), 316 pages Length : 9 hours, 24 minutes. Genre :  Historical Mystery / Cozy Mystery Publisher :  Bosque Publishing Release date:    April 2020 Content Rating :  PG + M: Mature themes, mild swearing  Source : This audiobook was given to me by iReads Book Tour in exchange for an honest review.   Book Description :      She’s on the rise to fame and fortune, but her sudden notoriety comes with some deadly consequences.      Annie Oakley thrives as a sharpshooter in the Wild West Show. Finally, she has a chance to save her family’s farm—and make her dreams come true.      But her act misfires when she discovers her Indian assistant dead in her tent. Uncovering a shocking secret from her assistant’s past, the girl with the gun believes it’s murder. Determined to find the truth, she ruffles some horse