Skip to main content

The Witch of Willow Hall by Hester Fox: A Book Review

The Witch of Willow Hall
Author: Hester Fox
Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Graydon House
Release Date: October 2, 2018
Pages: 368
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Two centuries after the Salem witch trials, there’s still one witch left in Massachusetts. But she doesn’t even know it.

     Take this as a warning: if you are not able or willing to control yourself, it will not only be you who suffers the consequences, but those around you, as well.

     New Oldbury, 1821 

     In the wake of a scandal, the Montrose family and their three daughters—Catherine, Lydia and Emeline—flee Boston for their new country home, Willow Hall.

    The estate seems sleepy and idyllic. But a subtle menace creeps into the atmosphere, remnants of a dark history that call to Lydia, and to the youngest, Emeline.

     All three daughters will be irrevocably changed by what follows, but none more than Lydia, who must draw on a power she never knew she possessed if she wants to protect those she loves. For Willow Hall’s secrets will rise, in the end…

     My Review: When her family becomes the focus of a major scandal, Lydia and her family move to a rural town and settle into Willow Hall. The glittering mansion seems like it will be a new start for Lydia. However, the house seems to hold its own share of secrets and ghosts. As Lydia discovers the ghosts that walk through the corridors, she learns that her mother is keeping a major secret from her. She eventually digests the information about her dark past. Can Lydia ever accept who she is?

     Lydia is a very complex character. She has a good relationship with her youngest sister, Emeline. She loves and cares for her. However, she does not get along with her older sister and is often critical and judgmental of her actions. She is often to rude to the man she loves and accuses him for his actions without asking for his side of the story. She is very selfish. There were times when she can be almost ruthless, and I was horrified by one of the deeds that she almost committed. Yet, this is what makes her a fascinating character. She is always battling against the evil forces within herself. She always strive to be good and resist the temptation to commit horrible crimes.

     Overall, this novel is about self-identity, loss, family, and acceptance. I thought the author needed to work on character development. Most of them are stereotypical, and the villain was cartoonish. There were also a few subplots that did nothing to enhance the plot. Still, The Witch of Willow Hall is well-written and is very atmospheric. Its gothic setting and paranormal aspects will suck you into the story right away! The Witch of Willow Hall is an enjoyable novel and is a fun read for Halloween!I recommend this for fans of The Other English Wife, The Phantom Tree, and The Haunting of Maddy Clare.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas