Skip to main content

The Witch of Willow Hall by Hester Fox: A Book Review

The Witch of Willow Hall
Author: Hester Fox
Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Graydon House
Release Date: October 2, 2018
Pages: 368
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Two centuries after the Salem witch trials, there’s still one witch left in Massachusetts. But she doesn’t even know it.

     Take this as a warning: if you are not able or willing to control yourself, it will not only be you who suffers the consequences, but those around you, as well.

     New Oldbury, 1821 

     In the wake of a scandal, the Montrose family and their three daughters—Catherine, Lydia and Emeline—flee Boston for their new country home, Willow Hall.

    The estate seems sleepy and idyllic. But a subtle menace creeps into the atmosphere, remnants of a dark history that call to Lydia, and to the youngest, Emeline.

     All three daughters will be irrevocably changed by what follows, but none more than Lydia, who must draw on a power she never knew she possessed if she wants to protect those she loves. For Willow Hall’s secrets will rise, in the end…

     My Review: When her family becomes the focus of a major scandal, Lydia and her family move to a rural town and settle into Willow Hall. The glittering mansion seems like it will be a new start for Lydia. However, the house seems to hold its own share of secrets and ghosts. As Lydia discovers the ghosts that walk through the corridors, she learns that her mother is keeping a major secret from her. She eventually digests the information about her dark past. Can Lydia ever accept who she is?

     Lydia is a very complex character. She has a good relationship with her youngest sister, Emeline. She loves and cares for her. However, she does not get along with her older sister and is often critical and judgmental of her actions. She is often to rude to the man she loves and accuses him for his actions without asking for his side of the story. She is very selfish. There were times when she can be almost ruthless, and I was horrified by one of the deeds that she almost committed. Yet, this is what makes her a fascinating character. She is always battling against the evil forces within herself. She always strive to be good and resist the temptation to commit horrible crimes.

     Overall, this novel is about self-identity, loss, family, and acceptance. I thought the author needed to work on character development. Most of them are stereotypical, and the villain was cartoonish. There were also a few subplots that did nothing to enhance the plot. Still, The Witch of Willow Hall is well-written and is very atmospheric. Its gothic setting and paranormal aspects will suck you into the story right away! The Witch of Willow Hall is an enjoyable novel and is a fun read for Halloween!I recommend this for fans of The Other English Wife, The Phantom Tree, and The Haunting of Maddy Clare.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a