Skip to main content

Elizabeth, Empress of Russia by Tamora Talbot Rice: A Book Review

Elizabeth, Empress of Russia

Author: Tamora Talbot

Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography

Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson

Release Date: 1970

Pages: 231

Source: My State Public Library

Synopsis: Born in 1709, the illegitimate daughter of Peter the Great and a woman of Livonian yeoman stock, Elizabeth was the only on of the Tsar's many children to survive to maturity. She lived through the reigns of four monarchs after her father's death, before seizing the throne in 1741 at the age of thirty-two. Faced with governing a country made unstable by frequent changes of ruler and caught up in web of international politics, she evolved a policy that set Russia on the road to becoming a major Western power. Elizabeth, beautiful, vivacious and immensely popular, with some of her father's genius for government, was often irresolute and fickle. She was a paradoxical woman - generous and spontaneous yet capable of inflicting the most savage of punishments, vain and hedonistic yet with a social conscience ahead of her time. Tamara Talbot Rice gives a vivid picture of court life, riddled with intrigue and corruption; of social conditions in Elizabeth's still feudal Russia; of the great flowering of painting, architecture, and other arts under her patronage of foreign artists; and of Elizabeth's struggle for international power, culminating in the Seven Years' War against Prussia. The author has drawn heavily on contemporary documents - ambassadors' letters, the private memoirs of the Empress Catherine II, and state documents - to give a highly sympathetic portrait of Elizabeth and fresh insight into her actions and the events of her reign. The period of Russian history between the death of Peter the Great, in 1725, and the accession of Catherine the Great, in 1762, has long been unjustly neglected: the last study of the reign of the Empress Elizabeth was published in 1902. This new biography therefore fills a most important gap and investigates the policies and efforts of Elizabeth - the last true Romanov to reign over Russia - that were the foundations upon which her better-documented successor Catherine built her reputation.


     My Review: Empress Elizabeth Petrovna has often been overlooked in favor of her more infamous successor Catherine the Great. However, in this rare biography of the empress in English, the reader gets a better look at Elizabeth and her accomplishments. With Empress Elizabeth on the throne, Russia began to blossom into a golden age. This biography shows that Elizabeth was just a great ruler as her successor.


     Elizabeth’s rise to power is truly astonishing. She was born an illegitimate daughter of Peter the Great and his mistress. When Peter the Great finally married his mistress and made her his tsarina, Elizabeth was made legitimate. With her connection to the throne, Elizabeth became a spectator and watched the reigns of four rulers. It was not until she was thirty-two that she reluctantly seized power and ascended the throne. During her reign, she chose capable men to help her run the government. She was also a patron of the arts and architecture that let literary arts foster. Through her guidance, she helped open the doors to make Russia a major Western power.


     Overall, this biography gave a very detailed account of Empress Elizabeth’s reign. While the biography showcases Elizabeth’s accomplishments, Mrs. Talbot does not hesitate to criticize the empress’s faults, especially her habits at being lazy. Still, I found this to be an eye-opening biography of Empress Elizabeth whom I believed to be merely a footnote in Russia’s history. What I found truly astonishing is why historians have largely overlooked Elizabeth’s reign. It is quite puzzling that Empress Elizabeth has been largely forgotten when she was as great a ruler as Queen Elizabeth and Maria Teresa. In fact, Mrs. Talbot states that without Empress Elizabeth Catherine the Great would not have brought Russia to a Golden Age. It was Empress Elizabeth who laid the foundations. Empress Elizabeth proved that she was an important historical figure. Elizabeth, Empress of Russia is a must read for anyone interested in Russian history, in particular Catherine the Great. This biography proves that there should be more written about Empress Elizabeth of Russia. I recommend this book for fans of Alison Weir, Antonia Fraser, and Robert Massie.


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Dreamland by Nancy Bilyeau

Dreamland Author: Nancy Bilyeau Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense Publisher: Lume Books Release Date: 2020 Pages: 291 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The year is 1911 when twenty-year-old heiress Peggy Batternberg is invited to spend the summer in America’s Playground.       The invitation to Coney Island is unwelcome. Despite hailing from one of America’s richest families, Peggy would much rather spend the summer working at the Moonrise Bookstore than keeping up appearances with New York City socialites and her snobbish, controlling family.      But soon it transpires that the hedonism of Coney Island affords Peggy the freedom she has been yearning for, and it’s not long before she finds herself in love with a troubled pier-side artist of humble means, whom the Batternberg patriarchs would surely disapprove of. Disapprove they may, but hidden behind their pomposity lurks a web of deceit, betrayal, and deadly secrets. And as bodie