Skip to main content

Curse of the Gypsy (Lady Anne Addison Mysteries #3) by Victoria Hamilton: A Book Review

Curse of the Gypsy (Lady Anne Addison Mysteries #3)

Author: Victoria Hamilton

Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery

Publisher: Beyond the Page

Release Date: 2019

Pages: 257

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis: Fans of the Lady Julia Grey Mysteries will love these Georgian historical mysteries.


     Finally home in Kent after her recent adventures in Yorkshire and Cornwall, Lady Anne Addison is shocked to spy her erstwhile suitor, the Marquess of Darkefell, skulking around the gypsy camps near her property. Outraged that he has followed her there, she writes a scathing letter to him and his family, which brings Darkefell—and his denials that it was he—to Kent.


     Despite Darkefell’s arrival, Anne is preoccupied with the troubles that plague her family and loved ones. Is it the old gypsy woman’s curse that is making her friends ill, or something far more sinister? One by one, Anne and Darkefell must unravel the troubling mysteries, and then travel back to Yorkshire, where their love story began, to finally solve the murder that threatens the very heart of his family . . .


My Review: When Lady Anne Addison returns to her home in Kent, she finds her suitor is hanging out with the gypsies nearby. She sends an angry letter to his family expressing her displeasure, only for her suitor to deny  he was anywhere near the gypsies’ camp. She also learns that there is a gyspy that has cursed her friends. Are her friends’ illnesses the result of the curse or is there something more sinister involved?


Lady Anne Addison was a very likable heroine in the first book of the series. However, in this novel, I found her to be insufferable. I did not like how she treated the Marquess of Darkefell. Her attempts at trying to be an independent woman seemed completely silly. She quickly became an insipid and selfish character. Thus, her actions largely made a short read a slog for me, and I kept putting the story down wishing to not have the trouble to put up with the vapid heroine.


Overall, the third installment tied up loose ends from the first novel. This novel had a simple plot with not as much mystery as the previous novels. The scenes were very repetitive, especially the interactions between Lady Anne Addison and the Marquess of Darkefell that made the novel seem very drawn out. I was quite surprised that there is a fourth novel in this series. I was surprised because I thought Curse of the Gyspy tied everything together neatly, so that it seems more fitting to be a trilogy. While I was left wanting more from this novel, it still left me slightly more curious to read the fourth book. Still, the series as a whole is an excellent addition to those that love a cozy mystery. I recommend this for fans of Anna Lee Huber, Elizabeth Bailey, and Andrea Penrose.


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Dreamland by Nancy Bilyeau

Dreamland Author: Nancy Bilyeau Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense Publisher: Lume Books Release Date: 2020 Pages: 291 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The year is 1911 when twenty-year-old heiress Peggy Batternberg is invited to spend the summer in America’s Playground.       The invitation to Coney Island is unwelcome. Despite hailing from one of America’s richest families, Peggy would much rather spend the summer working at the Moonrise Bookstore than keeping up appearances with New York City socialites and her snobbish, controlling family.      But soon it transpires that the hedonism of Coney Island affords Peggy the freedom she has been yearning for, and it’s not long before she finds herself in love with a troubled pier-side artist of humble means, whom the Batternberg patriarchs would surely disapprove of. Disapprove they may, but hidden behind their pomposity lurks a web of deceit, betrayal, and deadly secrets. And as bodie