Skip to main content

Curse of the Gypsy (Lady Anne Addison Mysteries #3) by Victoria Hamilton: A Book Review

Curse of the Gypsy (Lady Anne Addison Mysteries #3)

Author: Victoria Hamilton

Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery

Publisher: Beyond the Page

Release Date: 2019

Pages: 257

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis: Fans of the Lady Julia Grey Mysteries will love these Georgian historical mysteries.


     Finally home in Kent after her recent adventures in Yorkshire and Cornwall, Lady Anne Addison is shocked to spy her erstwhile suitor, the Marquess of Darkefell, skulking around the gypsy camps near her property. Outraged that he has followed her there, she writes a scathing letter to him and his family, which brings Darkefell—and his denials that it was he—to Kent.


     Despite Darkefell’s arrival, Anne is preoccupied with the troubles that plague her family and loved ones. Is it the old gypsy woman’s curse that is making her friends ill, or something far more sinister? One by one, Anne and Darkefell must unravel the troubling mysteries, and then travel back to Yorkshire, where their love story began, to finally solve the murder that threatens the very heart of his family . . .


My Review: When Lady Anne Addison returns to her home in Kent, she finds her suitor is hanging out with the gypsies nearby. She sends an angry letter to his family expressing her displeasure, only for her suitor to deny  he was anywhere near the gypsies’ camp. She also learns that there is a gyspy that has cursed her friends. Are her friends’ illnesses the result of the curse or is there something more sinister involved?


Lady Anne Addison was a very likable heroine in the first book of the series. However, in this novel, I found her to be insufferable. I did not like how she treated the Marquess of Darkefell. Her attempts at trying to be an independent woman seemed completely silly. She quickly became an insipid and selfish character. Thus, her actions largely made a short read a slog for me, and I kept putting the story down wishing to not have the trouble to put up with the vapid heroine.


Overall, the third installment tied up loose ends from the first novel. This novel had a simple plot with not as much mystery as the previous novels. The scenes were very repetitive, especially the interactions between Lady Anne Addison and the Marquess of Darkefell that made the novel seem very drawn out. I was quite surprised that there is a fourth novel in this series. I was surprised because I thought Curse of the Gyspy tied everything together neatly, so that it seems more fitting to be a trilogy. While I was left wanting more from this novel, it still left me slightly more curious to read the fourth book. Still, the series as a whole is an excellent addition to those that love a cozy mystery. I recommend this for fans of Anna Lee Huber, Elizabeth Bailey, and Andrea Penrose.


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m