Skip to main content

Queen of Ash and Iron (The Celtic Rebel Series #3) by Melanie Karsak: A Book Review

Queen of Ash and Iron (The Celtic Rebel Series #3)
Author: Melanie Karsak
Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Clockpunk Press
Release Date: May 25, 2023
Pages: 770
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis: Fated to lead a rebellion against Rome.

Destined to become a legend.


Britain, A.D. 47

All at once, everything changes.


The rebellion of the Northern Iceni under King Caturix results in dire consequences for Boudica. Without Aulus Plautius’s protection, Boudica must face the new, more severe Roman Governor Scapula. Struggling to make their way in a war-torn landscape, Boudica and Prasutagus persevere, but fate has a way of undoing our best intentions. Catastrophic events take place undermining everything Boudica worked so hard to achieve.


As the eagle betrays, the queen of ash and iron rises to protect all that she loves.


Continue the epic tale of the famous warrior queen in Queen of Ash and Iron: A Novel of Boudica, book 3 in the Celtic Rebels series by New York Times bestseller Melanie Karsak.

    My Review: Queen Boudica has decided to make peace with the Romans rather than fighting them. She quickly realizes that peace was not what she had once hoped for. The Romans are destroying her lands, killing her people, and destroying the religion. Eventually, Queen Boudica reaches a breaking point. She decides to no longer have pace with the Romans. Instead, she makes war.


Queen Boudica is a fascinating character. She is a queen who is very compassionate. She makes some bad choices. However, they are done to save her people. I liked seeing her transformation from an ally queen of Rome to one of Rome’s fiercest enemies. She was a very strong and charismatic leader who gave many people hope. It is no wonder why she had so many warriors from different tribes to fight for her against the Romans. Thus, Boudica was a very compelling queen.


Overall, this novel is about choices, family, and war. All of the characters were very complex and likable. I was very interested in learning about their fate. Because Queen Boudica went through so many hardships, this was a very tough read, especially at the end. Still, this was an epic conclusion to a breathtaking series! The Celtic Rebels is one of the best series on the legendary queens. You will come away from the novel feeling like you know Queen Boudica and the world she lived in. Mrs. Karsak has made Celtic Britain come alive! I recommend this book for fans of Warrior Queen, Boudica’s Daughter, and Sword of Gladiatrix! The Celtic Rebels series is a real treat and a series that you must not miss! I can’t wait to read more of Mrs. Karsak’s other works in which she has also written about other infamous queens! Mrs. Karsak has now become one of my favorite authors!


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Interview with Ezra Harker Shaw

     Today, I have the pleasure of interviewing Ezra Harker Shaw. Ezra Harker Shaw is the author of the upcoming novel, The Aziola's Cry , which will be released on May 7, 2024.   Ezra Harker Shaw gives us insights into the lives of two legendary figures, Percy and Mary Shelley. These two lovers lived a life of literature and love while being on the run from a world that has often misunderstood them! Thank you, Ezra Harker Shaw! What drew your interest in the love story of Mary and Percy Shelley? When I was about sixteen years old, I lived in Dublin. I'd dropped out of school and I was drifting without any real direction in my life. I used to wander down Nassau street in the mornings on my way to the internet cafe where I would write to my friends and work on stories. There was a lovely little bookshop I often used to pop into, and one day, quite on a whim, I bought a thin Dover Thrift edition of Percy Shelley's poems for 2€.  Over the years I kept dipping into it: I