Skip to main content

Blog Tour: She Who Rides Horses: A Saga of the Ancient Steppe (Book #1) by Sarah V. Barnes: A Book Review


She Who Rides Horses: A Saga of the Ancient Steppe (Book One) by Sarah V. Barnes
Category:  Adult Fiction (18+),  267 pages
Genre: Historical Fiction 
Publisher:  Lilith House Press 
Release date:  March 2022
Content RatingPG.  It contains two kissing scenes and the death of an animal.
Book Description:

     Set more than 6,000 years ago, She Who Rides Horses: A Saga of the Ancient Steppe (Book One) begins the story of Naya, the first person to ride a horse.

     Daughter of a clan chief, bolder than other girls but shunned by the boys because of her unusual appearance, Naya wanders alone through the vast grasslands where her people herd cattle and hunt wild horses for their meat. But Naya dreams of creating a different kind of relationship with the magnificent creatures.


    One day, she discovers a filly with a chestnut coat as uncommon as her own head of red hair. With time running out before she is called to assume the responsibilities of adulthood, Naya embarks on a quest to gallop with the red filly across the boundless steppe.

​     Unwittingly, she sets in motion forces and events that will change forever the future of humans and horses alike.

My Review:

She Who Rides Horses tells the story of the first person who had tamed and ridden a horse. Naya is the daughter of a chief. Her clan often hunted wild horses for meat. However, Naya wants to form a relationship with a red horse. Naya embarks on a quest to tame and eventually ride the horse. As Naya learns how to ride the horse, she realizes that she has changed the course of history.


Naya is a very interesting character. She is a very spiritual person. I also like that she is very feisty and strong-willed. There were times in which she was uncertain of herself. However, she slowly gained confidence throughout the course of the novel. I also liked her strong bond with the red horse. She had to work hard to earn the horse’s trust. Therefore, her relationship with the horse is the strongest aspect of the novel. Naya is a tough and admirable heroine.


Overall, this novel is a solid coming-of-age story. Still, there are a few flaws in this book. I did not like how Naya was unconscious in most of the novel. Her unconsciousness did help develop the other side characters. However, I felt it was too long for her not to be involved in her own story. It made the last part of the novel seem rushed. I also did not like the cliffhanger at the end. I believe there could have been some resolution. Nevertheless, it was still an engrossing read! I read it in one sitting and could not put it down. I loved the prehistoric setting! The writing was very lyrical and filled with vivid imagery! I am excited for the sequel! I can’t wait to find out what happens next in Naya’s journey! I recommend this for fans of The Last Neanderthal, The Clan of the Cave Bear, and She Who Remembers!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Meet the Author:

    Sarah V. Barnes, Ph.D. is both an historian and a horsewoman. When Sarah is not writing stories, she practices and teaches riding as a meditative art. She also offers equine-facilitated coaching and wellness workshops.

    Sarah holds a Ph.D. in history from Northwestern University and spent many years as a college professor before turning full-time to riding and writing. She has two grown daughters and lives with her husband, her dogs and her horses near Boulder, CO.


connect with the author: website facebook ~  goodreads




Enter the Giveaway:


SHE WHO RIDES HORSES Book Tour Giveaway




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Iceberg by Jennifer A. Nielsen: A Book Review

  Iceberg Author: Jennifer A. Nielsen Genre: Children, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Adventure Publisher: Scholastic Release Date: March 7, 2023 Pages: 317 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis : As disaster looms on the horizon, a young stowaway onboard the Titanic will need all her courage and wits to stay alive. A thrilling tale from New York Times bestselling author Jennifer A. Nielsen!     Hazel Rothbury is traveling all alone from her home in England aboard the celebrated ship Titanic . Following the untimely death of her father, Hazel’s mother is sending her to the US to work in a factory, so that she might send money back home to help her family make ends meet.     But Hazel harbors a secret dream: She wants to be a journalist, and she just knows that if she can write and sell a story about the Titanic ’s maiden voyage, she could earn enough money to support her family and not have to go to a sweatshop. When Hazel discovers that mother didn’t send her with enough money for