Skip to main content

The Crow Queen (Eagles and Crows #2) by Melanie Karsak: A Book Review

The Crow Queen (Eagles and Crows #2)
Author: Melanie Karsak
Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Clockwork Press
Release Date: December 5, 2023
Pages: 267
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: A queen at war.

      A love woven by the gods.


     The looming shadow of darkness to come.


     Britain, AD 38, When destiny crowns Cartimandua queen of the Brigantes, she inherits not just the rule of her ancient tribe but an imminent war. Seeking to take advantage of the upheaval amongst the Brigantes, the Parisii tribe strikes.


     Cartimandua’s enemies soon discover the new Brigantes queen wears a crown of thorns and talons. Carti has no time to waste on petty squabbles. The Cailleach whispers of a looming threat from the south. Wielding ruthless strategy and strength, Cartimandua acts quickly to secure her hold on the north before an even worse darkness descends.


     But even amongst the shadows, there’s a ray of light. Her new alliance with the Votadini tribe finds her engaged to the enigmatic Prince Cormag. Their bond offers a glimmer of hope for a bright future. Yet, as they carve out a life together, Carti cannot escape the echo of an old love.

To navigate the darkness looming on the horizon, Cartimandua must hold onto her throne and her heart with an iron grip. Can she protect her tribe and family from the rising storm?


     From New York Times bestselling author Melanie Karsak comes The Crow Queen, depicting the life of Celtic Queen Cartimandua of the Brigantes during the second Roman invasion.


     My Review: The Crow Queen picks up where The Blackthorn Queen left off. Cartimandua is now the rightful heir of the Brigantes. In order to be crowned Queen, Cartimandua must pass Cailleach's trial. Yet, passing the trial is the least of Cartimandua’s worries. There are threats of a looming war and the invasion of the Romans. Could Cartimandua be strong to protect her people?


     In The Blackthorn Queen, Cartimandua was a grief-stricken and naive princess. In this sequel, Cartimandua must learn how to rule as a Queen. Queen Cartimandua has to put her people’s interests above her own. I really love Cartimandua. She has to make many difficult sacrifices, including her heart. As the novel progresses, she is wondering if she is no longer the girl she once was. Even her identity has changed. Everyone around her only sees her as the Queen of Brigantes and rarely calls her by her own name. Therefore, Queen Cartimandua is not only trying to do what’s right for the people, but also is trying to find her own identity. She is transitioning into a young and naive Queen into a very strong and capable ruler! I can’t wait to see what happens to her in the next installment!


     Overall, this novel is about duty, identity, and love. All of the characters seemed very realistic and complex. The setting of Ancient Scotland is very beautiful and full of historical detail. I love how Mrs. Karsak has interwoven Celtic mythology into Queen Cartimandua’s tale! The Crow Queen was a very magical, lyrical, and enchanting take on this forgotten but important queen! The story was short and very fast-paced! I was so enthralled by the first page that I read it in one sitting! My only complaint was that I wish that it was longer! That means that I have to wait a few more months to find out what happens to Queen Cartimandua! How I wish the next installment, Queen of the Hollow Hills would release immediately! Nevertheless, the Eagles and Crows series must not be missed! I recommend this for fans of Mists of Avalon, The Horse Goddess, and The Lost Queen!


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

Blog Tour: Kathy Fischer-Brown and A Book Review of Lord Esterleigh's Daughter ( Book 1 of the Serpent Tooth Trilogy)

Please join Kathy Fischer-Brown as she tours virtually for her Serpent's Tooth trilogy - Lord Esterleigh's Daughter, Courting the Devil, & The Partisan’s Wife - and her novel Winter Fire. Blog tour includes a chance to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card. See below to enter. Lord Esterleigh’s Daughter: Book 1, The Serpent’s Tooth trilogy Publication Date: June 13, 2012 Publisher: Books We Love Ltd. Formats: eBook, Paperback Pages: 346 Source: This book was given to me as part of the Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tour   Synposis:  As a child, Anne Fairfield dreams of the father she never knew, the hero who died fighting the French and their Indian allies in a land across the sea. Her mother’s stories, and fantasies of her own devising, sustain and nurture her through a poor and lonely existence. Until one winter night, a strange man comes to call, and the life she has known comes crashing down like shattered glass. Forced to confront sordid truths, secrets and lies, t