Skip to main content

Kassandra: A Tale of Love, War, and One Woman's Destiny: A Novel of Ancient Greece by Alison Blasdell: A Book Review

Kassandra: A Tale of Love, War, and One Woman’s Destiny: A Novel of Ancient Greece
Author: Alison Blasdell
Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Alison Blasdell
Release Date: 2023
Pages: 369
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: She was born Athenian and raised an Amazon warrior. But betrayal and heartbreak will force her to choose who she is.

     This is the tale of Kassandra, born in Athens, Greece, in the 4th century BC, and her transition from a frightened but determined girl into a formidable warrior—a path of trust and betrayal,
love and loss, joy and heartbreak—the story of a woman who challenges the very gods of Greece to find happiness.

     Kassandra was just ten years old when her mother spirited her away in the middle of the night to avoid an arranged marriage, traveling until they reached the mountains the Greeks believed belonged to Zeus. There, her mother left her alone, telling her she must climb the mountains, a feat no man had accomplished, to find the secret band of free warrior women—the Amazons.

     Thus begins Kassandra’s journey, a journey that will take her from the battlefields of Persia to Athens at the height of its glory and ultimately fulfill her destiny.

     My Review: Kassandra is the illegitimate daughter of an Athenian noble and a hetaera. When Kassandra is ten years old, her father arranges a marriage for her. In order to avoid the arranged marriage, her mother takes her to the mountains to find the Amazons. Kassandra trains and becomes an Amazonian. Throughout her journey with the Amazons, Kassandra is repeatedly tested through a series of trials and even finds love along the way.

     Kassandra is a very strong character. She has a harsh upbringing and goes through many trials. Yet, she is very resilient and determined. Her persistence leads to overcome her hardships. I also find Kassandra to be very kind and merciful. She is very loving and cares for the people around her! Therefore, Kassandra is a very admirable and compelling character. I was deeply invested in her story and wanted to know what happened to her.

      Overall, Kassandra: A Tale of Love, War, and One Woman’s Destiny was a deeply moving coming-of-age story. Some of the characters, especially her love interest, were very one-dimensional. Nevertheless, I found Kassandra’s bond with her mother to be the best aspect of the novel. I like how Kassandra: A Tale of Love, War, and One Woman’s Destiny moved at a very fast-pace. There was never a dull moment in the novel, and I found myself reading it in one sitting! I like how the novel incorporates Greek mythology with Greek history! This was a very meticulously researched story that is filled with vivid imagery! I felt that I was walking alongside Kassandra in Ancient Greece! I recommend this novel for fans of Penelope Haines, Amalia Carosella, and Claire M. Andrews!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

Blog Tour: Kathy Fischer-Brown and A Book Review of Lord Esterleigh's Daughter ( Book 1 of the Serpent Tooth Trilogy)

Please join Kathy Fischer-Brown as she tours virtually for her Serpent's Tooth trilogy - Lord Esterleigh's Daughter, Courting the Devil, & The Partisan’s Wife - and her novel Winter Fire. Blog tour includes a chance to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card. See below to enter. Lord Esterleigh’s Daughter: Book 1, The Serpent’s Tooth trilogy Publication Date: June 13, 2012 Publisher: Books We Love Ltd. Formats: eBook, Paperback Pages: 346 Source: This book was given to me as part of the Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tour   Synposis:  As a child, Anne Fairfield dreams of the father she never knew, the hero who died fighting the French and their Indian allies in a land across the sea. Her mother’s stories, and fantasies of her own devising, sustain and nurture her through a poor and lonely existence. Until one winter night, a strange man comes to call, and the life she has known comes crashing down like shattered glass. Forced to confront sordid truths, secrets and lies, t