Skip to main content

The Heart of a Valkyrie (The Vinland to Valhalla Saga #1) by Melanie Karsak: A Book Review

The Heart of a Valkyrie (The Vinland to Valhalla Saga #1)

Author: Melanie Karsak

Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy

Publisher: Clockpunk Press

Release Date: March 5, 2023

Pages: 290

Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Born hearing the call of Valkyries.


     Dreaming of distant shores.


     Torn between the past and the future.


     Destined to become a legend.


     Iceland, 976—Freydis Eiriksdottir, born to a völva mother and berserker father, lives a quiet life on her remote farmstead in Iceland. Busy dreaming of the sea and haunted by the loss of her mother, she has no idea what the Norns have in store for her. When her father, Eirik the Red, marries the daughter of a powerful chieftain, the course of Freydis’s life changes forever.


     Deciding that Freydis would be better off with the gothar, Eirik sends his only daughter to serve the Norse gods. Freydis learns the ancient ways and discovers that her world is endangered—a rising new religion threatens to reshape everything.


     Amidst the uncertainty, a distant land beckons Freydis. However, as Freydis forms a close bond with Brien, an Irish thrall, she confronts the harsh realities of their world.


     Readers will relish this sweeping Viking saga that chronicles the life of Freydis Eiriksdottir. Dive into The Vinland to Valhalla Saga, a thrilling Viking historical fantasy series by New York Times bestselling author Melanie Karsak.


     My Review: Freydis Eiriksdottir was a female Viking explorer and warrior. She was the daughter of Erik the Red and was the sister of Leif Erikson. Heart of a Valkyrie focuses on Freydis’s early years. When Erik the Red remarries, Freydis is given to the Norse priesthood. Freydis has dreams of sailing to a distant land. Will Freydis be able to fulfill her longing to leave Iceland and sail to a new one?


     I had heard of Freydis Eiriksdottir due to the hit tv show, Vikings. She was one of my favorite characters. When Mrs. Karsak released a novel about her, I quickly put on my Viking hat and devoured it in one sitting. Because it shows her early years, it has not yet shown Freydis as the strong Viking warrior. Instead, she is an uncertain girl. She has to adjust to leaving her father and adapt to a new life. Freydis eventually grows into a devout and confident priestess. The only downside is that she has some anger issues and is rash at times. Nevertheless, Freydis was a very compelling and engaging character.


     Overall, this novel was a fascinating coming-of-age story about a legendary Viking. I loved all the characters. They were very complex and realistic. I also like how the author wove supernatural elements into Freydis’s story! There were some flaws in this book. I thought that the novel was a bit repetitive at times. I also thought the love story could have been fleshed out more. I also had a hard time pronouncing many words and would have liked a pronunciation guide included. Nevertheless, The Heart of a Valkyrie is a mesmerizing novel steeped with magic and mysticism! It is a very fast-paced novel that will enthrall from the moment you read the first page! If you are a fan of the Vikings, you must not miss this book! I can’t wait for more Freydis! I hope the sequel comes out real quickly! I recommend this for fans of Avelynn, A Thousand Years, and Ascent!


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Interview with Ezra Harker Shaw

     Today, I have the pleasure of interviewing Ezra Harker Shaw. Ezra Harker Shaw is the author of the upcoming novel, The Aziola's Cry , which will be released on May 7, 2024.   Ezra Harker Shaw gives us insights into the lives of two legendary figures, Percy and Mary Shelley. These two lovers lived a life of literature and love while being on the run from a world that has often misunderstood them! Thank you, Ezra Harker Shaw! What drew your interest in the love story of Mary and Percy Shelley? When I was about sixteen years old, I lived in Dublin. I'd dropped out of school and I was drifting without any real direction in my life. I used to wander down Nassau street in the mornings on my way to the internet cafe where I would write to my friends and work on stories. There was a lovely little bookshop I often used to pop into, and one day, quite on a whim, I bought a thin Dover Thrift edition of Percy Shelley's poems for 2€.  Over the years I kept dipping into it: I