The Escape of Princess Madeline by Kirstin Pulioff: A Book Review

The Escape of Princess Madeline
Author: Kirstin Pulioff
Genre: Children, Fantasy
Publisher: Kirstin Pulioff
Release Date: 2015
Pages: 144
Source:  Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Madeline, princess of Soron, awakens on her sixteenth birthday to find that her father has already made preparations for her betrothal. When she disappears unexpectedly, her suitors and knight champion rush to the rescue. But all is not as it seems, and the errant princess’s flight has put the kingdom at stake… Can Madeline find freedom or does it come with too high a price? 

     My Review: Princess Madeline has come of age, and while the kingdom celebrates, Princess Madeline is unhappy. She knows that she is expected to do her duty as the heir apparent in Soren and that she must marry well for the kingdom. On the day of her sixteenth birthday, when suitors are competing for her hand, she decides that she wants to take her own future into her hands. She leaves the palace in pursuit of romantic adventures. She soon learns that her adventures are not what she expected them to be.

     I really love the character of Princess Madeline! She is a very romantic person who dreams of adventures. She is also very bold and determined and takes matters into her own hands to choose how she lives her life. She is very naïve and does make some mistakes, which is how she easily gets into danger. However, throughout the course of the novel, she begins to grow. She soon realizes the important things in life, which is family and friendship. Therefore, Madeline becomes a very wise person who is ready to have her share of responsibility. Thus, I do found her to be a strong and relatable heroine that girls can relate to.

     Overall, this story is about love, family, and responsibility. It is a lovely coming-of-age tale.The message is about being yourself. Even though this novel is geared towards middle graders, it has something to offer everyone. I like the romance in the book, for it was very believable. Thus, it was a very entertaining read that will be sure to thrill you for a few hours. This novel leaves me wanting more, and I can’t wait to read the rest of the trilogy.  The Escape of Princess Madeline will appeal for fans of Gail Carson Levine, Robin McKinley, and Shannon Hale.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Interview with Ron Vitale

Blog Tour: Fanny Newcomb and the Irish Channel Ripper by Ana Brazil: A Book Review

The Untold Story of Queen Elizabeth, Queen Mother by Lady Colin Campbell: A Book Review