Skip to main content

The Escape of Princess Madeline by Kirstin Pulioff: A Book Review

The Escape of Princess Madeline
Author: Kirstin Pulioff
Genre: Children, Fantasy
Publisher: Kirstin Pulioff
Release Date: 2015
Pages: 144
Source:  Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Madeline, princess of Soron, awakens on her sixteenth birthday to find that her father has already made preparations for her betrothal. When she disappears unexpectedly, her suitors and knight champion rush to the rescue. But all is not as it seems, and the errant princess’s flight has put the kingdom at stake… Can Madeline find freedom or does it come with too high a price? 

     My Review: Princess Madeline has come of age, and while the kingdom celebrates, Princess Madeline is unhappy. She knows that she is expected to do her duty as the heir apparent in Soren and that she must marry well for the kingdom. On the day of her sixteenth birthday, when suitors are competing for her hand, she decides that she wants to take her own future into her hands. She leaves the palace in pursuit of romantic adventures. She soon learns that her adventures are not what she expected them to be.

     I really love the character of Princess Madeline! She is a very romantic person who dreams of adventures. She is also very bold and determined and takes matters into her own hands to choose how she lives her life. She is very naïve and does make some mistakes, which is how she easily gets into danger. However, throughout the course of the novel, she begins to grow. She soon realizes the important things in life, which is family and friendship. Therefore, Madeline becomes a very wise person who is ready to have her share of responsibility. Thus, I do found her to be a strong and relatable heroine that girls can relate to.

     Overall, this story is about love, family, and responsibility. It is a lovely coming-of-age tale.The message is about being yourself. Even though this novel is geared towards middle graders, it has something to offer everyone. I like the romance in the book, for it was very believable. Thus, it was a very entertaining read that will be sure to thrill you for a few hours. This novel leaves me wanting more, and I can’t wait to read the rest of the trilogy.  The Escape of Princess Madeline will appeal for fans of Gail Carson Levine, Robin McKinley, and Shannon Hale.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: The Portraitist: A Novel of Adelaide Labille-Guiard by Susanne Dunlap

The Portraitist: A Novel of Adelaide Labille-Guiard by Susanne Dunlap Publication Date: August 30, 2022 She Writes Press Genre: Historical Fiction Synopsis: Based on a true story, this is the tale of Adélaïde Labille-Guiard’s fight to take her rightful place in the competitive art world of eighteenth-century Paris.     With a beautiful rival who’s better connected and better trained than she is, Adélaïde faces an uphill battle. Her love affair with her young instructor in oil painting gives rise to suspicions that he touches up her work, and her decision to make much-needed money by executing erotic pastels threatens to create as many problems as it solves. Meanwhile, her rival goes from strength to strength, becoming Marie Antoinette’s official portraitist and gaining entrance to the elite Académie Royale at the same time as Adélaïde.      When at last Adélaïde earns her own royal appointment and receives a massive commission from a member of the royal family, the timing couldn

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Blog Tour: The Perilous Journey of the Not So Innocuous Girl ( Book #1) by Leigh Statham: A Book Review

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the THE PERILOUS JOURNEY OF THE NOT SO INNOCUOUS GIRL by Leigh Statham Blog Tour hosted by  Rockstar Book Tours . Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!   About The Book: THE PERILOUS JOURNEY OF THE NOT SO INNOCUOUS GIRL (The Perilous Journey of the Not So Innocuous Girl #1) Author:  Leigh Statham Pub. Date:  September 13, 2022 Publisher:  Cricket Press, LLC Genre : Steampunk, Historical Fiction, Adventure, YA Formats:  Paperback, eBook Pages:  286 Find it:   Goodreads ,  Amazon , Kindle , B&N , TBD , Bookshop.org Synopsis:  This brand new edition of the book contains updated historical facts, an amazing new cover, and extra punk for your steam machines!      Lady Marguerite lives a life most 17th-century French girls can only dream of: money, designer dresses, suitors, and a secure future. Except she can't quite commit to a life of dull luxury and she suspects she may be falling for her best friend, Claud