Skip to main content

The Escape of Princess Madeline by Kirstin Pulioff: A Book Review

The Escape of Princess Madeline
Author: Kirstin Pulioff
Genre: Children, Fantasy
Publisher: Kirstin Pulioff
Release Date: 2015
Pages: 144
Source:  Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Madeline, princess of Soron, awakens on her sixteenth birthday to find that her father has already made preparations for her betrothal. When she disappears unexpectedly, her suitors and knight champion rush to the rescue. But all is not as it seems, and the errant princess’s flight has put the kingdom at stake… Can Madeline find freedom or does it come with too high a price? 

     My Review: Princess Madeline has come of age, and while the kingdom celebrates, Princess Madeline is unhappy. She knows that she is expected to do her duty as the heir apparent in Soren and that she must marry well for the kingdom. On the day of her sixteenth birthday, when suitors are competing for her hand, she decides that she wants to take her own future into her hands. She leaves the palace in pursuit of romantic adventures. She soon learns that her adventures are not what she expected them to be.

     I really love the character of Princess Madeline! She is a very romantic person who dreams of adventures. She is also very bold and determined and takes matters into her own hands to choose how she lives her life. She is very naïve and does make some mistakes, which is how she easily gets into danger. However, throughout the course of the novel, she begins to grow. She soon realizes the important things in life, which is family and friendship. Therefore, Madeline becomes a very wise person who is ready to have her share of responsibility. Thus, I do found her to be a strong and relatable heroine that girls can relate to.

     Overall, this story is about love, family, and responsibility. It is a lovely coming-of-age tale.The message is about being yourself. Even though this novel is geared towards middle graders, it has something to offer everyone. I like the romance in the book, for it was very believable. Thus, it was a very entertaining read that will be sure to thrill you for a few hours. This novel leaves me wanting more, and I can’t wait to read the rest of the trilogy.  The Escape of Princess Madeline will appeal for fans of Gail Carson Levine, Robin McKinley, and Shannon Hale.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

That Summer in Berlin by Lecia Cornwall: A Book Review

That Summer in Berlin Author: Lecia Cornwall Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Berkley Release Date: 2022 Pages: 464 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: In the summer of 1936, while the Nazis make secret plans for World War II, a courageous and daring young woman struggles to expose the lies behind the dazzling spectacle of the Berlin Olympics.       German power is rising again, threatening a war that will be even worse than the last one. The English aristocracy turns to an age-old institution to stave off war and strengthen political bonds—marriage. Debutantes flock to Germany, including Viviane Alden. On holiday with her sister during the 1936 Berlin Olympics, Viviane’s true purpose is more clandestine. While many in England want to appease Hitler, others seek to prove Germany is rearming. But they need evidence, photographs to tell the tale, and Viviane is a genius with her trusty Leica. And who would suspect a pretty, young tourist taking hol