Deborah Calling by Avraham Azrieli: A Book Review

Deborah Calling 
Author: Avraham Azrieli
Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian, Biblical Fiction
Publisher: HarperLegend
Release Date: 2017
Pages: 432
Source: This book was given to me by TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: The author of the bestselling Deborah Rising continues the fascinating story of the Biblical prophetess Deborah in this entrancing work of visionary fiction—a tale of danger, mysticism, intrigue, and daring for fans of The Red Tent, The Mists of Avalon, and The Alchemist.

     Deborah’s father dreamed that, one day, she would become a prophet—a seemingly impossible dream for a woman in a patriarchal society. To see her father’s dream come true, Deborah made the cunning decision to become a man and sought out a mysterious elixirist who can turn women into men.

     Under the elixirist Kassite’s tutelage and training, Deborah learns the essential traits of masculinity and steadily grows stronger, building muscle and willpower. But Kassite requests something in return: he needs Deborah's help to escape the tannery and return to his homeland. It is the beginning of another thrilling adventure through the desert—a cat and mouse chase between Deborah and her violent fiancé who still hunts her, a chance meeting with an ancient healer with a prophetic message, and a revelatory spiritual experience in an abandoned cave.

     As she continues on the path God has laid before her, Deborah witnesses the darkness that can take hold in the hearts and souls of men—evil that causes her to reflect on the wisdom, insight, and inspiration she has gained from the women in her life. Will becoming a man truly help her become a prophetess, or might there be another path? Visionary dreams, a mysterious eagle, and an extraordinary band of ex-slaves will help Deborah find the answer . . . and ultimately her calling.

     A riveting adventure tale derived from traditional biblical fiction, Deborah Calling imagines the life of one of the most famous figures from the Old Testament as she continues on her path to becoming a prophet.

      My Review: Deborah Calling picks up where Deborah Rising left off. The novel reimagines the early life of the prophetess Deborah from the Bible. Deborah is disguised as a man who works in a tannery. As she works, she learns how to grow physically stronger by gaining more muscle. One day, she and her master, Kassite, escape the tannery to rescue Kassite’s friend, Sallan. It is a risky and dangerous task because they may run into her abusive husband, Seesya. As Deborah undertakes this perilous road, she learns that God may have called her for a great purpose.

   While I did not see much resemblance to the Biblical Deborah, I am starting to see it here. Deborah is slowly learning how to become a leader and a warrior. I adored her because she is tough as nails. She reminds me a bit of Katniss Everdeen. I also like how Deborah is starting to learn to love herself and that she does not want to take the form of someone else. Deborah is becoming more self-confident and gathering more courage. Thus, I liked how her character has evolved from Deborah Rising, and I can’t wait to see how she is portrayed in the third book.

  Overall, this book is about courage, faith, forgiveness, and self-identity. The message of the novel is to be proud of yourself. The world of ancient Israel seems very realistic, and I can see how the world was a harsh place for both men and women. Deborah Calling was very well-written and thought-provoking. While I loved Deborah Rising, I have to confess that Deborah Calling surpasses its predecessor. It has got me excited for book three, and I wish that it was already out now. In the meantime, I will definitely re-read the series again to satisfy my craving for the wait! Readers will love the Deborah series, not only because it is a fast-paced and adventurous historical tale, but it features a strong relatable heroine that embarks on a journey of faith.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars



Comments

  1. I'm so glad you're enjoying this series! Thanks for being a part of the tour!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Past Encounters by Davina Blake: A Book Review

Blog Tour: Alice and the Assasin by R. J. Koreto

Blog Tour: Lady Helena Investigates by Jane Steen