Skip to main content

Deborah Calling by Avraham Azrieli: A Book Review

Deborah Calling 
Author: Avraham Azrieli
Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian, Biblical Fiction
Publisher: HarperLegend
Release Date: 2017
Pages: 432
Source: This book was given to me by TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: The author of the bestselling Deborah Rising continues the fascinating story of the Biblical prophetess Deborah in this entrancing work of visionary fiction—a tale of danger, mysticism, intrigue, and daring for fans of The Red Tent, The Mists of Avalon, and The Alchemist.

     Deborah’s father dreamed that, one day, she would become a prophet—a seemingly impossible dream for a woman in a patriarchal society. To see her father’s dream come true, Deborah made the cunning decision to become a man and sought out a mysterious elixirist who can turn women into men.

     Under the elixirist Kassite’s tutelage and training, Deborah learns the essential traits of masculinity and steadily grows stronger, building muscle and willpower. But Kassite requests something in return: he needs Deborah's help to escape the tannery and return to his homeland. It is the beginning of another thrilling adventure through the desert—a cat and mouse chase between Deborah and her violent fiancé who still hunts her, a chance meeting with an ancient healer with a prophetic message, and a revelatory spiritual experience in an abandoned cave.

     As she continues on the path God has laid before her, Deborah witnesses the darkness that can take hold in the hearts and souls of men—evil that causes her to reflect on the wisdom, insight, and inspiration she has gained from the women in her life. Will becoming a man truly help her become a prophetess, or might there be another path? Visionary dreams, a mysterious eagle, and an extraordinary band of ex-slaves will help Deborah find the answer . . . and ultimately her calling.

     A riveting adventure tale derived from traditional biblical fiction, Deborah Calling imagines the life of one of the most famous figures from the Old Testament as she continues on her path to becoming a prophet.

      My Review: Deborah Calling picks up where Deborah Rising left off. The novel reimagines the early life of the prophetess Deborah from the Bible. Deborah is disguised as a man who works in a tannery. As she works, she learns how to grow physically stronger by gaining more muscle. One day, she and her master, Kassite, escape the tannery to rescue Kassite’s friend, Sallan. It is a risky and dangerous task because they may run into her abusive husband, Seesya. As Deborah undertakes this perilous road, she learns that God may have called her for a great purpose.

   While I did not see much resemblance to the Biblical Deborah, I am starting to see it here. Deborah is slowly learning how to become a leader and a warrior. I adored her because she is tough as nails. She reminds me a bit of Katniss Everdeen. I also like how Deborah is starting to learn to love herself and that she does not want to take the form of someone else. Deborah is becoming more self-confident and gathering more courage. Thus, I liked how her character has evolved from Deborah Rising, and I can’t wait to see how she is portrayed in the third book.

  Overall, this book is about courage, faith, forgiveness, and self-identity. The message of the novel is to be proud of yourself. The world of ancient Israel seems very realistic, and I can see how the world was a harsh place for both men and women. Deborah Calling was very well-written and thought-provoking. While I loved Deborah Rising, I have to confess that Deborah Calling surpasses its predecessor. It has got me excited for book three, and I wish that it was already out now. In the meantime, I will definitely re-read the series again to satisfy my craving for the wait! Readers will love the Deborah series, not only because it is a fast-paced and adventurous historical tale, but it features a strong relatable heroine that embarks on a journey of faith.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Dreamland by Nancy Bilyeau

Dreamland Author: Nancy Bilyeau Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense Publisher: Lume Books Release Date: 2020 Pages: 291 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The year is 1911 when twenty-year-old heiress Peggy Batternberg is invited to spend the summer in America’s Playground.       The invitation to Coney Island is unwelcome. Despite hailing from one of America’s richest families, Peggy would much rather spend the summer working at the Moonrise Bookstore than keeping up appearances with New York City socialites and her snobbish, controlling family.      But soon it transpires that the hedonism of Coney Island affords Peggy the freedom she has been yearning for, and it’s not long before she finds herself in love with a troubled pier-side artist of humble means, whom the Batternberg patriarchs would surely disapprove of. Disapprove they may, but hidden behind their pomposity lurks a web of deceit, betrayal, and deadly secrets. And as bodie