Skip to main content

Deborah Calling by Avraham Azrieli: A Book Review

Deborah Calling 
Author: Avraham Azrieli
Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian, Biblical Fiction
Publisher: HarperLegend
Release Date: 2017
Pages: 432
Source: This book was given to me by TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: The author of the bestselling Deborah Rising continues the fascinating story of the Biblical prophetess Deborah in this entrancing work of visionary fiction—a tale of danger, mysticism, intrigue, and daring for fans of The Red Tent, The Mists of Avalon, and The Alchemist.

     Deborah’s father dreamed that, one day, she would become a prophet—a seemingly impossible dream for a woman in a patriarchal society. To see her father’s dream come true, Deborah made the cunning decision to become a man and sought out a mysterious elixirist who can turn women into men.

     Under the elixirist Kassite’s tutelage and training, Deborah learns the essential traits of masculinity and steadily grows stronger, building muscle and willpower. But Kassite requests something in return: he needs Deborah's help to escape the tannery and return to his homeland. It is the beginning of another thrilling adventure through the desert—a cat and mouse chase between Deborah and her violent fiancĂ© who still hunts her, a chance meeting with an ancient healer with a prophetic message, and a revelatory spiritual experience in an abandoned cave.

     As she continues on the path God has laid before her, Deborah witnesses the darkness that can take hold in the hearts and souls of men—evil that causes her to reflect on the wisdom, insight, and inspiration she has gained from the women in her life. Will becoming a man truly help her become a prophetess, or might there be another path? Visionary dreams, a mysterious eagle, and an extraordinary band of ex-slaves will help Deborah find the answer . . . and ultimately her calling.

     A riveting adventure tale derived from traditional biblical fiction, Deborah Calling imagines the life of one of the most famous figures from the Old Testament as she continues on her path to becoming a prophet.

      My Review: Deborah Calling picks up where Deborah Rising left off. The novel reimagines the early life of the prophetess Deborah from the Bible. Deborah is disguised as a man who works in a tannery. As she works, she learns how to grow physically stronger by gaining more muscle. One day, she and her master, Kassite, escape the tannery to rescue Kassite’s friend, Sallan. It is a risky and dangerous task because they may run into her abusive husband, Seesya. As Deborah undertakes this perilous road, she learns that God may have called her for a great purpose.

   While I did not see much resemblance to the Biblical Deborah, I am starting to see it here. Deborah is slowly learning how to become a leader and a warrior. I adored her because she is tough as nails. She reminds me a bit of Katniss Everdeen. I also like how Deborah is starting to learn to love herself and that she does not want to take the form of someone else. Deborah is becoming more self-confident and gathering more courage. Thus, I liked how her character has evolved from Deborah Rising, and I can’t wait to see how she is portrayed in the third book.

  Overall, this book is about courage, faith, forgiveness, and self-identity. The message of the novel is to be proud of yourself. The world of ancient Israel seems very realistic, and I can see how the world was a harsh place for both men and women. Deborah Calling was very well-written and thought-provoking. While I loved Deborah Rising, I have to confess that Deborah Calling surpasses its predecessor. It has got me excited for book three, and I wish that it was already out now. In the meantime, I will definitely re-read the series again to satisfy my craving for the wait! Readers will love the Deborah series, not only because it is a fast-paced and adventurous historical tale, but it features a strong relatable heroine that embarks on a journey of faith.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a