Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Feathered: (Swan Maiden Book #1) by Rachel Wollaston: A Book Review

Feathered: Swan Maiden – Book 1
Author: Rachel Wollaston
Genre: Fantasy
Source: This book was given to me by Enchanted Book Promotions in exchange for an honest review.

     The light and the dark were never meant to be separated.

     When her bargain with a malevolent wizard goes terribly wrong, Marion DuVal finds herself trapped between two forms: a beautiful but darker parallel of herself, and a swan. Somehow, she must adhere to the wizard’s wishes, but it’s hard to perform epic magic when your feet are flippers and your neck’s the length of a small fishing pole. Caught up in a lie of royal proportions, her task is to get close to the queen, and such a thing is difficult when a certain handsome prince keeps getting in the way.

     One girl; two identities. Marion must stop the darkness inside her before it’s too late.

     Based on the classic tale of Swan Lake.

     My Review: Feathered is a retelling of Swan Lake. Marion has been found guilty of witchcraft and has been ordered to be executed by the guillotine. On the day of her execution, she is saved by an evil wizard named Elward. While she is saved by a wizard, she finds that she is trapped between two forms, a swan and a beautiful darker parallel version of herself. Elward soon gives her a mission to pose as a princess and spy on the royal family. She tries to remain unnoticed, but she quickly catches the attentions of the prince. Marion must decide if she should continue the mission or risk it all by falling in love.

     For the most part, I really liked Marion. She was a character that I could empathize with. She is mostly seen to be compassionate and kind. However, there were times that I was frustrated with her character. She can be too forgiving at times, and blind to the cruel actions of others. I didn’t like how how she was manipulated by others. Thus, I found her weak and wished that she could defend herself more. Since this is the first installment in the series, I’m hoping that in time she will become stronger and more self-confident.

     Overall, this was a fast-paced and adventurous read of Swan Lake. I did not think that the characters were fully developed. I came away from the story not really knowing much about Marion or her powers. I also did not understand the world-building and was confused about how magic works in the realm. I think I would have loved the story more if the story had started with Marion’s life before her execution day to get a better understanding to her character when Elward saves her. Despite these flaws, I can’t wait for the sequel to see what is next in store for Marion. I recommend this novel for fans of Dearest, Princess of Glass, and The Beautiful Pretender

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars



Author Bio:


     Born and bred in Gloucestershire, UK, Rachel Wollaston is a huge lover of all things fantasy. From an early age, her dream was to be a fairy, but the pay was no good, so she decided to become a writer instead. A Creative Writing student, Rachel is the author of young-adult fantasy and loves to build worlds that she wishes she could be a part of.

     Besides writing, Rachel also enjoys a range of other artistic hobbies, including dancing, drawing, and an unhealthy amount of arts and crafts. You will almost always find her with a cup of tea and a cat watching old ‘70s comedies.

     For more information visit her website, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas