Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Feathered: (Swan Maiden Book #1) by Rachel Wollaston: A Book Review

Feathered: Swan Maiden – Book 1
Author: Rachel Wollaston
Genre: Fantasy
Source: This book was given to me by Enchanted Book Promotions in exchange for an honest review.

     The light and the dark were never meant to be separated.

     When her bargain with a malevolent wizard goes terribly wrong, Marion DuVal finds herself trapped between two forms: a beautiful but darker parallel of herself, and a swan. Somehow, she must adhere to the wizard’s wishes, but it’s hard to perform epic magic when your feet are flippers and your neck’s the length of a small fishing pole. Caught up in a lie of royal proportions, her task is to get close to the queen, and such a thing is difficult when a certain handsome prince keeps getting in the way.

     One girl; two identities. Marion must stop the darkness inside her before it’s too late.

     Based on the classic tale of Swan Lake.

     My Review: Feathered is a retelling of Swan Lake. Marion has been found guilty of witchcraft and has been ordered to be executed by the guillotine. On the day of her execution, she is saved by an evil wizard named Elward. While she is saved by a wizard, she finds that she is trapped between two forms, a swan and a beautiful darker parallel version of herself. Elward soon gives her a mission to pose as a princess and spy on the royal family. She tries to remain unnoticed, but she quickly catches the attentions of the prince. Marion must decide if she should continue the mission or risk it all by falling in love.

     For the most part, I really liked Marion. She was a character that I could empathize with. She is mostly seen to be compassionate and kind. However, there were times that I was frustrated with her character. She can be too forgiving at times, and blind to the cruel actions of others. I didn’t like how how she was manipulated by others. Thus, I found her weak and wished that she could defend herself more. Since this is the first installment in the series, I’m hoping that in time she will become stronger and more self-confident.

     Overall, this was a fast-paced and adventurous read of Swan Lake. I did not think that the characters were fully developed. I came away from the story not really knowing much about Marion or her powers. I also did not understand the world-building and was confused about how magic works in the realm. I think I would have loved the story more if the story had started with Marion’s life before her execution day to get a better understanding to her character when Elward saves her. Despite these flaws, I can’t wait for the sequel to see what is next in store for Marion. I recommend this novel for fans of Dearest, Princess of Glass, and The Beautiful Pretender

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars



Author Bio:


     Born and bred in Gloucestershire, UK, Rachel Wollaston is a huge lover of all things fantasy. From an early age, her dream was to be a fairy, but the pay was no good, so she decided to become a writer instead. A Creative Writing student, Rachel is the author of young-adult fantasy and loves to build worlds that she wishes she could be a part of.

     Besides writing, Rachel also enjoys a range of other artistic hobbies, including dancing, drawing, and an unhealthy amount of arts and crafts. You will almost always find her with a cup of tea and a cat watching old ‘70s comedies.

     For more information visit her website, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a