Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Feathered: (Swan Maiden Book #1) by Rachel Wollaston: A Book Review

Feathered: Swan Maiden – Book 1
Author: Rachel Wollaston
Genre: Fantasy
Source: This book was given to me by Enchanted Book Promotions in exchange for an honest review.

     The light and the dark were never meant to be separated.

     When her bargain with a malevolent wizard goes terribly wrong, Marion DuVal finds herself trapped between two forms: a beautiful but darker parallel of herself, and a swan. Somehow, she must adhere to the wizard’s wishes, but it’s hard to perform epic magic when your feet are flippers and your neck’s the length of a small fishing pole. Caught up in a lie of royal proportions, her task is to get close to the queen, and such a thing is difficult when a certain handsome prince keeps getting in the way.

     One girl; two identities. Marion must stop the darkness inside her before it’s too late.

     Based on the classic tale of Swan Lake.

     My Review: Feathered is a retelling of Swan Lake. Marion has been found guilty of witchcraft and has been ordered to be executed by the guillotine. On the day of her execution, she is saved by an evil wizard named Elward. While she is saved by a wizard, she finds that she is trapped between two forms, a swan and a beautiful darker parallel version of herself. Elward soon gives her a mission to pose as a princess and spy on the royal family. She tries to remain unnoticed, but she quickly catches the attentions of the prince. Marion must decide if she should continue the mission or risk it all by falling in love.

     For the most part, I really liked Marion. She was a character that I could empathize with. She is mostly seen to be compassionate and kind. However, there were times that I was frustrated with her character. She can be too forgiving at times, and blind to the cruel actions of others. I didn’t like how how she was manipulated by others. Thus, I found her weak and wished that she could defend herself more. Since this is the first installment in the series, I’m hoping that in time she will become stronger and more self-confident.

     Overall, this was a fast-paced and adventurous read of Swan Lake. I did not think that the characters were fully developed. I came away from the story not really knowing much about Marion or her powers. I also did not understand the world-building and was confused about how magic works in the realm. I think I would have loved the story more if the story had started with Marion’s life before her execution day to get a better understanding to her character when Elward saves her. Despite these flaws, I can’t wait for the sequel to see what is next in store for Marion. I recommend this novel for fans of Dearest, Princess of Glass, and The Beautiful Pretender

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars



Author Bio:


     Born and bred in Gloucestershire, UK, Rachel Wollaston is a huge lover of all things fantasy. From an early age, her dream was to be a fairy, but the pay was no good, so she decided to become a writer instead. A Creative Writing student, Rachel is the author of young-adult fantasy and loves to build worlds that she wishes she could be a part of.

     Besides writing, Rachel also enjoys a range of other artistic hobbies, including dancing, drawing, and an unhealthy amount of arts and crafts. You will almost always find her with a cup of tea and a cat watching old ‘70s comedies.

     For more information visit her website, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

Blog Tour: Kathy Fischer-Brown and A Book Review of Lord Esterleigh's Daughter ( Book 1 of the Serpent Tooth Trilogy)

Please join Kathy Fischer-Brown as she tours virtually for her Serpent's Tooth trilogy - Lord Esterleigh's Daughter, Courting the Devil, & The Partisan’s Wife - and her novel Winter Fire. Blog tour includes a chance to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card. See below to enter. Lord Esterleigh’s Daughter: Book 1, The Serpent’s Tooth trilogy Publication Date: June 13, 2012 Publisher: Books We Love Ltd. Formats: eBook, Paperback Pages: 346 Source: This book was given to me as part of the Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tour   Synposis:  As a child, Anne Fairfield dreams of the father she never knew, the hero who died fighting the French and their Indian allies in a land across the sea. Her mother’s stories, and fantasies of her own devising, sustain and nurture her through a poor and lonely existence. Until one winter night, a strange man comes to call, and the life she has known comes crashing down like shattered glass. Forced to confront sordid truths, secrets and lies, t