Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Feathered: (Swan Maiden Book #1) by Rachel Wollaston: A Book Review

Feathered: Swan Maiden – Book 1
Author: Rachel Wollaston
Genre: Fantasy
Source: This book was given to me by Enchanted Book Promotions in exchange for an honest review.

     The light and the dark were never meant to be separated.

     When her bargain with a malevolent wizard goes terribly wrong, Marion DuVal finds herself trapped between two forms: a beautiful but darker parallel of herself, and a swan. Somehow, she must adhere to the wizard’s wishes, but it’s hard to perform epic magic when your feet are flippers and your neck’s the length of a small fishing pole. Caught up in a lie of royal proportions, her task is to get close to the queen, and such a thing is difficult when a certain handsome prince keeps getting in the way.

     One girl; two identities. Marion must stop the darkness inside her before it’s too late.

     Based on the classic tale of Swan Lake.

     My Review: Feathered is a retelling of Swan Lake. Marion has been found guilty of witchcraft and has been ordered to be executed by the guillotine. On the day of her execution, she is saved by an evil wizard named Elward. While she is saved by a wizard, she finds that she is trapped between two forms, a swan and a beautiful darker parallel version of herself. Elward soon gives her a mission to pose as a princess and spy on the royal family. She tries to remain unnoticed, but she quickly catches the attentions of the prince. Marion must decide if she should continue the mission or risk it all by falling in love.

     For the most part, I really liked Marion. She was a character that I could empathize with. She is mostly seen to be compassionate and kind. However, there were times that I was frustrated with her character. She can be too forgiving at times, and blind to the cruel actions of others. I didn’t like how how she was manipulated by others. Thus, I found her weak and wished that she could defend herself more. Since this is the first installment in the series, I’m hoping that in time she will become stronger and more self-confident.

     Overall, this was a fast-paced and adventurous read of Swan Lake. I did not think that the characters were fully developed. I came away from the story not really knowing much about Marion or her powers. I also did not understand the world-building and was confused about how magic works in the realm. I think I would have loved the story more if the story had started with Marion’s life before her execution day to get a better understanding to her character when Elward saves her. Despite these flaws, I can’t wait for the sequel to see what is next in store for Marion. I recommend this novel for fans of Dearest, Princess of Glass, and The Beautiful Pretender

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars



Author Bio:


     Born and bred in Gloucestershire, UK, Rachel Wollaston is a huge lover of all things fantasy. From an early age, her dream was to be a fairy, but the pay was no good, so she decided to become a writer instead. A Creative Writing student, Rachel is the author of young-adult fantasy and loves to build worlds that she wishes she could be a part of.

     Besides writing, Rachel also enjoys a range of other artistic hobbies, including dancing, drawing, and an unhealthy amount of arts and crafts. You will almost always find her with a cup of tea and a cat watching old ‘70s comedies.

     For more information visit her website, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther