Ruth by H. B. Moore: A Book Review

Ruth
Author: H. B. Moore
Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian, Biblical Fiction
Publisher: Covenant Communications
Release Date: 2017
Pages: 232
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Master storyteller and best-selling author H.B. Moore brings to life the biblical account of Ruth as never before in this vivid retelling of her courageous and faithful life.

     Following the death of Ruth’s husband, she finds herself at a crossroads. Rather than return to her family and hometown, the young widow makes a remarkable decision: she will remain with her mother-in-law, Naomi, as her caretaker and companion.

     Together, the two widows boldly leave behind the lives they knew in the land of Moab and make their way to Bethlehem, arriving downtrodden and destitute. Though Ruth works day and night to provide for Naomi, it is ultimately through the kindness and generosity of Boaz that the two women find respite from their trials. As Ruth comes to know Boaz, she finds that her broken heart is beginning to heal in ways she could never have imagined. But when a question of inheritance threatens any hope of a life with Boaz, Ruth may have to give up the last piece of her heart in order to secure her future.

     My Review: Ruth lives a happy life with her husband and her mother-in-law. Her happy life is shattered when a group of thieves tries to steal their sheep and her husband is injured. Her husband later dies from his injury. Ruth has to make a tough decision to go back home or stay with her mother-in-law, Naomi. She decides to go with Naomi to Bethlehem. There, she works the fields in order to make a living. She meets Boaz and falls in love with him. She wants nothing more than to be Boaz’s wife.

     Ruth is one of my favorite books in the bible. Her story is a test of faith, courage, and love. Mrs. Moore’s Ruth is not only a faithful retelling, but she also fills in the missing pieces. We learn more about the backstory of Ruth. The story shows Ruth’s happiness and hard times in her marriage. She believes that she cannot produce children because after eight years of marriage, she has miscarried twice. Ruth also knows how to shoot and defend herself. The author shows that Ruth’s family has fallen on hard times. Thus, Ruth was not immune to hard work when she worked in the fields.

     Boaz is also a full fleshed character. His wife, Hannah, has left for to serve a pagan god. Because of this, he feels insecure. He is not ready to take another wife. Ruth proves him wrong. Ruth’s virtues shows him that there are strong believers out there. It is through Ruth’s goodness, selflessness, and faith that he is able to be healed and feel love again. Both Ruth and Boaz have lost their beloved spouses, but through common faith they are able to help and love each other.

     Overall, Ruth is a novel about loyalty, humility, and perseverance. The message of the book is that God works in mysterious ways. I found all the characters to be very realistic. There are some original characters and fictional subplots that are not mentioned in the Bible. Still, I thought they were creative and helped flesh out Ruth and Boaz’s characters. The setting of ancient Israel is vividly detailed. Ruth is also a sweet and simple love story. Ruth is Christian fiction at its best! It proves why biblical fiction should be read. It reminds us that even though these people lived long ago, they still overcame challenges just as people do today. Ruth is perfect for fans of Angela Hunt, Jill Eileen Smith, and Joan Wolf.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Queen of the Darkest Hour by Kim Rendfeld: A Book Review

Blog Tour: The Secrets of Chateau Swansea by R. C. Matthews: A Book Review

Side by Side: A Novel of Bonnie and Clyde by Jenni L. Walsh: A Book Review