Skip to main content

Ruth by H. B. Moore: A Book Review

Ruth
Author: H. B. Moore
Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian, Biblical Fiction
Publisher: Covenant Communications
Release Date: 2017
Pages: 232
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Master storyteller and best-selling author H.B. Moore brings to life the biblical account of Ruth as never before in this vivid retelling of her courageous and faithful life.

     Following the death of Ruth’s husband, she finds herself at a crossroads. Rather than return to her family and hometown, the young widow makes a remarkable decision: she will remain with her mother-in-law, Naomi, as her caretaker and companion.

     Together, the two widows boldly leave behind the lives they knew in the land of Moab and make their way to Bethlehem, arriving downtrodden and destitute. Though Ruth works day and night to provide for Naomi, it is ultimately through the kindness and generosity of Boaz that the two women find respite from their trials. As Ruth comes to know Boaz, she finds that her broken heart is beginning to heal in ways she could never have imagined. But when a question of inheritance threatens any hope of a life with Boaz, Ruth may have to give up the last piece of her heart in order to secure her future.

     My Review: Ruth lives a happy life with her husband and her mother-in-law. Her happy life is shattered when a group of thieves tries to steal their sheep and her husband is injured. Her husband later dies from his injury. Ruth has to make a tough decision to go back home or stay with her mother-in-law, Naomi. She decides to go with Naomi to Bethlehem. There, she works the fields in order to make a living. She meets Boaz and falls in love with him. She wants nothing more than to be Boaz’s wife.

     Ruth is one of my favorite books in the bible. Her story is a test of faith, courage, and love. Mrs. Moore’s Ruth is not only a faithful retelling, but she also fills in the missing pieces. We learn more about the backstory of Ruth. The story shows Ruth’s happiness and hard times in her marriage. She believes that she cannot produce children because after eight years of marriage, she has miscarried twice. Ruth also knows how to shoot and defend herself. The author shows that Ruth’s family has fallen on hard times. Thus, Ruth was not immune to hard work when she worked in the fields.

     Boaz is also a full fleshed character. His wife, Hannah, has left for to serve a pagan god. Because of this, he feels insecure. He is not ready to take another wife. Ruth proves him wrong. Ruth’s virtues shows him that there are strong believers out there. It is through Ruth’s goodness, selflessness, and faith that he is able to be healed and feel love again. Both Ruth and Boaz have lost their beloved spouses, but through common faith they are able to help and love each other.

     Overall, Ruth is a novel about loyalty, humility, and perseverance. The message of the book is that God works in mysterious ways. I found all the characters to be very realistic. There are some original characters and fictional subplots that are not mentioned in the Bible. Still, I thought they were creative and helped flesh out Ruth and Boaz’s characters. The setting of ancient Israel is vividly detailed. Ruth is also a sweet and simple love story. Ruth is Christian fiction at its best! It proves why biblical fiction should be read. It reminds us that even though these people lived long ago, they still overcame challenges just as people do today. Ruth is perfect for fans of Angela Hunt, Jill Eileen Smith, and Joan Wolf.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Dreamland by Nancy Bilyeau

Dreamland Author: Nancy Bilyeau Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense Publisher: Lume Books Release Date: 2020 Pages: 291 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The year is 1911 when twenty-year-old heiress Peggy Batternberg is invited to spend the summer in America’s Playground.       The invitation to Coney Island is unwelcome. Despite hailing from one of America’s richest families, Peggy would much rather spend the summer working at the Moonrise Bookstore than keeping up appearances with New York City socialites and her snobbish, controlling family.      But soon it transpires that the hedonism of Coney Island affords Peggy the freedom she has been yearning for, and it’s not long before she finds herself in love with a troubled pier-side artist of humble means, whom the Batternberg patriarchs would surely disapprove of. Disapprove they may, but hidden behind their pomposity lurks a web of deceit, betrayal, and deadly secrets. And as bodie

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to