The Lost Queen by Signe Pike: A Book Review

The Lost Queen
Author: Signe Pike
Genre:  Historical Fiction
Publisher: Atria Books
Release Date: 2018
Pages: 545
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Compared to Outlander and The Mists of Avalon, this thrilling first novel of a debut trilogy reveals the untold story of Languoreth—a forgotten queen of sixth-century Scotland—twin sister of the man who inspired the legend of Merlin. 

    I write because I have seen the darkness that will come. Already there are those who seek to tell a new history...


    In a land of mountains and mist, tradition and superstition, Languoreth and her brother Lailoken are raised in the Old Way of their ancestors. But in Scotland, a new religion is rising, one that brings disruption, bloodshed, and riot. And even as her family faces the burgeoning forces of Christianity, the Anglo-Saxons, bent on colonization, are encroaching from the east. When conflict brings the hero Emrys Pendragon to her father’s door, Languoreth finds love with one of his warriors. Her deep connection to Maelgwn is forged by enchantment, but she is promised in marriage to Rhydderch, son of a Christian king. As Languoreth is catapulted into a world of violence and political intrigue, she must learn to adapt. Together with her brother—a warrior and druid known to history as Myrddin—Languoreth must assume her duty to fight for the preservation of the Old Way and the survival of her kingdom, or risk the loss of them both forever.


     Based on new scholarship, this tale of bravery and conflicted love brings a lost queen back to life—rescuing her from obscurity, and reaffirming her place at the center of one of the most enduring legends of all time.


     My Review: The Lost Queen tells the story of Languoreth, the sister of the man who inspired Merlin. While Scotland is rapidly becoming a Christian kingdom, Languoreth and her brother Lailoken are firm believers of the old religion. Her family also faces the threat of an Anglo-Saxon invasion. However, the hero Emry Pendragon and his army fights to defend Scotland from the potential invaders. Languoreth finds love with Maelgwn, Emrys’ right hand soldier. However, she is engaged to be married to Scotland’s prince Rhydderch, who is in line to be the next king. CanLanguoreth remain true to her ways and her heart?

   Before I read this novel, I had never heard of Languoreth or that she was the brother of the man who is the inspiration for Merlin. So, reading her story was truly a delight. Languoreth was a very compelling character. Most of the story takes place when she is a young girl. With the help of a Wisdom Keeper, she learns of the magic of the old faith. Languoreth also struggles between wishing to marry for love and marrying for duty. I also liked how Languoreth is determined to protect the faith of the old religion from becoming non-existent. Thus, she was a steadfast and resolute character.


   Overall, this novel is about duty, love, family, and religion. The Lost Queen had well-developed characters. The writing was very detailed and made medieval Scotland come alive. The novel was not without its flaws. The romance between Languoreth and Maelgwn was immediate upon first sight. Also, Maelgwn did not appear enough in this novel to make me believe that their romance could stand the test of time. Also, The Lost Queen ended abruptly, and I thought that there could have been a better way to end it. Still, as a fan of King Arthur legends, I loved how the myths were interwoven within the novel. I look forward to reading more about Languoreth’s epic journey. The Lost Queen is an enchanting novel for fans of Women of the Dunes, Avelynn, and Daughter of Destiny.


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


This is the official book trailer for The Lost Queen:



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My Dear Hamilton: A Novel of Eliza Schuyler Hamilton by Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie: A Book Review

Interview with Kate Quinn

The Deadliest Fever (Miriam bat Isaac Mystery #4) by June Trop: A Book Review