Skip to main content

Changeling (Sorcery and Society #1) by Molly Harper: A Book Review

Changeling (Sorcery and Society #1)
Author: Molly Harper
Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: NYLA 
Release Date: 2018
Pages: 264
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: If 14-year-old Cassandra Reed makes it through her first day at Miss Castwell’s Institute for the Magical Instruction of Young Ladies without anyone discovering her secret, maybe, just maybe, she’ll let herself believe that she really does belong at Miss Castwell’s.

    Except Cassandra Reed’s real name is Sarah Smith and up until now, she lived her whole life in the Warren, serving a magical family, the Winters, as all non-magical “Snipes” are bound by magical Guardian law to do. That is, until one day, Sarah accidentally levitates Mrs. Winter’s favorite vase in the parlor...

     But Snipes aren’t supposed to have magical powers…and the existence of a magical Snipe threatens the world order dictated during the Guardians’ Restoration years ago. If she wants to keep her family safe and protect her own skin, Sarah must figure out how to fit into posh Guardian society, master her newfound magical powers and discover the truth about how an ordinary girl can become magical.

    My Review: Sarah Smith is from one of the lowest classes in England’s society. She comes from a non-magical family. Her family serves under one of the most prosperous magical families. One day, she discovers that she too has the gift of magic. She is sent to a magical school and assumes a new identity as Cassandra Reed. Sarah must learn how to control her powers, form friendships, and save her school from immense danger.

    Changeling is set in an alternate Victorian era. In the era, the world of magical families rules the country and forces those of non-magic to live in servitude. The narrator of this story is Sarah Smith, who takes on a new identity to hide the fact that she was once a servant. I really adored Sarah. She is smart, plucky, and sassy. She struggles to form friends and make the right choices. Sarah constantly worries about her real identity and wonders how she will be treated by her friends once the truth is revealed. I also like that Sarah tries her best in the school and that she wants to make her parents proud. Thus, I loved her character because she seemed like a normal teenager that tries to fit into her new school.

    Overall, this was a fun, enchanting ride! The story was very fast-paced and was filled with mystery, magic, and humor! I loved Changeling so much that I did not want it to end and am quickly anticipating the sequel! If you love the Harry Potter series, then you will definitely enjoy this one! The world-building was splendid and inventive! The characters were all likable. The only thing I did not like about Changeling was that it had an underdeveloped romance. The love interest only appeared a few times in the novel, and had no character growth in him. Still, if you love fantasies, this is a book that you should not miss! Changeling is a novel that will be guaranteed to thrill you as soon as you read the first page! I highly recommend this for fans of Seraphina, Lady of Magick, and The Dark Days Club!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a