Skip to main content

Changeling (Sorcery and Society #1) by Molly Harper: A Book Review

Changeling (Sorcery and Society #1)
Author: Molly Harper
Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: NYLA 
Release Date: 2018
Pages: 264
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: If 14-year-old Cassandra Reed makes it through her first day at Miss Castwell’s Institute for the Magical Instruction of Young Ladies without anyone discovering her secret, maybe, just maybe, she’ll let herself believe that she really does belong at Miss Castwell’s.

    Except Cassandra Reed’s real name is Sarah Smith and up until now, she lived her whole life in the Warren, serving a magical family, the Winters, as all non-magical “Snipes” are bound by magical Guardian law to do. That is, until one day, Sarah accidentally levitates Mrs. Winter’s favorite vase in the parlor...

     But Snipes aren’t supposed to have magical powers…and the existence of a magical Snipe threatens the world order dictated during the Guardians’ Restoration years ago. If she wants to keep her family safe and protect her own skin, Sarah must figure out how to fit into posh Guardian society, master her newfound magical powers and discover the truth about how an ordinary girl can become magical.

    My Review: Sarah Smith is from one of the lowest classes in England’s society. She comes from a non-magical family. Her family serves under one of the most prosperous magical families. One day, she discovers that she too has the gift of magic. She is sent to a magical school and assumes a new identity as Cassandra Reed. Sarah must learn how to control her powers, form friendships, and save her school from immense danger.

    Changeling is set in an alternate Victorian era. In the era, the world of magical families rules the country and forces those of non-magic to live in servitude. The narrator of this story is Sarah Smith, who takes on a new identity to hide the fact that she was once a servant. I really adored Sarah. She is smart, plucky, and sassy. She struggles to form friends and make the right choices. Sarah constantly worries about her real identity and wonders how she will be treated by her friends once the truth is revealed. I also like that Sarah tries her best in the school and that she wants to make her parents proud. Thus, I loved her character because she seemed like a normal teenager that tries to fit into her new school.

    Overall, this was a fun, enchanting ride! The story was very fast-paced and was filled with mystery, magic, and humor! I loved Changeling so much that I did not want it to end and am quickly anticipating the sequel! If you love the Harry Potter series, then you will definitely enjoy this one! The world-building was splendid and inventive! The characters were all likable. The only thing I did not like about Changeling was that it had an underdeveloped romance. The love interest only appeared a few times in the novel, and had no character growth in him. Still, if you love fantasies, this is a book that you should not miss! Changeling is a novel that will be guaranteed to thrill you as soon as you read the first page! I highly recommend this for fans of Seraphina, Lady of Magick, and The Dark Days Club!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Dreamland by Nancy Bilyeau

Dreamland Author: Nancy Bilyeau Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense Publisher: Lume Books Release Date: 2020 Pages: 291 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The year is 1911 when twenty-year-old heiress Peggy Batternberg is invited to spend the summer in America’s Playground.       The invitation to Coney Island is unwelcome. Despite hailing from one of America’s richest families, Peggy would much rather spend the summer working at the Moonrise Bookstore than keeping up appearances with New York City socialites and her snobbish, controlling family.      But soon it transpires that the hedonism of Coney Island affords Peggy the freedom she has been yearning for, and it’s not long before she finds herself in love with a troubled pier-side artist of humble means, whom the Batternberg patriarchs would surely disapprove of. Disapprove they may, but hidden behind their pomposity lurks a web of deceit, betrayal, and deadly secrets. And as bodie

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to