Skip to main content

The Lost Queen by Signe Pike: A Book Review

The Lost Queen
Author: Signe Pike
Genre:  Historical Fiction
Publisher: Atria Books
Release Date: 2018
Pages: 545
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Compared to Outlander and The Mists of Avalon, this thrilling first novel of a debut trilogy reveals the untold story of Languoreth—a forgotten queen of sixth-century Scotland—twin sister of the man who inspired the legend of Merlin. 

    I write because I have seen the darkness that will come. Already there are those who seek to tell a new history...


    In a land of mountains and mist, tradition and superstition, Languoreth and her brother Lailoken are raised in the Old Way of their ancestors. But in Scotland, a new religion is rising, one that brings disruption, bloodshed, and riot. And even as her family faces the burgeoning forces of Christianity, the Anglo-Saxons, bent on colonization, are encroaching from the east. When conflict brings the hero Emrys Pendragon to her father’s door, Languoreth finds love with one of his warriors. Her deep connection to Maelgwn is forged by enchantment, but she is promised in marriage to Rhydderch, son of a Christian king. As Languoreth is catapulted into a world of violence and political intrigue, she must learn to adapt. Together with her brother—a warrior and druid known to history as Myrddin—Languoreth must assume her duty to fight for the preservation of the Old Way and the survival of her kingdom, or risk the loss of them both forever.


     Based on new scholarship, this tale of bravery and conflicted love brings a lost queen back to life—rescuing her from obscurity, and reaffirming her place at the center of one of the most enduring legends of all time.


     My Review: The Lost Queen tells the story of Languoreth, the sister of the man who inspired Merlin. While Scotland is rapidly becoming a Christian kingdom, Languoreth and her brother Lailoken are firm believers of the old religion. Her family also faces the threat of an Anglo-Saxon invasion. However, the hero Emry Pendragon and his army fights to defend Scotland from the potential invaders. Languoreth finds love with Maelgwn, Emrys’ right hand soldier. However, she is engaged to be married to Scotland’s prince Rhydderch, who is in line to be the next king. CanLanguoreth remain true to her ways and her heart?

   Before I read this novel, I had never heard of Languoreth or that she was the brother of the man who is the inspiration for Merlin. So, reading her story was truly a delight. Languoreth was a very compelling character. Most of the story takes place when she is a young girl. With the help of a Wisdom Keeper, she learns of the magic of the old faith. Languoreth also struggles between wishing to marry for love and marrying for duty. I also liked how Languoreth is determined to protect the faith of the old religion from becoming non-existent. Thus, she was a steadfast and resolute character.


   Overall, this novel is about duty, love, family, and religion. The Lost Queen had well-developed characters. The writing was very detailed and made medieval Scotland come alive. The novel was not without its flaws. The romance between Languoreth and Maelgwn was immediate upon first sight. Also, Maelgwn did not appear enough in this novel to make me believe that their romance could stand the test of time. Also, The Lost Queen ended abruptly, and I thought that there could have been a better way to end it. Still, as a fan of King Arthur legends, I loved how the myths were interwoven within the novel. I look forward to reading more about Languoreth’s epic journey. The Lost Queen is an enchanting novel for fans of Women of the Dunes, Avelynn, and Daughter of Destiny.


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


This is the official book trailer for The Lost Queen:



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a