Skip to main content

The Lost Queen by Signe Pike: A Book Review

The Lost Queen
Author: Signe Pike
Genre:  Historical Fiction
Publisher: Atria Books
Release Date: 2018
Pages: 545
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Compared to Outlander and The Mists of Avalon, this thrilling first novel of a debut trilogy reveals the untold story of Languoreth—a forgotten queen of sixth-century Scotland—twin sister of the man who inspired the legend of Merlin. 

    I write because I have seen the darkness that will come. Already there are those who seek to tell a new history...


    In a land of mountains and mist, tradition and superstition, Languoreth and her brother Lailoken are raised in the Old Way of their ancestors. But in Scotland, a new religion is rising, one that brings disruption, bloodshed, and riot. And even as her family faces the burgeoning forces of Christianity, the Anglo-Saxons, bent on colonization, are encroaching from the east. When conflict brings the hero Emrys Pendragon to her father’s door, Languoreth finds love with one of his warriors. Her deep connection to Maelgwn is forged by enchantment, but she is promised in marriage to Rhydderch, son of a Christian king. As Languoreth is catapulted into a world of violence and political intrigue, she must learn to adapt. Together with her brother—a warrior and druid known to history as Myrddin—Languoreth must assume her duty to fight for the preservation of the Old Way and the survival of her kingdom, or risk the loss of them both forever.


     Based on new scholarship, this tale of bravery and conflicted love brings a lost queen back to life—rescuing her from obscurity, and reaffirming her place at the center of one of the most enduring legends of all time.


     My Review: The Lost Queen tells the story of Languoreth, the sister of the man who inspired Merlin. While Scotland is rapidly becoming a Christian kingdom, Languoreth and her brother Lailoken are firm believers of the old religion. Her family also faces the threat of an Anglo-Saxon invasion. However, the hero Emry Pendragon and his army fights to defend Scotland from the potential invaders. Languoreth finds love with Maelgwn, Emrys’ right hand soldier. However, she is engaged to be married to Scotland’s prince Rhydderch, who is in line to be the next king. CanLanguoreth remain true to her ways and her heart?

   Before I read this novel, I had never heard of Languoreth or that she was the brother of the man who is the inspiration for Merlin. So, reading her story was truly a delight. Languoreth was a very compelling character. Most of the story takes place when she is a young girl. With the help of a Wisdom Keeper, she learns of the magic of the old faith. Languoreth also struggles between wishing to marry for love and marrying for duty. I also liked how Languoreth is determined to protect the faith of the old religion from becoming non-existent. Thus, she was a steadfast and resolute character.


   Overall, this novel is about duty, love, family, and religion. The Lost Queen had well-developed characters. The writing was very detailed and made medieval Scotland come alive. The novel was not without its flaws. The romance between Languoreth and Maelgwn was immediate upon first sight. Also, Maelgwn did not appear enough in this novel to make me believe that their romance could stand the test of time. Also, The Lost Queen ended abruptly, and I thought that there could have been a better way to end it. Still, as a fan of King Arthur legends, I loved how the myths were interwoven within the novel. I look forward to reading more about Languoreth’s epic journey. The Lost Queen is an enchanting novel for fans of Women of the Dunes, Avelynn, and Daughter of Destiny.


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


This is the official book trailer for The Lost Queen:



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther